Blog

Ahoy, Critterfolk!
New entry Dec 07

Critter Notices

Critters no longer accepting European Union members :(

It's with a heavy heart that I have to announce Critters can no longer accept people in the European Union as members. This is a result of the "GDPR" privacy laws going into effect. I'm a big fan of privacy, and applaud the general idea behind the GDPR, but the way it's implemented forces me to close the door to EU writers. [read more why...]

Books from Critters!

Check out Books by Critters for books by your fellow Critterfolk, as well as my list of recommended books for writers.

The Sigil Trilogy

If you're looking for an amazing, WOW! science fiction story, check out THE SIGIL TRILOGY. This is — literally — one of the best science fiction novels I've ever read.

Stayin' Alive

If you want to make a career of SF writing, STAYING ALIVE - A WRITER'S GUIDE by three-time SFWA President Norman Spinrad, published by your Critter Captain's ReAnimus Press, is an indispensable guide to the inside workings of the SF publishing industry by an expert.

P&E Has a New Caretaker!

I'm very happy to announce that P&E has been handed off to a new caretaker! Check out the site for news and such. Hurrah!

Interviewed!

I'm being interviewed live on public radio for Critters 20th birthday. For those who want to listen, it's on the 10am (Mountain time) show on Thursday, 11/19/16, on Colorado Public Radio - www.cpr.org has streaming on the site or it's 90.1 FM in the Denver area. [Interview is done, you can listen on the site]

Free Web Sites

Free web sites for authors (and others) are available at www.nyx.net.

ReAnimus Acquires Advent!

ReAnimus Press is pleased to announce the acquisition of the legendary Advent Publishers! Advent is now a subsidiary of ReAnimus Press, and we will continue to publish Advent's titles under the Advent name. Advent was founded in 1956 by Earl Kemp and others, and has published the likes of James Blish, Hal Clement, Robert Heinlein, Damon Knight, E.E. "Doc" Smith, and many others. Advent's high quality titles have won and been finalists for several Hugo Awards, such as The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy and Heinlein's Children. Watch this space for ebook and print editions of all of Advent's current titles!

Network speeding up

I'm switching the connection over to a new, shiny 10X faster network because of all the load. There might be bits of downtime as your boxes learn new addresses and things. Should be brief. Let me know of any prolonged outages you see.

Preditors & Editors Changeover

With the very sad passing of Dave Kuzminski, who ran P&E, I've taken over the P&E duties. Lots of what I hope are improvements; check it out at pred-ed.com.

Critters Server is Dying has been Replaced

See important details here in my blog. Let me know if you find anything that isn't working right. (Manuscripts are now available for this week, FYI.)

Book Recommendation

THE SIGIL TRILOGY: The universe is dying from within... "Great stuff... Really enjoyed it." — SFWA Grandmaster Michael Moorcock

Announcing ReAnimus Press

If you need help making ebooks from manuscripts or print copies—or finding great stuff to read—look no further! An ebook publisher started by your very own Critter Captain. (And with a 12% Affiliate program.) [More]

~~~

MORE NEWS & NOTICES >>

CRITTERS STORE >>

 

FEATURED BOOK

~~~

CRITTERS STORE >>

Preditors & Editors Poll results

Preditors & Editors Poll results

2002 Official Results

[Category list]


Standings & #votes for category: Horror Short Stories

1. in The Mind Of Darkness, Patricia A. Rasey, Amber Quill Press, http://amberquill.com
2. Moondancer, Howard Hopkins, Atlantic Bridge, http://www.atlanticbridge.net/publishing/moondancer.htm
3. Trouble Magnet, Rick Jankowski, Futures Mysterious Anthology Magazine, http://www.FMAM.BIZ
4. Some Enchanted Evening, Lisa DuMond, Prime Books, http://www.primebooks.net/books/book_detail.asp?isbn=1-894815-10-6
5. Zombie Invaders from Mars, Rie Sheridan, Echelon Press, http://www.echelonpress.com/Dollar/Escape/rs-zombie.htm
5. Accidental Lazarus, Kfir Luzzatto, Fiction Inferno, http://fictioninferno.com/fictions/luzzatto_accidental.html
6. Generation Clash, Steven L. Shrewsbury, SDO, http://www.sintrigue.org
7. Dancing Shoes, Tim Pratt, Champagne Shivers, http://samsdotpublishing.com/champagne/Shoes.html
8. The Five Thieves, Eric S. Brown, Bewildering Stories, http://www.bewilderingstories.com/issue6/fivethieves.html
9. The Chronicles of a Madman, Michael Larocca, Zumaya Publishing, http://www.zumayapublishing.com
9. Chalk Marks, Megan Powell, The Eternal Night, http://www.eternalnight.co.uk/fiction/2002F/chalkmarks.html
10. Demon Killer, Myra Nour, New Concepts Publishing, http://www.newconceptspublishing.com/myranour.htm




