Blog

Ahoy, Critterfolk!
New entry Dec 07

Critter Notices

[It's Freebie Friday in the Critters Store...]

Critters no longer accepting European Union members :(

It's with a heavy heart that I have to announce Critters can no longer accept people in the European Union as members. This is a result of the "GDPR" privacy laws going into effect. I'm a big fan of privacy, and applaud the general idea behind the GDPR, but the way it's implemented forces me to close the door to EU writers. [read more why...]

Books from Critters!

Check out Books by Critters for books by your fellow Critterfolk, as well as my list of recommended books for writers.

How to Write SF

The Craft of Writing Science Fiction that Sells by Ben Bova, best-selling author and six-time Hugo Award winner for Best Editor. (This is one of the books your ol' Critter Captain learned from himself, and I highly recommend it.) (Also via Amazon)

The Sigil Trilogy

If you're looking for an amazing, WOW! science fiction story, check out THE SIGIL TRILOGY. This is — literally — one of the best science fiction novels I've ever read.

P&E Has a New Caretaker!

I'm very happy to announce that P&E has been handed off to a new caretaker! Check out the site for news and such. Hurrah!

Interviewed!

I'm being interviewed live on public radio for Critters 20th birthday. For those who want to listen, it's on the 10am (Mountain time) show on Thursday, 11/19/16, on Colorado Public Radio - www.cpr.org has streaming on the site or it's 90.1 FM in the Denver area. [Interview is done, you can listen on the site]

Free Web Sites

Free web sites for authors (and others) are available at www.nyx.net.

ReAnimus Acquires Advent!

ReAnimus Press is pleased to announce the acquisition of the legendary Advent Publishers! Advent is now a subsidiary of ReAnimus Press, and we will continue to publish Advent's titles under the Advent name. Advent was founded in 1956 by Earl Kemp and others, and has published the likes of James Blish, Hal Clement, Robert Heinlein, Damon Knight, E.E. "Doc" Smith, and many others. Advent's high quality titles have won and been finalists for several Hugo Awards, such as The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy and Heinlein's Children. Watch this space for ebook and print editions of all of Advent's current titles!

Network speeding up

I'm switching the connection over to a new, shiny 10X faster network because of all the load. There might be bits of downtime as your boxes learn new addresses and things. Should be brief. Let me know of any prolonged outages you see.

Preditors & Editors Changeover

With the very sad passing of Dave Kuzminski, who ran P&E, I've taken over the P&E duties. Lots of what I hope are improvements; check it out at pred-ed.com.

Critters Server is Dying has been Replaced

See important details here in my blog. Let me know if you find anything that isn't working right. (Manuscripts are now available for this week, FYI.)

Book Recommendation

THE SIGIL TRILOGY: The universe is dying from within... "Great stuff... Really enjoyed it." — SFWA Grandmaster Michael Moorcock

Announcing ReAnimus Press

If you need help making ebooks from manuscripts or print copies—or finding great stuff to read—look no further! An ebook publisher started by your very own Critter Captain. (And with a 12% Affiliate program.) [More]

~~~

MORE NEWS & NOTICES >>

CRITTERS STORE >>

 

FEATURED BOOK

~~~

CRITTERS STORE >>

Preditors & Editors Poll results

Preditors & Editors Poll results

2003 Official Results

[Category list]

Standings & #votes for category: Writers' Resource/Information/News Source

1. Snips & Tips & Keyboard Bits, http://www.authorsden.com/elizabethlucastaylor
2. WriteSuccess, http://writesuccess.com/
3. Charlotte Dillon's Resources for Romance Writers, http://www.charlottedillon.com/
4. EPIC, http://www.epicauthors.org/
5. Expressions Newsletter, http://samsdotpublishing.com/expressions.htm
6. Erotica Readers and Writer's Association, http://erotica-readers.com/
7. Ralan, http://www.ralan.com/
8. The Fiction Writer's Journey, http://www.thefictionwritersjourney.com/
9. Christian Writers' Group, http://christianwritersgroup.org/
10. The Writer's Life, http://www.thewriterslife.net/




