Blog

Ahoy, Critterfolk!
New entry Dec 07

Critter Notices

Critters no longer accepting European Union members :(

It's with a heavy heart that I have to announce Critters can no longer accept people in the European Union as members. This is a result of the "GDPR" privacy laws going into effect. I'm a big fan of privacy, and applaud the general idea behind the GDPR, but the way it's implemented forces me to close the door to EU writers. [read more why...]

Books from Critters!

Check out Books by Critters for books by your fellow Critterfolk, as well as my list of recommended books for writers.

The Sigil Trilogy

If you're looking for an amazing, WOW! science fiction story, check out THE SIGIL TRILOGY. This is — literally — one of the best science fiction novels I've ever read.

How to Write SF

The Craft of Writing Science Fiction that Sells by Ben Bova, best-selling author and six-time Hugo Award winner for Best Editor. (This is one of the books your ol' Critter Captain learned from himself, and I highly recommend it.) (Also via Amazon)

P&E Has a New Caretaker!

I'm very happy to announce that P&E has been handed off to a new caretaker! Check out the site for news and such. Hurrah!

Interviewed!

I'm being interviewed live on public radio for Critters 20th birthday. For those who want to listen, it's on the 10am (Mountain time) show on Thursday, 11/19/16, on Colorado Public Radio - www.cpr.org has streaming on the site or it's 90.1 FM in the Denver area. [Interview is done, you can listen on the site]

Free Web Sites

Free web sites for authors (and others) are available at www.nyx.net.

ReAnimus Acquires Advent!

ReAnimus Press is pleased to announce the acquisition of the legendary Advent Publishers! Advent is now a subsidiary of ReAnimus Press, and we will continue to publish Advent's titles under the Advent name. Advent was founded in 1956 by Earl Kemp and others, and has published the likes of James Blish, Hal Clement, Robert Heinlein, Damon Knight, E.E. "Doc" Smith, and many others. Advent's high quality titles have won and been finalists for several Hugo Awards, such as The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy and Heinlein's Children. Watch this space for ebook and print editions of all of Advent's current titles!

Network speeding up

I'm switching the connection over to a new, shiny 10X faster network because of all the load. There might be bits of downtime as your boxes learn new addresses and things. Should be brief. Let me know of any prolonged outages you see.

Preditors & Editors Changeover

With the very sad passing of Dave Kuzminski, who ran P&E, I've taken over the P&E duties. Lots of what I hope are improvements; check it out at pred-ed.com.

Critters Server is Dying has been Replaced

See important details here in my blog. Let me know if you find anything that isn't working right. (Manuscripts are now available for this week, FYI.)

Book Recommendation

THE SIGIL TRILOGY: The universe is dying from within... "Great stuff... Really enjoyed it." — SFWA Grandmaster Michael Moorcock

Announcing ReAnimus Press

If you need help making ebooks from manuscripts or print copies—or finding great stuff to read—look no further! An ebook publisher started by your very own Critter Captain. (And with a 12% Affiliate program.) [More]

~~~

MORE NEWS & NOTICES >>

CRITTERS STORE >>

 

FEATURED BOOK

~~~

CRITTERS STORE >>

Preditors & Editors Poll results

Preditors & Editors Poll results

2003 Official Results

[Category list]

Standings & #votes for category: Fiction Magazine/e-zines

1. The Fifth Di..., http://samsdotpublishing.com/fifth/cover.htm
1. ReadersRoom.com, http://www.readersroom.com/
2. Futures Mysterious Anthology, http://fmam.biz/
3. The Rose & Thorn, http://www.theroseandthornezine.com/
4. Romance Junkies, http://www.romancejunkies.com/
5. 26 Blue Food, http://www.bluefood.cc/
6. The Harrow, http://www.theharrow.com/
7. The Road to Romance, http://www.roadtoromance.ca/
8. SmokeLong Quarterly, http://www.smokelong.com/
9. Whispers from the Shattered Forum, http://www.undauntedpress.com/
10. 16 Weyr Live, http://www.drgnslfthnd.org/




