Blog

Ahoy, Critterfolk!
New entry Dec 07

Critter Notices

Critters is 23!

Yes, 23 years ago Critters was born. Wow! Thanks so much to all of you, who've made it such a resounding success!

Critters no longer accepting European Union members :(

It's with a heavy heart that I have to announce Critters can no longer accept people in the European Union as members. This is a result of the "GDPR" privacy laws going into effect. I'm a big fan of privacy, and applaud the general idea behind the GDPR, but the way it's implemented forces me to close the door to EU writers. [read more why...]

Books from Critters!

Check out Books by Critters for books by your fellow Critterfolk, as well as my list of recommended books for writers.

How to Write SF

The Craft of Writing Science Fiction that Sells by Ben Bova, best-selling author and six-time Hugo Award winner for Best Editor. (This is one of the books your ol' Critter Captain learned from himself, and I highly recommend it.) (Also via Amazon)

The Sigil Trilogy

If you're looking for an amazing, WOW! science fiction story, check out THE SIGIL TRILOGY. This is — literally — one of the best science fiction novels I've ever read.

P&E Has a New Caretaker!

I'm very happy to announce that P&E has been handed off to a new caretaker! Check out the site for news and such. Hurrah!

Interviewed!

I'm being interviewed live on public radio for Critters 20th birthday. For those who want to listen, it's on the 10am (Mountain time) show on Thursday, 11/19/16, on Colorado Public Radio - www.cpr.org has streaming on the site or it's 90.1 FM in the Denver area. [Interview is done, you can listen on the site]

Free Web Sites

Free web sites for authors (and others) are available at www.nyx.net.

ReAnimus Acquires Advent!

ReAnimus Press is pleased to announce the acquisition of the legendary Advent Publishers! Advent is now a subsidiary of ReAnimus Press, and we will continue to publish Advent's titles under the Advent name. Advent was founded in 1956 by Earl Kemp and others, and has published the likes of James Blish, Hal Clement, Robert Heinlein, Damon Knight, E.E. "Doc" Smith, and many others. Advent's high quality titles have won and been finalists for several Hugo Awards, such as The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy and Heinlein's Children. Watch this space for ebook and print editions of all of Advent's current titles!

Network speeding up

I'm switching the connection over to a new, shiny 10X faster network because of all the load. There might be bits of downtime as your boxes learn new addresses and things. Should be brief. Let me know of any prolonged outages you see.

Preditors & Editors Changeover

With the very sad passing of Dave Kuzminski, who ran P&E, I've taken over the P&E duties. Lots of what I hope are improvements; check it out at pred-ed.com.

Critters Server is Dying has been Replaced

See important details here in my blog. Let me know if you find anything that isn't working right. (Manuscripts are now available for this week, FYI.)

Book Recommendation

THE SIGIL TRILOGY: The universe is dying from within... "Great stuff... Really enjoyed it." — SFWA Grandmaster Michael Moorcock

Announcing ReAnimus Press

If you need help making ebooks from manuscripts or print copies—or finding great stuff to read—look no further! An ebook publisher started by your very own Critter Captain. (And with a 12% Affiliate program.) [More]

~~~

MORE NEWS & NOTICES >>

CRITTERS STORE >>

 

FEATURED BOOK

~~~

CRITTERS STORE >>

Preditors & Editors Poll results

Preditors & Editors Poll results

2008 Official Results

[Category list]