11. 17 Emporium Gazette, http://www.emporiumgazette.com/
12. Critique Circle, http://www.critiquecircle.com/
13. 14 Author's Den, http://www.authorsden.com/
13. Apolloslyre.com, http://www.apolloslyre.com/
14. Romantic Times, http://www.romantictimes.com/
14. 13 WriteCraftWeb, http://www.writecraftweb.com/
15. 12 FundsforWriters, http://www.fundsforwriters.com/
15. Absolute Write, http://www.absolutewrite.com/
16. 11 The Romance Studio, http://www.theromancestudio.com/
16. Vision, http://lazette.net/vision/
17. MindsightSeries.com, http://www.mindsightseries.com/
18. Writer Gazette, http://www.writergazette.com/
18. WritersCrossing.com, http://www.writerscrossing.com/
18. AuthorMania.com, http://www.authormania.com/
19. Fiction Factor, http://www.fictionfactor.com/
19. Writing World, http://www.writing-world.com/
20. karen Find out about new books, http://groups.yahoo.com/group/karenfindoutaboutnewbooks/
20. Momwriters, http://www.momwriters.com/
20. POD Database, http://dehanna.com/
21. The Rose & Thorn, http://www.theroseandthornezine.com/Resources.html
21. The Writer's Room Magazine, http://www.thewritersroommagazine.net/
21. Writing For Success, http://www.writing4success.com/
22. Worldwide Freelance Writer, http://www.worldwidefreelance.com/
22. WindLegends Writer's Resources, http://www.windlegends.org/navpage2.html
23. Colorado Springs Fiction Writer's Group, www.csfwg.org
23. The Organized Writer, http://organizedwriter.com/book.htm
23. The Eternal Night, http://www.eternalnight.co.uk/
23. 4 The Synopsis Project, http://jaxinedaniels.com/
23. Fiction Addiction, http://www.fictionaddiction.net/
23. Arabella Magazine, http://www.arabellamagazine.com/
24. Flash Fiction Flash Newsletter, http://groups.yahoo.com/group/FlashFictionFlash
24. Writers Weekly, http://writersweekly.com/
24. Spirit Led Writer, http://www.spiritledwriter.com/
24. TOOT BOOKS for authors & readers, http://groups.yahoo.com/group/TOOT-BOOKS/
24. Neverary, http://www.neverary.com/
24. Romance Web Gateway, http://www.geocities.com/romgateway/
24. The Write Hemisphere, http://www.write-hemisphere.com/
25. NovelAdvice, http://www.noveladvice.com/
25. Spicy Green Iguana, http://www.spicygreeniguana.com/
25. It's Only Ink!, http://www.geocities.com/ladyjiraff
25. SpecFicWorld.com, http://www.specficworld.com/
25. LRQ Review, http://www.loverites.com/ezine.html
25. Michele Bardsley's Page for Writers, http://members.aol.com/Programs4Writers/index.html
25. Flash Literature Newsletter, http://groups.yahoo.com/group/FlashFictionFlash
25. SFReader, http://www.sfreader.com/
25. Wake Up Writing, http://www.wakeupwriting.com/
25. Winning Writers, http://www.winningwriters.com/
25. 2 EbookWeb.org, http://www.ebookweb.org/
25. Write4Kids, http://write4kids.com/
25. Gila Queen's Guide to Markets, http://www.gilaqueen.us/
26. Fiction Addiction , http://www.fictionaddiction.net/
26. Books Online Directory for Readers and Writers, http://freereads.topcities.com/
26. WritingAustralia.com, http://www.writingaustralia.com/
26. Books Unbound Author Resource Pages, http://www.booksunbound.com/resources.html
26. fiction Facter, http://www.fictionfactor.com/
26. British Authors Online, http://britishauthors.bravehost.com/index.html
26. Index of Online Fiction, http://www.angelfire.com/zine2/fictiononline
26. VoracityBeat.com, http://www.voracitybeat.com/
26. Handy Job Hunter for Writers, http://gorelets.com/cgi-bin/mojo/mojo.cgi
26. Cookie Dough and Lawn Ornaments, http://cdandlo.i8.com/
26. Writer's Room Magazine, http://www.thewritersroommagazine.com/
26. 1 writetoinspire.com, http://
26. History & Lovers - Romantic historical fiction, http://www.historyandlovers.com/
26. Write News, http://writenews.com/
26. Jewels of the Quill, http://www.jewelsofthequill.com/
26. Literary Agents Org., http://literaryagents.org/
26. SOS! for Authors, http://sosforauthors.tripod.com/
26. shapethenews.com, http://www.shapethenews.com/
26. Short SF Review, http://shortsfreview.tripod.com/
26. Writers' Reward News, http://www.geocities.com/rastar330/
26. CRWROPP, crwropps@topica.com


DONATIONS

$
[via ►PayPal or: Square]
Very Happy minion   Very Happy minion — last donation was yesterday. A big Thank You! to Bill Leonard, Fran Eisemann, Ed Kratz, and lots of other Critterfolk for their contributions!

Critters is entirely funded by donations from Critterfolk like you, so yours is most appreciated. Click here to make the minions happy. Every dollar helps. Thanks for your support!

COOL BOOK