Blog

Ahoy, Critterfolk!
New entry Nov 16

Critter Notices

Critters is 22!

Yes, 21 years ago Critters was born. Wow! Thanks so much to all of you, who've made it such a resounding success!

Books from Critters!

Check out Books by Critters for books by your fellow Critterfolk, as well as my list of recommended books for writers.

The Sigil Trilogy

If you're looking for an amazing, WOW! science fiction story, check out THE SIGIL TRILOGY. This is — literally — one of the best science fiction novels I've ever read.

How to Write SF

The Craft of Writing Science Fiction that Sells by Ben Bova, best-selling author and six-time Hugo Award winner for Best Editor. (This is one of the books your ol' Critter Captain learned from himself, and I highly recommend it.) (Also via Amazon)

P&E Seeks New Caretaker

Unfortunately, much of the data on the P&E site has become stale and outdated, and needs a new caretaker with the time required to update the site. The listings are being removed until they can be updated by a new caretaker.

Note that the P&E/Critters Annual Readers Poll will run as usual in January.

If you are interested in taking the reins of P&E, and possess what's needed — at least 20hrs/week to volunteer, excellent investigative skills, in-depth knowledge of the publishing industry, ability to detect scams from not-scams, thick skin, good web site skills, good writing ability — please get in touch. Thanks for your interest!

Interviewed!

I'm being interviewed live on public radio for Critters 20th birthday. For those who want to listen, it's on the 10am (Mountain time) show on Thursday, 11/19/16, on Colorado Public Radio - www.cpr.org has streaming on the site or it's 90.1 FM in the Denver area. [Interview is done, you can listen on the site]

Free Web Sites

Free web sites for authors (and others) are available at www.nyx.net.

ReAnimus Acquires Advent!

ReAnimus Press is pleased to announce the acquisition of the legendary Advent Publishers! Advent is now a subsidiary of ReAnimus Press, and we will continue to publish Advent's titles under the Advent name. Advent was founded in 1956 by Earl Kemp and others, and has published the likes of James Blish, Hal Clement, Robert Heinlein, Damon Knight, E.E. "Doc" Smith, and many others. Advent's high quality titles have won and been finalists for several Hugo Awards, such as The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy and Heinlein's Children. Watch this space for ebook and print editions of all of Advent's current titles!

Network speeding up

I'm switching the connection over to a new, shiny 10X faster network because of all the load. There might be bits of downtime as your boxes learn new addresses and things. Should be brief. Let me know of any prolonged outages you see.

Preditors & Editors Changeover

With the very sad passing of Dave Kuzminski, who ran P&E, I've taken over the P&E duties. Lots of what I hope are improvements; check it out at pred-ed.com.

Critters Server is Dying has been Replaced

See important details here in my blog. Let me know if you find anything that isn't working right. (Manuscripts are now available for this week, FYI.)

Book Recommendation

THE SIGIL TRILOGY: The universe is dying from within... "Great stuff... Really enjoyed it." — SFWA Grandmaster Michael Moorcock

Announcing ReAnimus Press

If you need help making ebooks from manuscripts or print copies—or finding great stuff to read—look no further! An ebook publisher started by your very own Critter Captain. (And with a 12% Affiliate program.) [More]

~~~

MORE NEWS & NOTICES >>

CRITTERS STORE >>

 

FEATURED BOOK

~~~

CRITTERS STORE >>

Preditors & Editors Poll results

Preditors & Editors Poll results

2005 Official Results

[Category list]


Standings for category: Horror Short Stories

1. Goodnight, Michael West, Wicked Karnival, http://www.wickedkarnival.com
2. Big Sister/Little Sister, Jennifer Pelland, Apex Digest, http://www.apexdigest.com
3. Traffic School, Simon Wood, Horror World, http://www.horrorworld.org
3. Silver Throat, Daria Karpova, Dream People Magazine, http://www.angelfire.com/zine2/thedreampeople/aug05/silver.html
4. Alive Into Hell, B.J. Bourg, Writer's Post Journal -Oct., http://bjbourg.com/
5. Red Barchetta, Debbie Kuhn, Nocturnal Ooze, http://www.nocturnalooze.com
6. Night Creatures, Elisa Adams, Changeling Press, http://www.changelingpress.com
7. Wicked World, Steven L. Shrewsbury, Ultimate Hallucination, http://www.ultimatehallucination.com/
8. Grimm, Howard Hopkins, Atlantic Bridge Publications, http://www.howardhopkins.com
8. Wicked Lucidity, Mandy M. Roth, New Concepts Publishing, http://www.newconceptspublishing.com/wickedlucidity.htm
9. Silver Anniversary, Stephen M. Wilson, Sideshow Press, http://www.wickedkarnival.com/
9. Game of Hell, Pamela K. kinney, Speculative Centre Fiction, http://www.speculativefictioncentre.com/pamelakkinney.htm
9. Forgotten, But Not Gone (Trespasing Time antho), Sheri L. McGathy, Double Dragon Publishing, http://www.double-dragon-ebooks.com/single.asp?ISBN=1-55404-301-8
10. Masterpiece, Nancy S. Ward, Chippewa Publishing, http://www.chippewapublishing.com
10. Peekers, Kealan Patrick Burke, Horror World, http://www.horrorworld.org
10. Don't Stop Till You Bleed A Lot, Kyle Kucek, Camp Horror, http://newcamphorror.i8.com