Standings for category: Anthologies

1. A Death in Texas, L&L Dreamspell, http://www.lldreamspell.com
2. The Enchanted Faerie, The Wild Rose Press, http://www.thewildrosepress.com
3. Christmas is a Season: 2008, Excalibur Press, http://www.amazon.com/Christmas-Season-Linda-Busby-Parker/dp/0982062907
4. Words To Write By, Treble Heart Books, http://www.trebleheartbooks.com
5. Forever Friends, Mandinam Press, http://mandinampress.co.uk
6. WolfSongs, WolfSinger Publications, http://www.wolfsingerpubs.com/WolfSong1.html
7. OneTouch One Glance A Sweet Romance Anthology, Freya's Bower, http://www.freyasbower.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=29_39&products_id=149
8. Sinister Landscapes, Pixie Dust Press, http://www.alandraven.com/pixiedust.htm
8. Leaps of Faith, The Writers Cafe Press, http://thewriterscafe.com/authorandbooks/leapsoffaith.html
9. Almost Perfect: Disabled Pets and the People Who Love Them, Enspirio House, Word Forge Books, http://www.AlmostPerfectBook.com
10. Torrid Teasers Volume #52, Whiskey Creek Press Torrid, http://www.whiskeycreekpress.com/torrid/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=361




11. Dark Distortions, Scotopia Press, http://www.scotopiapress.com
12. Rescue Me, St. Martin's Paperbacks, http://us.macmillan.com/rescueme
13. Still Waters Run Deep, Magpies Nest Publishing, http://www.magpiesnestpublishing.co.uk
13. Return of the Sword, Rogue Blades Entertainment, http://www.roguebladesentertainment.com/products/rb-presents/rb-presents-anthologies/return-of-the-sword/
13. Voices, Morrigan Books, http://www.morriganbooks.com
14. Boys Down Under, Aspen Mountain Press, http://www.aspenmountainpress.com/more-hot-reads/boys-down-under/prod_189.html
14. Inside Scoop: Articles about Acting and Writing by Hollywood Insiders and Published Authors, Double Dragon Publishing, http://www.double-dragon-ebooks.com/single.php?ISBN=1-55404-543-6/
14. Dr. Offig's Lessons From the Dark Side, Virtual Tales, http://www.virtualtales.com
14. Coming Together: With Pride, Phaze Books, http://www.eroticanthology.com/withpride.htm
15. Unkindness, Volume, Withersin Magazine, http://www.withersin.com/withersin.htm
16. Holidays are Hell, Harper, http://www.amazon.com/Holidays-Are-Hell-Kim-Harrison/dp/0061239097/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1230850610&sr=8-1
17. Summer Heat, eXcessica, http://excessica.com/index.php/books/summer-heat-by-elizabeth-black/
18. The Beast Within, Graveside Tales, http://www.gravesidetales.com/store/anthologies/the-beast-within-various-authors/prod_5.html
18. A Torrid Celebration, Whiskey Creek Press Torrid, http://www.whiskeycreekpress.com/torrid/p://
18. Best of Everyday Fiction, Every Day Publishing, http://www.everydayfiction.com/
19. Writers for Relief, Volume 2, Dragon Moon Press, http://www.dragonmoonpress.com
19. Speak Its Name (Trilogy No 111), Linden Bay Romance, http://www.lindenbayromance.com/product-trilogyno111speakitsname-7212-145.html
19. No Place Like Home, Fossil Publications, http://blackpetalsks.tripod.com/yellowmama/id230.html
19. Lost Innocence: A Niteblade Anthology, Niteblade Magazine, http://tinyurl.com/82j5rj
20. Desolate Places, Hadley Rille Books, http://www.hadleyrillebooks.com
20. Christmas Wishes, A Jewels of the Quill Christmas Anthology, Whiskey Creek Press, http://www.JewelsoftheQuill.com
20. Going Out with a Bang, RendezVous Publishing, http://http://www.napoleonandcompany.com/RVCrimePages/RVC.NewTitles.html
21. Shifting Desires, Phaze Books, http://www.king-cart.com/Phaze/product=Shifting+Desires/exact_match=exact
