Blog

Ahoy, Critterfolk!
New entry Dec 07

Critter Notices

Critters no longer accepting European Union members :(

It's with a heavy heart that I have to announce Critters can no longer accept people in the European Union as members. This is a result of the "GDPR" privacy laws going into effect. I'm a big fan of privacy, and applaud the general idea behind the GDPR, but the way it's implemented forces me to close the door to EU writers. [read more why...]

Books from Critters!

Check out Books by Critters for books by your fellow Critterfolk, as well as my list of recommended books for writers.

How to Write SF

The Craft of Writing Science Fiction that Sells by Ben Bova, best-selling author and six-time Hugo Award winner for Best Editor. (This is one of the books your ol' Critter Captain learned from himself, and I highly recommend it.) (Also via Amazon)

New Book from a Critter Member

**NOW IN PRINT EDITION TOO!** Awesome new book, HOW TO IMPROVE YOUR SPECULATIVE FICTION OPENINGS, from a Critter member whose unearthed a shard of The Secret to becoming a pro writer. Really good piece of work. "...if you're at all concerned about story openings, you'd be nuts not to read what Qualkinbush has to say." —Wil McCarthy, author of BLOOM and THE COLLAPSIUM

P&E Has a New Caretaker!

I'm very happy to announce that P&E has been handed off to a new caretaker! Check out the site for news and such. Hurrah!

Interviewed!

I'm being interviewed live on public radio for Critters 20th birthday. For those who want to listen, it's on the 10am (Mountain time) show on Thursday, 11/19/16, on Colorado Public Radio - www.cpr.org has streaming on the site or it's 90.1 FM in the Denver area. [Interview is done, you can listen on the site]

Free Web Sites

Free web sites for authors (and others) are available at www.nyx.net.

ReAnimus Acquires Advent!

ReAnimus Press is pleased to announce the acquisition of the legendary Advent Publishers! Advent is now a subsidiary of ReAnimus Press, and we will continue to publish Advent's titles under the Advent name. Advent was founded in 1956 by Earl Kemp and others, and has published the likes of James Blish, Hal Clement, Robert Heinlein, Damon Knight, E.E. "Doc" Smith, and many others. Advent's high quality titles have won and been finalists for several Hugo Awards, such as The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy and Heinlein's Children. Watch this space for ebook and print editions of all of Advent's current titles!

Network speeding up

I'm switching the connection over to a new, shiny 10X faster network because of all the load. There might be bits of downtime as your boxes learn new addresses and things. Should be brief. Let me know of any prolonged outages you see.

Preditors & Editors Changeover

With the very sad passing of Dave Kuzminski, who ran P&E, I've taken over the P&E duties. Lots of what I hope are improvements; check it out at pred-ed.com.

Critters Server is Dying has been Replaced

See important details here in my blog. Let me know if you find anything that isn't working right. (Manuscripts are now available for this week, FYI.)

Book Recommendation

THE SIGIL TRILOGY: The universe is dying from within... "Great stuff... Really enjoyed it." — SFWA Grandmaster Michael Moorcock

Announcing ReAnimus Press

If you need help making ebooks from manuscripts or print copies—or finding great stuff to read—look no further! An ebook publisher started by your very own Critter Captain. (And with a 12% Affiliate program.) [More]

~~~

MORE NEWS & NOTICES >>

CRITTERS STORE >>

 

FEATURED BOOK

~~~

CRITTERS STORE >>

Preditors & Editors Poll results

Preditors & Editors Poll results

2002 Official Results

[Category list]


Standings & #votes for category: Writers' Resource/Information/News Source

1. Charlotte Dillon's Resources for Romance Writers, http://www.geocities.com/charlottedillon2000/
2. Fiction Factor, http://www.fictionfactor.com
3. MEviews, http://www.hikeeba.com/meviews
4. Fiction Addiction, http://www.fictionaddiction.net
5. The e-Writer's Place, http://ewritersplace.com
5. Ralan's Webstravaganza, http://www.ralan.com
6. Absolute Write, http://www.absolutewrite.com
7. authors den, http://www.authorsden.com
8. The Writer's Life, http://www.thewriterslife.net
9. The Bare Bones, http://www.myshelf.com
10. Inscriptions, http://www.inscriptionsmagazine.com




