Blog

Ahoy, Critterfolk!
New entry Dec 07

Critter Notices

[It's Freebie Friday in the Critters Store...]

Critters no longer accepting European Union members :(

It's with a heavy heart that I have to announce Critters can no longer accept people in the European Union as members. This is a result of the "GDPR" privacy laws going into effect. I'm a big fan of privacy, and applaud the general idea behind the GDPR, but the way it's implemented forces me to close the door to EU writers. [read more why...]

Books from Critters!

Check out Books by Critters for books by your fellow Critterfolk, as well as my list of recommended books for writers.

The Sigil Trilogy

If you're looking for an amazing, WOW! science fiction story, check out THE SIGIL TRILOGY. This is — literally — one of the best science fiction novels I've ever read.

How to Write SF

The Craft of Writing Science Fiction that Sells by Ben Bova, best-selling author and six-time Hugo Award winner for Best Editor. (This is one of the books your ol' Critter Captain learned from himself, and I highly recommend it.) (Also via Amazon)

P&E Has a New Caretaker!

I'm very happy to announce that P&E has been handed off to a new caretaker! Check out the site for news and such. Hurrah!

Interviewed!

I'm being interviewed live on public radio for Critters 20th birthday. For those who want to listen, it's on the 10am (Mountain time) show on Thursday, 11/19/16, on Colorado Public Radio - www.cpr.org has streaming on the site or it's 90.1 FM in the Denver area. [Interview is done, you can listen on the site]

Free Web Sites

Free web sites for authors (and others) are available at www.nyx.net.

ReAnimus Acquires Advent!

ReAnimus Press is pleased to announce the acquisition of the legendary Advent Publishers! Advent is now a subsidiary of ReAnimus Press, and we will continue to publish Advent's titles under the Advent name. Advent was founded in 1956 by Earl Kemp and others, and has published the likes of James Blish, Hal Clement, Robert Heinlein, Damon Knight, E.E. "Doc" Smith, and many others. Advent's high quality titles have won and been finalists for several Hugo Awards, such as The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy and Heinlein's Children. Watch this space for ebook and print editions of all of Advent's current titles!

Network speeding up

I'm switching the connection over to a new, shiny 10X faster network because of all the load. There might be bits of downtime as your boxes learn new addresses and things. Should be brief. Let me know of any prolonged outages you see.

Preditors & Editors Changeover

With the very sad passing of Dave Kuzminski, who ran P&E, I've taken over the P&E duties. Lots of what I hope are improvements; check it out at pred-ed.com.

Critters Server is Dying has been Replaced

See important details here in my blog. Let me know if you find anything that isn't working right. (Manuscripts are now available for this week, FYI.)

Book Recommendation

THE SIGIL TRILOGY: The universe is dying from within... "Great stuff... Really enjoyed it." — SFWA Grandmaster Michael Moorcock

Announcing ReAnimus Press

If you need help making ebooks from manuscripts or print copies—or finding great stuff to read—look no further! An ebook publisher started by your very own Critter Captain. (And with a 12% Affiliate program.) [More]

~~~

MORE NEWS & NOTICES >>

CRITTERS STORE >>

 

FEATURED BOOK

~~~

CRITTERS STORE >>

Preditors & Editors Poll results

Preditors & Editors Poll results

2002 Official Results

[Category list]


Standings & #votes for category: Print/Electronic Book Publishers

1. Ellora's Cave, http://ellorascave.com
2. Amber Quill Press, http://amberquill.com
3. Zumya Publishing, http://www.zumayapublications.com/
4. NovelBooks Inc, http://novelbooksinc.com
5. Echelon Press, http://www.echelonpress.com
6. Double Dragon Publishing, http://www.double-dragon-ebooks.com
7. Twilight Times Books, http://twilighttimesbooks.com/
7. Sam's Dot Publishing / ProMart, http://samsdotpublishing.com
8. Hard Shell Word Factory, http://www.hardshell.com
9. Atlantic Bridge, http://www.atlanticbridge.net
10. Wings ePress, Inc., http://www.wings-press.com