11. +The Horror Library+, http://www.horrorlibrary.net/
12. 14 A Romance Review, http://www.aromancereview.com/
12. 14 Romantic Times, http://www.romantictimes.com/
12. 14 Love Romances, http://www.loveromances.com/
13. Anotherealm, http://www.anotherealm.com/
14. Romance Reviews Today, http://www.romrevtoday.com/
14. Lissners Adventure Fiction, http://joe3998.tripod.com/stso/
15. Romance Studio, The, http://www.theromancestudio.com/
16. Swords Edge, http://www.swordsedge.net/
16. Fiction Factor, http://www.fictionfactor.com/
16. Strange Horizons, http://www.strangehorizons.com/
17. Bygone Days, http://bygonedays.net/
18. The Eternal Night, http://www.eternalnight.co.uk/
18. 7 Just Erotic Romance Reviews, http://www.justeroticromancereviews.com/
18. Shortshortshort, http://www.shortshortshort.com/
19. The Writer's Room Magazine, http://www.thewritersroommagazine.net/
19. Neverary, http://www.neverary.com/
19. Flash Fantastic, http://www.crazedfanboy.com/fiction/flash/index.html
19. Alien Alerts, http://http://www.otherworldsscifi.com/
20. Nth Degree, http://nthzine.com/
20. Sizzling Romances, http://sizzlingromances.tripod.com/
20. the Swamp, http://www.the-swamp.net/
20. The Writers' Hood, http://www.writershood.com/
20. Twilight Times, http://www.twilighttimes.com/
20. High Adventure Online, http://highadventure.iwarp.com/
21. flashquake, http://www.flashquake.org/
21. Bewildering Stories, http://www.bewilderingstories.com/
21. Arabella, http://www.arabellamagazine.com/
22. Whispers of Wickedness, http://www.ookami.co.uk/
22. Shred of Evidence, http://www.shredofevidence.com/
22. SDO DECTECTIVE, http://sintrigue.org/detective/index.html
22. insolent rudder, http://www.insolentrudder.org/
22. 3 Multiverse Magazine, http://www.multiversemagazine.com/
22. Romance Ever After, http://romanceeverafter.com/
22. ChiZine, http://www.chizine.com/
22. Without a Clue, http://www.ewgpresents.com/clue
22. SDO Fantasy, http://sintrigue.org/fantasy/index.html
22. Planet Relish E-Zine, http://planetrelish.com/
22. The Best Reviews, http://www.thebestreviews.com/
22. 3 Planet Magazine, http://www.planetmag.com/
23. Quantum Muse, http://www.quantummuse.com/
23. Scorched Wings, http://www.modernauthor.co.uk/
23. 2 Apollo's Lyre, http://www.apolloslyre.com/
23. Net Author's E2K, http://www.netauthor/e2k/
23. Whistling Shade, http://www.whistlingshade.com/
23. 2 Simulacrum, http://www.specficworld.com/simulacrum.html
23. Glimmertrain Short Stories, http://www.glimmertrain.com/
23. GateWay S-F Magazine, http://www.geocities.com/scifieditor/index.html
23. AlienSkin Magazine, http://www.alienskinmag.com/
24. Deep Magic, http://www.deep-magic.net/
24. NFG, http://www.nfg.ca/
24. Naked Snake Online, http://www.nakedsnakepress.com/
24. Woman of a Certain Age, http://www.womanofacertainagepage.com/
24. Mysterical-E, http://welcome.to/Mysterical-E
24. 1 ST BDSM, http://www.slavestribute.com/
24. 3rd Bed, http://www.3rdbed.com/
24. Aphelion Webzine, http://www.aphelion-webzine.com/
24. unlikely stories, http://home.flash.net/~unlikely/
24. Dark Fire Fiction, http://darkfireuk.tripod.com/
24. satellite fiction, http://www/,satellitefiction.com
24. Project M: zine, http://www.project-m-zine.com/
24. 1 Nocturnal Ooze, http://www.nocturnalooze.com/
24. Oceans of the Mind, http://www.trantorpublications.com/oceans.htm
24. Fallen Angel Reviews, http://www.fallenangelreviews.cjb.net/
24. Kinky Gurl, http://www.kinkygurl.com/
24. tellyouatale.com, http://tellyouatale.com/
24. Writer's Break, http://www.writersbreak.com/
24. Horrorfind, http://www.horrorfind.com/
24. DemonMinds


DONATIONS

$
[via ►PayPal or: Square]
Very Happy minion   Very Happy minion — last donation was yesterday. A big Thank You! to Bill Leonard, Fran Eisemann, Ed Kratz, and lots of other Critterfolk for their contributions!

Critters is entirely funded by donations from Critterfolk like you, so yours is most appreciated. Click here to make the minions happy. Every dollar helps. Thanks for your support!

COOL BOOK