Blog

Ahoy, Critterfolk!
New entry Dec 07

Critter Notices

[It's Freebie Friday in the Critters Store...]

Critters no longer accepting European Union members :(

It's with a heavy heart that I have to announce Critters can no longer accept people in the European Union as members. This is a result of the "GDPR" privacy laws going into effect. I'm a big fan of privacy, and applaud the general idea behind the GDPR, but the way it's implemented forces me to close the door to EU writers. [read more why...]

Books from Critters!

Check out Books by Critters for books by your fellow Critterfolk, as well as my list of recommended books for writers.

New Book from a Critter Member

**NOW IN PRINT EDITION TOO!** Awesome new book, HOW TO IMPROVE YOUR SPECULATIVE FICTION OPENINGS, from a Critter member whose unearthed a shard of The Secret to becoming a pro writer. Really good piece of work. "...if you're at all concerned about story openings, you'd be nuts not to read what Qualkinbush has to say." —Wil McCarthy, author of BLOOM and THE COLLAPSIUM

The Sigil Trilogy

If you're looking for an amazing, WOW! science fiction story, check out THE SIGIL TRILOGY. This is — literally — one of the best science fiction novels I've ever read.

P&E Has a New Caretaker!

I'm very happy to announce that P&E has been handed off to a new caretaker! Check out the site for news and such. Hurrah!

Interviewed!

I'm being interviewed live on public radio for Critters 20th birthday. For those who want to listen, it's on the 10am (Mountain time) show on Thursday, 11/19/16, on Colorado Public Radio - www.cpr.org has streaming on the site or it's 90.1 FM in the Denver area. [Interview is done, you can listen on the site]

Free Web Sites

Free web sites for authors (and others) are available at www.nyx.net.

ReAnimus Acquires Advent!

ReAnimus Press is pleased to announce the acquisition of the legendary Advent Publishers! Advent is now a subsidiary of ReAnimus Press, and we will continue to publish Advent's titles under the Advent name. Advent was founded in 1956 by Earl Kemp and others, and has published the likes of James Blish, Hal Clement, Robert Heinlein, Damon Knight, E.E. "Doc" Smith, and many others. Advent's high quality titles have won and been finalists for several Hugo Awards, such as The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy and Heinlein's Children. Watch this space for ebook and print editions of all of Advent's current titles!

Network speeding up

I'm switching the connection over to a new, shiny 10X faster network because of all the load. There might be bits of downtime as your boxes learn new addresses and things. Should be brief. Let me know of any prolonged outages you see.

Preditors & Editors Changeover

With the very sad passing of Dave Kuzminski, who ran P&E, I've taken over the P&E duties. Lots of what I hope are improvements; check it out at pred-ed.com.

Critters Server is Dying has been Replaced

See important details here in my blog. Let me know if you find anything that isn't working right. (Manuscripts are now available for this week, FYI.)

Book Recommendation

THE SIGIL TRILOGY: The universe is dying from within... "Great stuff... Really enjoyed it." — SFWA Grandmaster Michael Moorcock

Announcing ReAnimus Press

If you need help making ebooks from manuscripts or print copies—or finding great stuff to read—look no further! An ebook publisher started by your very own Critter Captain. (And with a 12% Affiliate program.) [More]

~~~

MORE NEWS & NOTICES >>

CRITTERS STORE >>

 

FEATURED BOOK

~~~

CRITTERS STORE >>

Preditors & Editors Poll results

Preditors & Editors Poll results

2003 Official Results

[Category list]

Standings & #votes for category: Science Fiction & Fantasy Novels

1. The Man Within, Lora Leigh, Elloras Cave, http://www.loraleigh.com/
2. Echoes of Angels, Caitlyn McKenna, Zumaya, http://www.goth-erotica.com/
3. The Shivered Sky, Matt Dinniman, Silverlake Publishing, http://www.silverlakepublishing.com/
4. The Bindmaster's Collar, Desiree Erotique, Extasy, http://www.extasybooks.com/
5. Depths of Savagery, Steven L. Shrewsbury, Double Dragon Publishing, http://www.double-dragon-ebooks.com/
5. The Pathen, Valorie Beer, Winterwolf Publishing, http://www.winterwolfpublishing.com/
6. Opium of the People, J Alan Erwine, Sam's Dot Publishing, http://www.jalanerwine.com/
7. Ritual of Proof, Dara Joy, Wm Morrow, http://www.officialdarajoy.com/
8. Fur Factor, Christine Warren, Elloras Cave
9. Keltic Flight, *lizzie starr, Wings Press, Inc., http://www.wings-press.com/
10. Fion's Daughter, Brenna Lyons, eXtasy/Zumaya, http://www.extasybooks.com/eb.php3?ebookid=15601




