Blog

Ahoy, Critterfolk!
New entry Dec 07

Critter Notices

[It's Freebie Friday in the Critters Store...]

Critters no longer accepting European Union members :(

It's with a heavy heart that I have to announce Critters can no longer accept people in the European Union as members. This is a result of the "GDPR" privacy laws going into effect. I'm a big fan of privacy, and applaud the general idea behind the GDPR, but the way it's implemented forces me to close the door to EU writers. [read more why...]

Books from Critters!

Check out Books by Critters for books by your fellow Critterfolk, as well as my list of recommended books for writers.

How to Write SF

The Craft of Writing Science Fiction that Sells by Ben Bova, best-selling author and six-time Hugo Award winner for Best Editor. (This is one of the books your ol' Critter Captain learned from himself, and I highly recommend it.) (Also via Amazon)

A Guide to Barsoom

The ultimate, definitive GUIDE TO BARSOOM from ReAnimus Press. NOW IN PRINT EDITION TOO. The best guide to Edgar Rice Burroughs' Mars series.

P&E Has a New Caretaker!

I'm very happy to announce that P&E has been handed off to a new caretaker! Check out the site for news and such. Hurrah!

Interviewed!

I'm being interviewed live on public radio for Critters 20th birthday. For those who want to listen, it's on the 10am (Mountain time) show on Thursday, 11/19/16, on Colorado Public Radio - www.cpr.org has streaming on the site or it's 90.1 FM in the Denver area. [Interview is done, you can listen on the site]

Free Web Sites

Free web sites for authors (and others) are available at www.nyx.net.

ReAnimus Acquires Advent!

ReAnimus Press is pleased to announce the acquisition of the legendary Advent Publishers! Advent is now a subsidiary of ReAnimus Press, and we will continue to publish Advent's titles under the Advent name. Advent was founded in 1956 by Earl Kemp and others, and has published the likes of James Blish, Hal Clement, Robert Heinlein, Damon Knight, E.E. "Doc" Smith, and many others. Advent's high quality titles have won and been finalists for several Hugo Awards, such as The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy and Heinlein's Children. Watch this space for ebook and print editions of all of Advent's current titles!

Network speeding up

I'm switching the connection over to a new, shiny 10X faster network because of all the load. There might be bits of downtime as your boxes learn new addresses and things. Should be brief. Let me know of any prolonged outages you see.

Preditors & Editors Changeover

With the very sad passing of Dave Kuzminski, who ran P&E, I've taken over the P&E duties. Lots of what I hope are improvements; check it out at pred-ed.com.

Critters Server is Dying has been Replaced

See important details here in my blog. Let me know if you find anything that isn't working right. (Manuscripts are now available for this week, FYI.)

Book Recommendation

THE SIGIL TRILOGY: The universe is dying from within... "Great stuff... Really enjoyed it." — SFWA Grandmaster Michael Moorcock

Announcing ReAnimus Press

If you need help making ebooks from manuscripts or print copies—or finding great stuff to read—look no further! An ebook publisher started by your very own Critter Captain. (And with a 12% Affiliate program.) [More]

~~~

MORE NEWS & NOTICES >>

CRITTERS STORE >>

 

FEATURED BOOK

~~~

CRITTERS STORE >>

Preditors & Editors Poll results

Preditors & Editors Poll results

2001 Official Results

[Category list]

Standings for category: Print/Electronic Book Publishers

1. Ellora's Cave, http://www.ellorascave.com
2. RFI WEST, http://www.rfiwest.com
3. city of legends ePress, http://www.citytoflegends.com/epress.html
4. Echelon Press, http://www.echelonpress.com
5. Wings ePress, Inc, http://www.wings-press.com
6. Atlantic Bridge, http://atlanticbridge.net
6. Southern Charm Press, http://southerncharmpress.com
7. Booklocker, http://www.booklocker.com
8. Awe-Struck E Books, http://www.awestruck.net
9. NovelBooks, Inc., http://www.novelbooksinc.com
10. Renaissance E Books, http://www.renebooks.com