11. Nekros, Bret Wright, Clamcity, http://www.clamcity.com/october2002/october2002toc.html
12. dream stalker, elisa adams, elloras cave, http://www.ellorascave.com
13. Trick Candles, Stephen D. Rogers, Wicked Hollow, http://www.blindside.net/WickedHollow/
14. Snicker Snack, Rich Logsdon, DemonMinds, http://www.demonminds.com/archives/tales/snicker_snack.htm
15. The Other Side of the Door, C.C. Hammond, echelon
16. Cataclysm, Terry 'Horns' Erwin, Aventine Press, http://www.exitthelight.com
17. The Corpse - Secret of the Severed Head, G. Wells Taylor, The Wildclown Chronicle, http://www.wildclown.com/chronicle/issue5/corpseintro.html
17. Grim Expectations, Katherine Irving, Amber Quill Press, http://amberquill.com
18. A COMPLETE WOMAN, Nicole Givens Kurtz, Booklocker, http://www.booklocker.com
18. Wayne's Dead, Christy Tillery French, Publishamerica, http://www.publishamerica.com
19. The Curse of Bapoment, Horns, The Writer's Hood, http://www.writershood.com
19. Infidelity, Dark Matter, DemonMinds, http://www.demonminds.com/archives/tales/infidelity.htm
19. The Spawning, Lee Clark Zumpe, The Edge, http://www.twilightshowcase.com/thievinkitty/index.html
19. Moonlight, So Bright, Shawn P. Madison, SDO Fantasy, http://www.sintrigue.org
19. No Man's Land, W. B. Vogel III, Twilight Times Books, http://twilighttimesbooks.com/showcase/
20. What's Wrong With Mildred?, E.C.McMullen Jr., Catalyst Press, http://www.catalystpress.net/
20. A View From The Tub: An Inspiring and Practical Guide to Working From Home, Millie Szerman, Stairwell Press, http://www.AViewFromTheTub.com
20. Blue Notes, Patrick Welch, Fables, http://www.fables.org
20. Jamal & Rokeshas' Night of Horror by Lakesha Brown, Lakesha Brown, webspawner, http://www.webspawner.com/users/lakeshabrown/index.html
21. Killing Mother, S. J. Hinton, CGP, http://www.the-swamp.net
21. The Paintbrush Murders, Cia Leah, DiskUs, http://http://www.diskuspublishing.com/quickpick2.html
21. Communion with the Worm, Brian A. Hopkins, Cemetery Dance Magazine, http://www.cemeterydance.com
21. Throughout The Night, David Bowlin, Sintrigue Dot Org, http://sintrigue.org/
22. The Fourth Utterance, Jeffrey Thomas, Fangoria Frightful Fiction, http://www.fangoria.com/frightful_fiction.php?id=303
22. Bed For $ale, C. Dallas McCoy, Demonminds, http://www.demonminds.com/archives/tales/bed_for_sale.htm
22. Anguish Manifest, Marc Sanchez, Horrorfind.com, http://www.horrorfind.com
22. wayne's dead, christy tillery french, publish america, http://www.publishamerica.com
22. Downstream Flow: A Fugue, Forrest Aguirre, Flesh & Blood magazine, http://zombie.horrorseek.com/horror/fleshnblood/main.htm
22. Hog Maw, Scott Emerson Bull, Horrorfind, http://horrfind.com
22. Must Be Like Heaven, Marc Sanchez, House of Pain, http://www.house-of-pain.com
22. Faith, David Bain, CyberPulp Houston, http://media.popuptraffic.com/scripts/popup.php?hid=3078ce5f71620a13be64&tmpl=rydium.tmpl
23. The Pipe of Souls, F&SF magazine, http://
23. A Spectacle of A Man, Weston Ochse, Random House-Del Rey, http://www.randomhouse.com/delrey/
23. The Minotaur, Bill Kte'pi, Strange Horizons, http://www.strangehorizons.com/2002/20021028/minotaur.shtml
23. Play With Me, Beth Adams, horrorfind.com, http://horrorfind.com
23. Road Rage, Andrew J. Muller, BeWrite Books, http://www.bewrite.net

DONATIONS

$
[via ►PayPal or: Square]
Very Happy minion   Very Happy minion — last donation was yesterday. A big Thank You! to Bill Leonard, Fran Eisemann, Ed Kratz, and lots of other Critterfolk for their contributions!

Critters is entirely funded by donations from Critterfolk like you, so yours is most appreciated. Click here to make the minions happy. Every dollar helps. Thanks for your support!

COOL BOOK