11. DarkWind, Charlotte Boyett-Compo, Hard Shell Word Factory, http://www.hardshell.com/
12. The Bond Unbroken, Diana Grayson, New Concepts
13. DreamQuest, Bill Pottle, iUniverse, http://www.dreamqueststory.com/
13. Passion Model, Megan Hart, Amber Quill Press, http://www.amberquillpress.com/
13. Saga of Rim, Cecilia Wennerström, Twilight Times Books, http://www.twilighttimesbooks.com/SagaofRim_ch1.html
14. Sorrows of Adoration, Kimberly Chapman, NovelBooks, Inc., http://novelbooksinc.com/
15. Wolves of the Calla, Stephen King, Donald I. Fine
16. The Obsidian Quest, Laraine Anne Barker, Hard Shell Word Factory, http://www.hardshell.com/
17. The Sailmaster's Woman, Annie Windsor, Ellora's Cave, http://ellorascave.com/
17. Metal, Bark, and Whispers Soup, Troy Morash, The Rose & Thorn, http://www.theroseandthornezine.com/Fic62MetalBark.html
17. The Guarder Factor, Shawn P. Madison, NovelBooks, Inc., http://www.novelbooksinc.com/
17. 12 Sometime, Somewhere, Jura McLean Sherwood, Whiskey Creek Press, http://www.whiskeycreekpress.com/
17. The Collective, Kerry Downing, Quiet Storm Publishing, http://www.kerrydowning.com/
17. Milky Way Marmalade, Mike DiCerto, Zumaya, http://www.milkywaymarmalade.com/
18. Lover's Talisman, Ashleigh Raine, Ellora's Cave, http://ellorscave.com/
18. Hitting the Skids in Pixeltown, Anthology edited by Orson Scott Card, Phobos Books, http://www.phobosweb.com/
19. From Within the Mist, Anthology, Double Dragon Publishing, http://www.double-dragon-ebooks.com/
19. Covenants, Barbara Karmazin, Atlantic Bridge, http://www/,atlanticbridge.net
19. Beyond the Lies, Carolyn Russell, Wings Press, http://carolynrussellbks.com/
20. A Father's Hope, Judy Leigh Peters, Wings ePress, http://www.wings-press.com/
20. Alex 'n Bender, C.H. Foertmeyer, iUniverse, Inc., http://www.foertmeyer.com/ANB.html
20. For the Rank of Master, Hollie Snider, Gardenia Press, www.gardeniapress.com
20. Cure Complex, Ed Murphy, Hard Shell Word Factory, http://www.hardshell.com/
20. Alien Heat, Susanne Marie Knight, Wings ePress, http://www.wings-press.com/
20. In The Service of the Queen, C.K. Crigger, Amber Quill Press, http://amberquill.com/
21. Wyrd Wravings, Anthology, Echelon Press, http://www.echelonpress.com/
21. The MacAulay Bride, Nancy Pirri, Awestruck EBooks/Earthling Press, http://www.nancypirri.com/
21. Razor's Edge: Horde Wars Book III, Sherri L. King, Elloras Cave, http://www.ellorascave.com/
22. Sime~Gen: The Unity Trilogy, Jacqueline Lichtenberg and Jean Lorrah, Meisha Merlin, http://www.meishamerlin.com/Sime~GenTheUnityTrilogy.html
22. Wanton Fire, Sherri L. King, Elloras Cave, http://www.ellorascave.com/
22. War on the Horizon, D. Lee & Kammy Bonias, Books Unbound, http://www.booksunbound.com/bswh.html
22. Daring Quests of Mystics, Shirley Cheng, Virtualbookworm.com, http://www.virtualbookworm.com/
22. The Firebrand, Debra Kemp, Amber Quill Press, http://amberquill.com/
22. Prisoner Of Desire, Delilah Devlin, Ellora's Cave, http://www.delilahdevlin.com/
23. The Dragon Laird, Deborah Lynne, Echelon Press, http://www.deborah-lynne.com/
23. Veniss Underground, Jeff Vandermeer, Prime books, http://www.primebooks.net/