21. Twisted Tails III: Pure Fear, Double Dragon Publishing, http://www.double-dragon-ebooks.com/single.php?ISBN=1-55404-567-3
21. Love On A Harley, Highland Press Publishing, http://www.highlandpress.org
21. Sexy Beast V, Aphrodisia/ Kensington, http://www.kensingtonbooks.com/catalog.cfm?dest=itempg&itemid=12895&secid=30&linkon=subsection&linkid=1839
22. Another Fine Mess, Torquere Press, http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=859
22. Ultimate Burlesque, Xcite, http://www.ultimateburlesque.com/
22. Bad-Ass Faeries 2: Just Plain Bad, Marietta Publishing, http://www.mariettapublishing.com/books/BAF2.htm
23. Hostage, MLR Press, http://www.mlrpress.com/ShowBook.php?book=BLOOD001
23. Something Magic This Way Comes, DAW, http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/075640472X
23. Deadlines, Comet Press, http://www.cometpress.us/
23. Best of Stories for Children Magazine Volume 1, LuLu, http://www.lulu.com/content/4892856
23. Tainted, Strange Publications, http://www.strangepublications.com/
23. Sanguinary Seductions, eXtasy Books, http://www.extasybooks.net/ebjmsite/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=ebook_flypage&product_id=3246&category_id=29&manufacturer_id=0&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=44
24. Haunted Hearths and Sapphic Shades: Lesbian Ghost Stories, Lethe Press, http://www.lethepressbooks.com/
24. Return to Luna, Hadley Rille Books, http://www.hadleyrillebooks.com/
24. Hell Cop, Loose Id, http://www.loose-id.com/detail.aspx?ID=827
24. Shapeshifter: The Demo Tapes-- Year 1, Lulu, http://www.lulu.com/content/4077700
24. A Whortleberry Summer, Whortleberry Press, http://whortleberrypress.com
24. Ruins Metropolis, Hadley Rille Books, http://www.hadleyrillebooks.com
25. And Now for a Story..., Casperian books, http://www.casperianbooks.com/
25. Cats in Space, Rondyvoo publishing, http://www.rondyvoo.com/catsinspace.html
25. Heat of the Moment, Echelon Press Publishing, http://www.echelonpress.com/direct/buy-hotm.htm
25. My Knightly Adventures, Amber Quill Press, http://www.amberquill.com/AmberHeat/MyKnightlyAdventures.html
25. The Chosen, Extasy Books, http://www.extasybooks.com
25. Alluring Tales, Hot Holiday Nights, Avon Red, http://www.harpercollins.com/books/9780061463174/Alluring_Tales_Hot_Holiday_Nights/index.aspx
26. Monster Mash, Whiskey Creek Press Torrid, http://www.whiskeycreekpress.com/torrid/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=344&zenid=ac30681f0976911f5dc9f7425a3a21c8
26. It Happened One Night, Avon Romance, http://www.avonromance.com
26. Dark Harvest, Indiana Horror Writers Publications, http://www.indianahorror.org/
26. Bewitched by Darkness, Wild Cat Books, http://www.amazon.com/BEWITCHED-DARKNESS-K-G-McAbee/dp/098208725X/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1230935068&sr=8-2
26. Carpathian Shadows II, Booksforabuck, http://www.booksforabuck.com/sfpages/sf_08/carpathian_shadows2.html
26. Torrid Teasers Volume #53, Whiskey Creek Press Torrid, https://www.whiskeycreekpress.com/torrid/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=367
26. In The Gloaming: A Faerie Anthology, Freya's Bower, http://www.freyasbower.com
26. Traps, Dark Hart Press, http://www.darkhart.com
26. Lilith Unbound, Popcorn Press, http://www.popcornpress.com/
26. Shifting Them, Torquere Books, http://www.torquerebooks.com
26. Legend, Total-E-Bound, http://www.total-e-bound.com/zi6xXq663606/Anthologies/Legend/p-84-277/
26. The Best of Every Day Fiction 2008, Every Day Publishing, http://www.everydayfiction.com/features/the-best-of-every-day-fiction-2008/
