Blog

Ahoy, Critterfolk!
New entry Dec 07

Critter Notices

Critters is 23!

Yes, 23 years ago Critters was born. Wow! Thanks so much to all of you, who've made it such a resounding success!

Critters no longer accepting European Union members :(

It's with a heavy heart that I have to announce Critters can no longer accept people in the European Union as members. This is a result of the "GDPR" privacy laws going into effect. I'm a big fan of privacy, and applaud the general idea behind the GDPR, but the way it's implemented forces me to close the door to EU writers. [read more why...]

Books from Critters!

Check out Books by Critters for books by your fellow Critterfolk, as well as my list of recommended books for writers.

How to Write SF

The Craft of Writing Science Fiction that Sells by Ben Bova, best-selling author and six-time Hugo Award winner for Best Editor. (This is one of the books your ol' Critter Captain learned from himself, and I highly recommend it.) (Also via Amazon)

Space Travel for SF Writers

Hot off the presses from ReAnimus Press! Space Travel - A Science Fiction Writer's Guide— An indispensible tool for all SF writers that explains the science you need to help you make your fiction plausible. (Also via Amazon)

P&E Has a New Caretaker!

I'm very happy to announce that P&E has been handed off to a new caretaker! Check out the site for news and such. Hurrah!

Interviewed!

I'm being interviewed live on public radio for Critters 20th birthday. For those who want to listen, it's on the 10am (Mountain time) show on Thursday, 11/19/16, on Colorado Public Radio - www.cpr.org has streaming on the site or it's 90.1 FM in the Denver area. [Interview is done, you can listen on the site]

Free Web Sites

Free web sites for authors (and others) are available at www.nyx.net.

ReAnimus Acquires Advent!

ReAnimus Press is pleased to announce the acquisition of the legendary Advent Publishers! Advent is now a subsidiary of ReAnimus Press, and we will continue to publish Advent's titles under the Advent name. Advent was founded in 1956 by Earl Kemp and others, and has published the likes of James Blish, Hal Clement, Robert Heinlein, Damon Knight, E.E. "Doc" Smith, and many others. Advent's high quality titles have won and been finalists for several Hugo Awards, such as The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy and Heinlein's Children. Watch this space for ebook and print editions of all of Advent's current titles!

Network speeding up

I'm switching the connection over to a new, shiny 10X faster network because of all the load. There might be bits of downtime as your boxes learn new addresses and things. Should be brief. Let me know of any prolonged outages you see.

Preditors & Editors Changeover

With the very sad passing of Dave Kuzminski, who ran P&E, I've taken over the P&E duties. Lots of what I hope are improvements; check it out at pred-ed.com.

Critters Server is Dying has been Replaced

See important details here in my blog. Let me know if you find anything that isn't working right. (Manuscripts are now available for this week, FYI.)

Book Recommendation

THE SIGIL TRILOGY: The universe is dying from within... "Great stuff... Really enjoyed it." — SFWA Grandmaster Michael Moorcock

Announcing ReAnimus Press

If you need help making ebooks from manuscripts or print copies—or finding great stuff to read—look no further! An ebook publisher started by your very own Critter Captain. (And with a 12% Affiliate program.) [More]

~~~

MORE NEWS & NOTICES >>

CRITTERS STORE >>

 

FEATURED BOOK

~~~

CRITTERS STORE >>

Preditors & Editors Poll results

Preditors & Editors Poll results

2006 Official Results

[Category list]


Standings for category: Horror Novels

1. Bloodstone, Nate Kenyon, Gale/Five Star, http://natekenyon.com
2. Michael, Andrea Dean Van Scoyoc, Ephemera Bound Publishing, http://www.ephemera-bound.com/
3. Curious Accounts of the Imaginary Friend, P.S. Gifford, Virtual Tales, http://www.virtualtales.com
4. Heaven's Falling 2: Redemption, Garry Charles, Hadesgate Publications, http://www.garrycharles.com
5. FEAR Anthology, Whiskey Creek Press Authors, Whiskey Creek Press, http://www.whiskeycreekpress.com/
6. The Pressure of Darkness, Harry Shannon, Five Star, http://myspace.com/pressureofdarkness
7. Into the Mirror Black, Frank E. Bittinger, iUniverse, http://www.myspace.com/sacredscarab
8. The All-Soul's Faire, Kristy Tallman, Ferrell Tallman Publishing Inc, http://www.krsitytallman.com
9. The Literary Six, Vince A. Liaguno, Outskirts Press, http://www.VinceLiaguno.com
10. Touching Evil, Rob Knight, Torquere Press, http://www.torquerepress.com