23. Until Eternity, Tricia McGill, Wings ePress, http://www.wingsepress.com/
23. Thran Reborn, H. David Blalock, Booklocker.com, http://www.booklocker.com/books/1254.html
24. Tinker, Wen Spencer, Baen Books, http://www.baen.com/
24. THE STARRY CHILD, Lynn Hanna, NovelBooks, Inc., http://www.novelbooksinc.com/
24. Agents & Adepts, Kathryn Sullivan, Amber Quill Press, http://amberquill.com/
24. Scorch, Master Nage, Extasy, http://extasybooks.com/
24. Cast in Steel, Carved in Stone, Christine W. Murphy, Hard Shell Word Factory, http://www.hardshell.com/
25. Virtual Murder, Jennifer Macaire, Novelbooks, Inc, http://www.novelbooksinc.com/cgi-bin/miva?Merchant2/merchant.mv+Screen=PROD&Store_Code=NI&Product_Code=1-59105-052-9&Category_Code=sff-tbps
25. The Silkie's Woman, Claire Cameron, eXtasy/Zumaya, http://www.extasybooks.com/eb.php3?ebookid=16214
25. Zorroc, Lil Gibson, Echelon Press, http://www.echelonpress.com/
25. Tritcheon Hash, Sue Lange, Metropolis Ink, http://www.metropolisink.com/lange/tritcheon/index.htm
25. The Blood Ruby, M.A. duBarry, Amber Quill Press, http://amberquill.com/
25. Owned and Owner, Anneke Jacob, Chimera Publishing, http://www.tpe.com/~anneke/
25. Gladys Hawke, Samantha Winston, Ellora's Cave, http://ellorascave.com/
25. The Guardian, Denise Fleischer, Port Town Publishing, http://www.porttownpublishing.bigstep.com/
25. The Starry Child, Lynn Hanna, NovelBooksInc, http://www.novelbooksinc.com/
26. Dream Sequence and Other Tales from Beyond, Steve Lazarowitz, Double Dragon Publishing, http://wwww.double-dragon-ebooks.com/
26. Down and Out in the Magic Kingdom, Cory Doctorow, Tor, www.tor.com
26. Nine Lives and Three Wishes, Jennifer St. Clair, Twilight Times Books, http://www.twilighttimesbooks.com/NineLives_ch1.html
26. Par for the Course, Janet Elaine Smith, PageFree Publishing, http://www.pagefreepublishing.com/
26. Angelos, Robina Williams, Twilight Times Books, http://www.twilighttimesbooks.com/
26. Paladin of Souls, Lois McMaster Bujold, Eos, http://www.harpercollins.com/
27. Bruma pro Antitheus, Louise Karczmarz, Ebooks.uk.net, http://www.ebooks.uk.net/
27. The Exile, Rick Sutcliffe, Writers Exchange, http://www.writers-exchange.com/epublishing/
27. Femmes De La Brume, anthology, Double Dragon Publishing, http://www.double-dragon-ebooks.com/
27. Starkissed, Lanette Curington, Amber Quill Press, http://amberquill.com/
27. Glory Unbound, J. Crispin-Ripley, Double Dragon Publishing, http://www.double-dragon-ebooks.com/
27. Unbinding the Stone, Marc Vun Kannon, Echelon Press, http://echelonpress.com/
27. Beyond Those Distant Stars, John Rosenman, Novel Books Inc.
27. Balance of Trade, Sharon Lee & Steve Miller, embiid, http://www.embiid.net/
27. Cosmic Sculpture, Terri Branson, Dragonfly Publishing Inc., http://www.dragonflypubs.com/
27. Way of the Wolf, E.E. Knight, Roc, http://www.penguinputnam.com/static/html/us/newsletters/roc.html
27. Untamed, Jaide Fox, New Concepts Pub, http://www.newconceptspublishing.com/
27. The Etched City, KJ Bishop, Prime Books, http://www.primebooks.net/
28. Clicking Stones, Nancy Tyler Glenn, ArtemisPress, http://www.artemispress.com/