26. In The Gloaming, Samhain Publishing, http://samhainpublishing.com/romance/in-the-gloaming-c-i
26. Crosstime Sciene Fiction Anthology VII, Crossquarter
27. Brides of the West, Highland Press Publishing, http://www.highlandpress.org
27. Atlantis Allure, eXtasy Books, http://extasybooks.com
27. Fire Storm, Changeling Press, http://www.changelingpress.com/product.php?&upt=book&ubid=1001
27. Read By Dawn Volume Three, Bloody Books, http://beautiful-books.co.uk/248.html
27. SF Waxes Philosophical, ZC Books, http://www.zcbooks.ca
27. Stranded: Stories from the edge of Infinity..., Outskirts Press, http://www.kimberlyraiser.vpweb.com
27. Worlds Apart: Taken, eXtasy Books, http://www.extasybooks.com
27. Legendary Horrors, Bards and Sages Publishing, http://www.bardsandsages.com/legends
27. Secrets volume 25, Red Sage, http://www.eredsage.com
27. Strange Worlds of Lunacy, CyberAliens Press, http://www.cyberwizardproductions.com/cyberaliens/swol.html
28. Mates, Torquere Press, http://torquerebooks.com
28. Shades of Autumn, Torquere, http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=1654
28. Inspiring the Muse, Chesterfield Writers Club, http://www.lulu.com/content/5535474
28. EcoErotica, eXcessica publishing, http://excessica.com/index.php/search-by-author/selena-kitt/
28. Return of the Blade, Rogue Blades Entertainment, http://www.roguebladesentertainment.com/
28. Cone Zero, Megazanthus Press, http://http://weirdmonger.blog-city.com/cone_zero_under_way.htm
28. Nothing But Red, Lulu.com, http://www.nothingbutred.wordpress.com
28. Heatwave, Total E Bound, http://www.total-e-bound.com
29. Torqued Tales, Torquere Books, http://www.torquerebooks.com
29. Across The Threshold, eXcessica, http://www.excessica.com/index.php/books/across-the-threshold-by-habu
29. Barren Worlds, Hadley Rille Books, http://www.hadleyrillebooks.com
29. The World of Myth Anthology, Dark Myth Publications, http://www.darkmythproductions.com/mythmart/twom_anthology.html
29. Tall Tales on the Iron Horse, Bewildering Press, http://www.bewilderingpress.com
29. The Best of The Bubbas of the Apocalypse, Ben Bella, http://benbellabooks.com
29. Alluring Tales: Hot Holiday Nights, Avon Books, http://www.harpercollins.com/books/9780061463174/Alluring_Tales_Hot_Holiday_Nights/index.aspx
29. ...The dead Will Inherit the Earth..., Lulu.com, http://www.lulu.com/content/1553761
29. Children of the Triad: Sex Me II, extasy Books, http://www.amazon.com/Children-Triad-Sex-Me-II/dp/1554871158/ref=pd_bbs_sr_5?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1231306096&sr=8-5
29. Dying In A WInter Wonderland, Wolfmont Press, http://www.wolfmont.com
29. Abominations, Shroud Publishing, http://www.shroudmagazine.com
29. Some Enchanted Evenings, Whiskey Creek Press Torrid, http://www.whiskeycreekpress.com/torrid/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=9&products_id=354
29. 2012, Twelfth Planet Press, http://www.twelfthplanetpress.com
29. Street Walkings , http://
29. A Reflection of Me, AAMBC, http://www.goodreads.com/book/show
29. Trio, Kensington Aphrodisia, http://www.kensingtonbooks.com
29. Anthology: No Place Like Home, Fossil Publications, http://blackpetalsks.tripod.com/yellowmama/id230.html
29. Daring Desires, Amber Quill Press/Amber Allure, http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure/DaringDesires.html
29. Crystal Power Book 1, Midnight Showcase, http://www.midnightshowcase.com
29. One Step Beyond, Subatomic, http://www.subatomicbooks.com/index.php?page_id=35
29. Flames of Gold, Highland Press Publishing, http://www.highlandpress.org