11. Pathfinder Paperbacks, http://www.pathfinder-paperbacks.com
12. Prime Books Inc., http://www.primebooks.net
13. iUniverse, http://www.iuniverse.com/
14. Cemetary Dance, http://www.cemeterydance.com
15. Writers Exchange E-publishing, http://www.writers-exchange.com
15. Crystal Dreams Publishing, http://www.crystaldreamspub.com
15. Publish America, http://www.publishamerica.com
16. Dandelion Books, http://www.dandelionbooks.net
17. Awe-Struck E-Books, http://www.awe-struck.net
18. Obadiah Press, http://www.obadiahpress.com
19. eBooksOnThe.Net, http://www.ebooksonthe.net
20. Booklocker.com, http://www.booklocker.com
21. Tor, http://www.tor.com/
21. Coachlight Press, http://coachlightpress.com/
22. LTDBooks, http://ww.ltdbooks.com
22. Leisure LoveSpell, http://www.dorchesterpub.com
22. Book Unbound E-Publishing Co., http://www.booksunbound.com
22. Catalyst Press, http://www.Catalyst Press.net
23. SynergEbooks, http://www.synergebooks.com
23. River City Publishing, http://www.rivercitypublishing.com
23. Imajinn Books, http://www.imajinnbooks.com
23. Flesh & Blood, http://zombie.horrorseek.com/horror/fleshnblood/
23. New Concepts Publishing, http://www.newconceptspublishing.com
24. Bewrite, http://www.bewrite.net
24. Treble Heart Books, http://www.trebleheartbooks.com
25. Renaissance ebooks, http://66.216.113.14/
25. cyberManbooks, http://www.cybermanbooks.com
26. Metropolis Ink, http://metropolisink.com
26. St. Martins Press
27. Paper Tiger, http://www.papertiger.co.uk
27. Fictionwise, http://www.fictionwise.com/home.html
27. Amatory Ink, http://www.amatory-ink.co.uk/
27. Baen Books
28. GoldenKey Publishing, http://goldenkeypublishing.com
28. SunnySide Up Publishing, http://www.sunnypub.com
28. Ebooks.uk.net, http://www.ebooks.uk.net
28. Penguin Putnam, http://www.penguinputnam.com
28. Dragon Moon Press, http://www.dragonmoonpress.com
28. Virtualbookworm.com, http://www.virtualbookworm.com
28. Dead End Street, http://www.deadendstreet.com
29. Limitless Dare2Dream, http://limitlessd2d.net
29. Ministry of Whimsy, http://www.ministryofwhimsy.com
29. Impassio Press, http://www.impassio.com
29. DiskUs Publishing, http://www.diskuspublishing.com
29. Adams Media, http://www.adamsmedia.com
29. Jacobyte Books, http://www.jacobytebooks.com
29. Electric Ebook Publishing, http://www.electricebookpublishing.com
29. New Concepts, http://www.newconceptspublishing.com
29. Dark Vesper, http://www.darkvesperpublishing.com/
29. Vivisphere Publishing, http://www.vivisphere.com
29. PS Publishing, http://www.pspublishing.co.uk/
30. Fabjobs, http://www.fabjob.com
30. meisha merlin, http://www.meishamerlin.com/
30. No Spine, http://nospine.net
30. Blackmask, http://blackmask.com
30. Southern Charm Press, http://www.southerncharmpress.com
30. DLSIJ Press, http://dlsijpress.com
30. Black Death Books/KHP Industries, http://www.khpindustries.com
30. publish america, http://www.publishamerica.com
30. Quiet Storm Publishing, http://www.quietstormpublishing.com
30. 3Sides Electronic Publishing, http://www.sacredtriskele.net/3sides/
30. Epstein Publishing, http://www.epsteinlarue.com/ebooks/
30. Hypertech Media, Inc., http://www.hypertechmedia.com
30. HarperCollins, http://
30. Pineapple Path, http://www.pineapplepath.net
30. Bewildering Stories, http://www.bewilderingstories.com
30. renaissance alliance publishing, inc., http://www.rapbooks.biz
30. The Fiction Works, http://www.fictionworks.com
30. Soft editions, http://www.softeditions.com
30. Paloma Blanca Press, http://PalomaBlancaPress.com
30. jintsu, http://eggplant-productions.com

DONATIONS

$
[via ►PayPal or: Square]
Very Happy minion   Very Happy minion — last donation was yesterday. A big Thank You! to Bill Leonard, Fran Eisemann, Ed Kratz, and lots of other Critterfolk for their contributions!

Critters is entirely funded by donations from Critterfolk like you, so yours is most appreciated. Click here to make the minions happy. Every dollar helps. Thanks for your support!

COOL BOOK