28. Viro and the Priesthood of the Hawk, Jonah Lissner, Lissner Publishing, http://thebestpulpfiction.com/thevirosagawebsite
28. Green T, E.S. Strout, Planet Magazine, http://planetmag.com/
28. Fairy Tales With a Freudian Flair, S. Joan Popek, Atlantic Bridge Publishing, http://www.atlanticbridge.net/publishing/fairytales.htm
28. Voyage to the Moon, Cyrano de Bergerac, Bewildering Stories, http://www.bewilderingstories.com/special/tow.html
28. Lords of Rainbow, Vera Nazarian, Wildside Press, http://www.LordsOfRainbow.com/
28. 1 Hecate's Glory, Karen Michalson, Tor Books, http://www.arularecords.com/karenmichalson/
28. Portal, Brian Reaves, IUniverse, http://www.timesliptrilogy.com/
28. A Hero Escapes, Lauren Agony & Jan Springer, Ellora's Cave, http://www.ellorascave.com/
28. Slave of Desire, Delilah Devlin, Ellora's Cabe, www.delilahdevlin.com
28. Ilium, Dan Simmons, Eos, http://www.critique.org/critters/cgi-bin/amznlink.cgi?isbn=0380978938
28. The Emerald Dagger, Barbara M. Hodges, Tigress Press, http://www.tigresspress.com/
28. Fantasy Readers Wanted - Apply Within, Edited by Nick Aires and James Richey, Silver Lake Publishing, http://www.silverlakepublishing.com/
28. Backyardia, Stephen Almekinder, Hard Shell Word Factory, http://hardshell.com/
28. Crossover, Richard Lee, Protea, http://writer113.com/23/index.html
28. Soul Traveler, Laurance Pearsongreer, Hard Shell Word Factory, http://destined.to/soultravel
28. Fisher Of Devils, Steve Redwood, Prime Books, http://www.primebooks.net/
28. Tears of Amun, Jordan Summers, Ellora's Cave, http://ellorascave.com/
28. Bent Offerings, Mark Sutton, Double Dragon Publishing, http://www.double-dragon-ebooks.com/
28. Luck of the Irish, Douglas/Dunne/Tanglen, Ellora's Cave, http://www.ellorascave.com/
28. Carrick Castle, John Bailey, Planet Magazine, http://www.planetmag.com/pm39/carrick.html
28. The Brazen Serpent Chronicles--Talon of Light, R. Dennis Baird, 1stBooks, http://www.brazenserpentchronicles.com/
28. The Briar King, Greg Keyes, Del Rey, http://
28. Cynnador, Patrick Welch, Twilight Times Books, http://www.twilighttimes.com/
28. Key to Havoc, Piers Anthony, Mundania Press LLC, http://www.mundania.com/
28. Generation 7, Ross Richdale, Eloka, http://www.eloka.com/
28. Windsinger, Lark Westerly, eXtasy, http://extasybooks.com/
28. Thr3e, Ted Dekker, W Publishing Group, http://www.wpublishinggroup.com/wpg/
28. The Viro Saga, Jonah Lissner, Lissner Publishing, http://thebestpulpfiction.com/
28. 1 Will Fight Evil For Food, David Kuzminski, Double Dragon Publishing, http://www.double-dragon-ebooks.com/
28. Vessel of Heaven, Jamie Rosen, Jintsu Etexts, http://www.eggplant-productions.com/jintsu


DONATIONS

$
[via ►PayPal or: Square]
Very Happy minion   Very Happy minion — last donation was yesterday. A big Thank You! to Bill Leonard, Fran Eisemann, Ed Kratz, and lots of other Critterfolk for their contributions!

Critters is entirely funded by donations from Critterfolk like you, so yours is most appreciated. Click here to make the minions happy. Every dollar helps. Thanks for your support!

COOL BOOK