29. Carpathian Shadows I, Booksforabuck, http://www.booksforabuck.com/sfpages/sf_07/carpatian_shadows_vol1.html
29. Tice Upon an Eventide, Double Dragon Publishing, http://www.double-dragon-ebooks.com/single.php?ISBN=1-55404-574-6
29. Love and Silver Bells, Highland Press Publishing, http://www.highlandpress.org
30. Twist of Fate, Eternal Press
30. Print Issue #1, Lit Chaos, http://coatlism.litchaos.com/
30. Fairy Tales Can Come True, CreateSpace, http://www.amazon.com/Fairy-Tales-Can-Come-True/dp/1440460191/ref=pd_bbs_sr_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1227303643&sr=8-2
30. The Power of Love, Berkley Trade, http://us.penguingroup.com/static/pages/publishers/adult/berkley.html
30. Sideways in Crime, Solaris, http://www.solarisbooks.com/books/sideways-crime/sideways-crime.asp
30. NIGHTLIFE Anthology, Writer's Exchange E-Publishing, http://www.readerseden.com/product.php?productid=423&cat=0&page=1
30. This Ain't No Rodeo, WolfSinger Publications, http://www.wolfsingerpubs.com/RRFAnthology.html
30. Silent Scream, Lulu, http://www.lulu.com
30. Satirica, Cowboy Logic Press, http://www.cowboylogic.net
30. Potter's Field 3, Sam's Dot Publishing, http://www.samsdotpublishing.com/vineyard/Potter.htm
30. Seabird, Sherry Thompson, http://khivasmommy.googlepages.com/home
30. Unwelcome Bodies, Apex Books, http://www.apexbookcompany.com
30. Undead Embrace, Under The Moon, http://www.underthemoon.org/undeadembrace.html
30. Naughty is Nice, Shadowfire Press, http://shadowfirestore.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=26&zenid=d8dbcfc559eea5397171ea5abfed4cfe
30. Dark Territories, Garden State Horror Writers, http://www.gshw.net
30. Firestorm of Dragons, Dragon Moon , http://www.firestormofdragons.com/
30. Sexual Deceptions 1, Whiskey Creek Press Torrid, https://www.whiskeycreekpress.com/torrid/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=315
30. The Horror Library Vol. 4, Cutting Block Press, http://www.cuttingblock.net/books.html
30. Fabulous Brits, Total-E-Bound, http://www.total-e-bound.com/zi6xXq663606/Anthologies/Fabulous-Brits/p-84-338/
30. Short Story – “All Gone” by Cindy Rosmus, OUT OF THE GUTTER, http://outoftheguttermagazine.blogspot.com/
30. Fabulous Whitby, Fabulous Albion Press, http://www.fabulousalbion.co.uk
30. Ghost Lover, Sizzler Editions, http://shop.renebooks.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=NEWMAN%2D03
30. Exotic Gothic 2, Ash-Tree Press, http://www.ash-tree.bc.ca/ashtreecurrent.html
30. Where Legends Ride, Express Westerns, http://www.blackhorsewesterns.org
30. Nectar of the Gods, Total-E-Bound, http://www.total-e-bound.com
30. Triangulation: Taking Flight, Parsec, Inc, http://parsecink.org
30. Star Stepping, Wild Child Publishing, http://www.wildchildpublishing.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=85&products_id=235
30. Santa's Givings And Misgivings, Whortleberry Press, http://whortleberrypress.com/
30. I Rember The Future, Apex Book Company, http://www.apexbookcompany.com
30. Brits in Time, Total-E-Bound, http://www.total-e-bound.com/zi6xXq663606/Anthologies/Brits-in-Time/p-84-382/
30. Santa's Givings, and Misgivings, Whortleleaves, http://whortleleaves.com

DONATIONS

$
[via ►PayPal or: Square]
Happy minion   Happy minion — last donation was 2 days ago. A big Thank You! to John Berks, Sean Masters, Bret Lynn, and lots of other Critterfolk for their contributions!

Critters is entirely funded by donations from Critterfolk like you, so yours is most appreciated. Click here to make the minions happy. Every dollar helps. Thanks for your support!

COOL BOOK