11. Sisters Of The Secret Confederacy, Paris Dixon, Amber Quill Press, http://amberquill.com
11. Mister Happiness, Daniel Arenson, Dark Krypt, http://www.darkkrypt.com
11. Ripples, Elizabeth Blue, Dark Discoveries Magazine, http://http://www.darkdiscoveries.com
11. Virgin Sand Goddess, Ann Cory, Cthulu Sex Magazine, http://www.cthulhusex.com/
12. The Four Hundred and Twenty-Three, Pam L. Wallace, The Sword Review, http://theswordreview.com
12. General Mud, Stephen D. Rogers, Walking Bones Magazine, http://www.walkingbones.com/
12. Reindeer Games, Rhonda Eudaly, Apex Online, http://www.apexdigest.com/Online/fiction051203.shtml
12. Stay Here, Gary Frank, GSHW Press, http://www.authorgaryfrank.com/Stay%20Here.htm
12. New Gods of the Lost Children, Jason Andrew, Saltboy Books, http://www.saltboy.com/
13. The Return of the Ba, Angeline Hawkes-Craig, Black Death Books, http://www.khpindustries.com
13. Last Call, Mandy M Roth, New Concepts, http://www.mandyroth.com
13. Home of the Brave, Steven L. Shrewsbury, Reality Check, http://lulu.com
14. Mrs. Rosenkrantz, Arthur Sanchez, Anotherealm.com, http://www.anotherealm.com/2005/ar040205.html
14. The Kept, Desiree Erotique, Swanbeauty Publications, http://www.romanticsurrender.com/
14. Axe Murderer, Karen L. Newman, Bloodcookies, http://www.gorewhore.net/bc/axemurderer.htm
14. The Man Who Ate Moths, Michael Kelly, Feral Fiction, http://www.feralfiction.com/stories/moths.htm
14. Hell Notes, M. K. Hobson, Sci Fiction, http://www.scifi.com/scifiction/originals/originals_archive/hobson2/index.html
14. Moderanecht, Bryn Sparks, Wicked Karnival, http://wickedkarnival.com/
15. Celluloid Sally, Michelle O'Neill, Nocturnal Ooze, http://www.nocturnalooze.com/index.html
15. Healthy Breath of Morn, Ralan Conley, Blood Rose, http://www.bloodrosemag.com/current/breath_of_morn.html
15. Ashes to Ashes, Amy Grech, The Late Late Show, http://www.latelateshow.net/NovDec2005/ashes_nov_dec_2005_stories.htm
15. Atoner, Terry Gates Grimwood, Whispers of Wickedness, http://www.ookami.co.uk
15. When Darkness Falls, Steven lloyd, Naked Snake Books
15. Congo Jenga, Shane Jiraiya Cummings, Shadowed Realms, http://www.shadowedrealms.com.au/issue8/congo.htm
15. A Lullaby of Tiny Naked Angels, Joseph Armstead, Wicked Karnival, http://www.wickedkarnival.com
16. Do No Good, C.N. Pitts, Insidious Reflections, http://www.insidiousreflections.com
16. The Doom That Came To Necropolis, Steve Johnson, Lite Circle, http://litecircle.org/
16. Griselda (Trespassing Time anthology), Jerri Garretson, Double Dragon Publishing, http://www.double-dragon-ebooks.com/single.asp?ISBN=1-55404-301-8
16. Bite of the Spider, Nickolaus A. Pacione, Ebooksondisk.com / Reality Check Anthology, http://www.ebooksondisk.com
16. Blood To Burn, Steven L. Shrewsbury, Night To Dawn, http://
16. Prick, Marlo Dianne, From the Asylum, http://www.fromtheasylum.com/august2005/prick.htm
16. Half The Storm, Erin MacKay, QUAKES AND STORMS: A NATURAL DISASTER ANTHOLOGY, http://www.lulu.com/content/144880
16. The Serial Murders, Kim Newman, SCIFICTION, http://www.scifi.com/scifiction/originals/originals_archive/newman4/index.html
16. The Funhouse, JG Faherty, Wicked Karnival, http://www.wickedkarnival.com
16. Incident at Monarch Pass, Boyd E. Harris, The Horror Library, http://www.horrorlibrary.net
16. The Unknown, Macey Baggett Wuesthoff, Storystation, http://www.viatouch.com/Learn/Storystation/Stories/theunknown.jsp
16. Wicked Lucidity , Mandy M. Roth, New Concepts Publishing, http://www.newconceptspublishing.com/wickedlucidity.htm
16. Tales From Someplace Else, W. J. Calabrese, Wings ePress
16. Road Rage, Tyree Campbell, Panic, http://www.samsdotpublishing.com/vineyard/panic.htm
16. When All Is Done, Toni Stauffer, Writers for Relief Antho - Lulu, http://www.lulu.com/content/178059

DONATIONS

$
[via ►PayPal or: Square]
Happy minion   Happy minion — last donation was 4 days ago. About $600 to go. A big Thank You! to John Carr-Shanahan, john griffin, Roy Booth, and lots of other Critterfolk for their contributions!

Critters is entirely funded by donations from Critterfolk like you, so yours is most appreciated. Click here to make the minions happy. Every dollar helps. Thanks for your support!

COOL BOOK