11. Hard Shell Word Factory, http://hardshell.com
12. Writers Exchange E-Publishing, http://www.writers-exchange.com/epublishing/
13. Tor Books, http://www.tor.com/
14. iUniverse, http://www.iuniverse.com
15. New Concepts Publishing, http://www.newconceptspublishing.com
16. Twilight Times Books, http://www.twilighttimesbooks.com
17. Undaunted Press, http://www.undauntedpress.com
18. Diskus Publishing, http://diskuspublishing.com
18. LTDBooks, http://ltdbooks.com
19. Sunnyside Up Publishing, http://www.sunnypub.com
20. Spilled Candy Books, http://www.spilledcandy.com
21. Cemetery Dance, http://www.cemeterydance.com/
22. Publish America, http://www.publishamerica.com
23. Wildside Press, http://www.wildsidepress.com
23. Delphi Books, http://www.TheAuthorsStudio.org/delphi/
23. Double Dragon eBooks, http://double-dragon-ebooks.com
23. ProMart, http://promartian.com
23. Dead End Street, http://www.deadendstreet.com
24. Fiction Works, http://www.fictionworks.com.
24. Lone Wolf Publications, http://lonewolfpubs.com
24. Wings ePress Inc, http://www.wings-press.com
25. Shane Coughlan, http://www.geocities.com/shane_c
25. E-Pub2000, http://go.to/E-Pub2000
25. Jintsu, http://www.eggplant-productions.com/jintsu
26. Treble Heart Books, http://www.trebleheartbooks.com
26. GoldenKeyPublishing, http://www.goldenkeypublishing.com
26. Crystal Dreams Publishing, http://www.crystaldreamspub.com
27. Eraserhead Press, http://www.eraserheadpress.com
27. Synergebooks, http://www.synergebooks.com
27. Avid Press, http://www.avidpress.com
27. Leisure, http://www.dorchesterpub.com
27. Mystic-Ink Publishing, http://www.mystic-ink.com/publishing
27. Llewellyn, http://www.llewellyn.com
28. ipublish, http://ipublish.com
28. ImaJinn Books, http://www.imajinnbooks.com
28. HyperTech Media, Inc., http://www.hypertechmedia.com
28. Adventure Book Publishers, http://www.puzzlesbyshar.com/adventurebooks/
28. Space & Time, http://www.cith.org/space&time;
28. Tower of Ivory, http://embark.to/towerofivory
28. Amatory Ink, http://www.amatory-ink.co.uk/
28. Electric eBook Publishing, http://www.electricebookpublishing.com
28. Stinky Dog Press, http://www.stinkydogpress.com
28. Small Beer Press, http://www.lcrw.net/
29. Wordbeams, http://www.wordbeams.com
29. Cyber Age Adventures, http://www.cyberageadventures.com
29. Fictionwise, http://www.fictionwise.com/
29. New Leaf Books, http://www.newleafbooks.net
29. DandelionBooks, http://www.dandelionbooks.com
29. ElectricStory, http://www.electricstory.com
29. SANDS Publishing, http://www.netbookbiz.com
29. Leaping Dog Press
29. TTA Press, http://www.ttapress.com/
29. Jacobyte Books, http://www.jacobytebooks.com
29. Aardwolf Press, http://www.Aardwolfpress.com
30. E-Novel, http://www.enovel.com
30. Zeus Publications, http://www.zeus-publications.com
30. SST Publications, http://shortscaryteales.com/
30. Boson Books, http://www.cmonline.com/boson
30. Prime Books, http://www.primebooks.net
30. PageFree Publishing, http://pagefreepublishing.com
31. American Book Publishers, http://american.book.com
31. ipicturebooks.com, http://www.ipicturebooks.com
31. Manatee Press, http://www.savethemanatee.com
31. pulish america, http://
31. IUMIX, http://www.iumix.com
31. Port Town Publishing, http://www.porttownpublishing.bigstep.com/
31. 1stBooks Library, http://www.1stbooks.com
31. Free Reign Press, http://www.freereignpress.com
31. Hollow Hills, http://www.hollowhillspublishing.com
31. Ministry of Whimsy, http://www.ministryofwhimsy.com
31. Medium Rare Books, http://www.mediumrarebooks.com
31. Romance Novels ePublishing, http://www.romancenovels.freeservers.com/index.html
31. HandHeld Crime, http://www.handheldcrime.com/
31. Albooktross, http://www.albooktross.com
31. Palm Digital Media (Peanut Press), http://www.peanutpress.com/
31. Salvo Press, http://www.salvopress.com
31. Oak Tree Press, http://Oaktreebooks.com
31. Word Wrangler Publishing, Inc., http://
31. irrational press, http://home.earthlink.net/~steveeller/irrational.html
31. DAW, http://www.daw.com


DONATIONS

$
[via ►PayPal or: Square]
Very Happy minion   Very Happy minion — last donation was yesterday. A big Thank You! to Bill Leonard, Fran Eisemann, Ed Kratz, and lots of other Critterfolk for their contributions!

Critters is entirely funded by donations from Critterfolk like you, so yours is most appreciated. Click here to make the minions happy. Every dollar helps. Thanks for your support!

COOL BOOK