11. Emporium Gazette, http://www.emporiumgazette.com
12. Expressions Newsletter, http://samsdotpublishing.com/expressions.htm
13. Writers Weekly, http://writersweekly.com
14. Word Museum, http://www.wordmuseum.com
15. FundsforWriters, http://www.fundsforwriters.com
16. HollyLisle.com Home, http://www.hollylisle.com/
17. Burryman, http://www.burryman.com
17. Writer Gazette, http://www.writergazette.com
17. The Eternal Night, http://www.eternalnight.co.uk
17. Behind the Fiction, http://myshelf.com
18. The Erotica Readers and Writers Association, http://www.erotica-readers.com
19. Writing-World.com, http://writing-world.com/
19. forwriters.com, http://www.forwriters.com
20. The Mysterious Writ, http://www.mysteriouswrit.org
21. Shades Of Romance Magazine, http://www.sormag.com
21. Locus Online, http://www.locusmag.com
21. POD Database, http://www.geocities.com/dehannabailee/pod.htm
22. Author Mania, http://www.authormania.com
22. Mad About Books, http://www.smartgroups.com/groups/michaellarocca
22. Writers Crossing, http://www.writerscrossing.com
22. NovelAdvice, http://www.noveladvice.com
23. SFReader.com, http://www.sfreader.com/indexsfr.asp
23. Books Unbound, http://www.booksunbound.com
23. Ladyjiraff Writer's Resources, http://www.geocities.com/ladyjiraff/writersresources.html
23. Writer Online, http://www.writeronline.us
23. Romance Web Gateway, http://www.geocities.com/romgateway/
23. Savannah Michaels, http://www.savannahmichaels.com/ebookinfo.htm
24. Spicy Green Iguana, http://www.spicygreeniguana.com
24. SpecFicMe, http://www.specficworld.com/rgworlds.html
24. WordThunder, http://wordthunder.com
25. the writers life, http://www.thewriterslife.homestead.com
25. The Writer's Hood 2Minute Science Log, http://www.writershood.com/htms/nonfiction.htm
25. Sell Writing Online, http://www.sellwritingonline.com
25. Gotta Write Network, http://http://www.gottawritenetwork.com
25. Writers BBS, http://www.writersbbs.com
26. The E-writer's Place, http://www.ewritersplace.com
26. Champagne on Ice, http://catherine_buburuz.tripod.com/
26. Atfantasy.Com, http://www.atfantasy.com
27. Speculations Rumor Mil, http://www.speculations.com/rumormill
27. Thinking Rock Press, http://www.thinkingrockpress.com/trp580.html
27. Freelancing, http://groups.yahoo.com/group/freelancing
27. One Woman's Writing Retreat, http://www.prairieden.com
27. Bewildering Stories, http://www.bewilderingstories.com
27. The Compulsive Reader, http://www.compulsivereader.com/html
28. Write From Home, http://www.writefromhome.com
28. SpecFicWorld.com, http://www.specficworld.com
28. Mindsightseries Link Portal, http://www.mindsightseries.com
29. Wooden Horse Publishing, http://www.woodenhorsepub.com./
29. writer gazette, http://writergazette.com
29. BeWrite.net, http://www.bewrite.net
29. Wake Up Writing, http://www.wakeupwriting.com
29. Burryman , http://www.burryman.com
29. SF&FW, http://burgoyne.com/workshop

DONATIONS

$
[via ►PayPal or: Square]
Very Happy minion   Very Happy minion — last donation was yesterday. A big Thank You! to Bill Leonard, Fran Eisemann, Ed Kratz, and lots of other Critterfolk for their contributions!

Critters is entirely funded by donations from Critterfolk like you, so yours is most appreciated. Click here to make the minions happy. Every dollar helps. Thanks for your support!

COOL BOOK