11. Slipping, Barri L. Bumgarner, Tigress Press LLC, http://www.barrilbumgarner.com
11. Friends in Dark Places, John Bushore, Sam's Dot Publishing, http://samsdotpublishing.com
11. Pressure, Jeff Strand, Earthling Publications, http://http://pressurenovel.com/
12. Weep Not for the Vampire, William A. Veselik, Mundania Press, http://www.livelycorpses.com
13. Greystone, Christina Barber, eTreasures Publishing, http://www.christinabarber.net
14. Wicked Lucidity, Mandy Roth, NCP, http://www.mandyroth.com
14. Pervalism, M.E. Ellis, Wild Child Publishing, http://www.wildchildpublishing.com/
15. Rage, L.B. Milano, Cerridwen Press, http://www.cerridwenpress.com/productpage.asp?ISBN=1-4199-0432-9
16. After Sundown: Redemption, Eden Robins, Cerridwen Press, http://www.cerridwenpress.com
16. Wishing Makes It So, Marilyn Meredith, Hard Shell Word Factory, http://www.hardshell.com
16. Decimate, Various authors, Wild Child Publishing, http://www.wildchildpublishing.com/
17. Nocturne, Elizabeth Donald, Cerridwen Press, http://www.cerridwen.com
17. Beyond the Four Walls, Pamela K. Kinney, Naked Snake Press, http://www.nakedsnakepress.com/
18. The Harrowing, Alexandra Sokoloff, St. Martin's Press, http://alexandrasokoloff.com
18. The Curious Accounts of the Imaginary Friend, P. S. Gifford, , http://www.psgifford.com
18. The Conqueror Worms, Brian Keene, Leisure, http://briankeene.com
18. Taken by the Wind, Charlotte Boyett-Compo, Cerridwen Press, http://www.windlegends.org/obsessions.htm
18. Lisey's Story, Stephen King, Scribner, http://www.stephenking.com
19. Tomb of the God King, Julia Talbot, Torquere Press, http://www.torquerepress.com
20. Brothers of the Night, Audrey Godwin, Triskelion Publishing, http://www.triskelionpublishing.net
21. Ghost Road Blues, Jonathan Maberry, Pinnacle Books, http://www.kensingtonbooks.com
22. Innocence Taken, Janet Durbin, Forbidden Publications, http://www.forbiddenpublications.com/book_pages/innocence_taken.html
22. Creepers, David Morrell, CDS Books, http://www.davidmorrell.net/
22. Momma's Boy, Fran Friel, Insidious Publications
22. Into The Mirror Black, Frank Bittenger, , http://www.myspace.com/sacredscarab
22. Ghostly Possession, Teresa Wayne, Mardi Gras Publishing, http://www.mardigraspublishing.com
22. Hannibal Rising, Thomas Harris, Delacorte Press, http://www.thomasharris.com
23. Winter Collection, Cora Miller, Star Publish LLC, http://starpublish.com
23. Night Whispers, David Greske, Whiskey Creek Press, http://www.whiskeycreekpress.com
23. Zeb The Dog Man, Kenneth E. Baker, Whiskeycreek Press
24. IF THINE EYE OFFEND THEE, T.K. Sheils, Mundania press, http://www.mundaniapress.com
24. Rough Cut, Gary McMahon, Pendragon Press, http://www.pendragonpress.co.uk
24. Then Comes The Child, Angeline Hawkes / Christopher Fulbright, Carnifex Press, http://www.CarnifexPress.net
24. Lost in the Cornfield, Jospeh A. Domino, Chippewa Publishing, http://chippewapublishing.com
24. Grimm, Howard Hopkins, GP PRess, http://www.lulu.com/goldenperils
25. Headstone City, Tom Piccirilli, Bantam, http://www.tompiccirlli.com
25. Noctune, Elizabeth Donald, Cerridwen, http://cerridwenpress.com
25. Vampire Apocalypse, Derek Gunn, Black Death Books, http://http://www.khpindustries.com/
25. The Ruins, Scott Smith, Simon and Schuster, http://
25. The Pilo Family Circus, Will Elliot, ABC Books, http://http://www.abc.net.au/arts/books/
25. The Farm, Scott Nicholson, Pinnacle, www.kensingtonbooks.com/
25. Immortal Reveries, H S Kinn, Aphrodites Apples, http://www.aphroditesappples.com
25. Zeus, Buddha and Me Went Into A Bar, Jesus H. Christ, HBC, http://harvestbaptistchurch.com
25. Scabed wings of Abadon, Sean Kennedy, Dark Atlas Publications, http://www.darkatlas.com/writing-abaddon.php

DONATIONS

$
[via ►PayPal or: Square]
Happy minion   Happy minion — last donation was 2 days ago. A big Thank You! to John Berks, Sean Masters, Bret Lynn, and lots of other Critterfolk for their contributions!

Critters is entirely funded by donations from Critterfolk like you, so yours is most appreciated. Click here to make the minions happy. Every dollar helps. Thanks for your support!

COOL BOOK