Blog

Ahoy, Critterfolk!
New entry Dec 07

Critter Notices

Critters is 23!

Yes, 23 years ago Critters was born. Wow! Thanks so much to all of you, who've made it such a resounding success!

Critters no longer accepting European Union members :(

It's with a heavy heart that I have to announce Critters can no longer accept people in the European Union as members. This is a result of the "GDPR" privacy laws going into effect. I'm a big fan of privacy, and applaud the general idea behind the GDPR, but the way it's implemented forces me to close the door to EU writers. [read more why...]

Books from Critters!

Check out Books by Critters for books by your fellow Critterfolk, as well as my list of recommended books for writers.

How to Write SF

The Craft of Writing Science Fiction that Sells by Ben Bova, best-selling author and six-time Hugo Award winner for Best Editor. (This is one of the books your ol' Critter Captain learned from himself, and I highly recommend it.) (Also via Amazon)

The Sigil Trilogy

If you're looking for an amazing, WOW! science fiction story, check out THE SIGIL TRILOGY. This is — literally — one of the best science fiction novels I've ever read.

P&E Has a New Caretaker!

I'm very happy to announce that P&E has been handed off to a new caretaker! Check out the site for news and such. Hurrah!

Interviewed!

I'm being interviewed live on public radio for Critters 20th birthday. For those who want to listen, it's on the 10am (Mountain time) show on Thursday, 11/19/16, on Colorado Public Radio - www.cpr.org has streaming on the site or it's 90.1 FM in the Denver area. [Interview is done, you can listen on the site]

Free Web Sites

Free web sites for authors (and others) are available at www.nyx.net.

ReAnimus Acquires Advent!

ReAnimus Press is pleased to announce the acquisition of the legendary Advent Publishers! Advent is now a subsidiary of ReAnimus Press, and we will continue to publish Advent's titles under the Advent name. Advent was founded in 1956 by Earl Kemp and others, and has published the likes of James Blish, Hal Clement, Robert Heinlein, Damon Knight, E.E. "Doc" Smith, and many others. Advent's high quality titles have won and been finalists for several Hugo Awards, such as The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy and Heinlein's Children. Watch this space for ebook and print editions of all of Advent's current titles!

Network speeding up

I'm switching the connection over to a new, shiny 10X faster network because of all the load. There might be bits of downtime as your boxes learn new addresses and things. Should be brief. Let me know of any prolonged outages you see.

Preditors & Editors Changeover

With the very sad passing of Dave Kuzminski, who ran P&E, I've taken over the P&E duties. Lots of what I hope are improvements; check it out at pred-ed.com.

Critters Server is Dying has been Replaced

See important details here in my blog. Let me know if you find anything that isn't working right. (Manuscripts are now available for this week, FYI.)

Book Recommendation

THE SIGIL TRILOGY: The universe is dying from within... "Great stuff... Really enjoyed it." — SFWA Grandmaster Michael Moorcock

Announcing ReAnimus Press

If you need help making ebooks from manuscripts or print copies—or finding great stuff to read—look no further! An ebook publisher started by your very own Critter Captain. (And with a 12% Affiliate program.) [More]

~~~

MORE NEWS & NOTICES >>

CRITTERS STORE >>

 

FEATURED BOOK

~~~

CRITTERS STORE >>

Preditors & Editors Poll results

Preditors & Editors Poll results

2007 Official Results

[Category list]


Standings for category: Horror Novels

1. Fade to Pale, James Cheetham, Wild Child Publishing, http://www.wildchildpublishing.com
2. End of Desire, MR Sellars, WillowTree Press, http://www.willowtreepress.com
3. Vacation, Jeremy C. Shipp, Raw Dog Screaming Press, http://rawdogscreaming.com/vacation.html
4. Blood of the Dark Moon, Adrienne Brennan, Aphrodites Apples, http://www.aphroditesapples.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=8&products_id=29
5. Hammerhead, Garry Charles, Hadesgate Publications, http://www.hadesgate.co.uk
6. The Grandmaster, Peter Balaskas, Bards and Sages, http://www.bardsandsages.com/grandmaster
7. Angels of the Seventh Dawn, Frank E. Bittinger, iUniverse, http://myspace.com/sacredscarab
8. In the Blood, Rick R. Reed, Quest Books (Regal Crest Enterprises, LLC), http://www.regalcrest.biz/book_page.php?bookID=195
9. Abaddon, Elizabeth Donald, Cerridwen Press, http://www.cerridwenpress.com/productpage.asp?ISBN=9781419911224
10. Fugue Macabre:Ghost Dance, CJ Parker, Light Sword Publishing, http://lightswordpublishing.com
10. Ragnarok Tango, Michael Barnette, Phaze, http://phaze.com




11. Curious Accounts of An Imaginary Friend, PS Gifford
12. The Old Power Returns, Morven Westfield, Harvest Shadows Publications, http://www.morvenwestfield.com/
13. Requiem for A Vampire, Larry Deibert, Mundania, http://www.mundania.com/books-requiemforavampire.html
14. Corpses So Lively: My Soul to Take, Part 1', William A. Veselik, Mundania Press, http://www.mundania.com/books-corpsessolively.html
15. Glutonlumps Chilling Tales, PS Gifford, G&F Publishing, http://www.freewebs.com/chillingtales/chillingtalesforum.htm
15. Dead Souls, Michael Lamio, Dorchester Publishing, http://www.dorchesterpub.com
16. Swamp Baby, Adra Steia, Tease Publishing, http://allromanceebooks.com/product-swampbaby-3822-140.html
17. Dead Man's Song, Jonathan Maberry, Pinnacle Books, http://www.kensingtonbooks.com
17. Monkey Love, John Paul Allen, Biting Dog Press, http://www.bitingdogpress.com
18. Dead Sea, Brian Keene, Leisure, http://www.dorchesterpub.com
19. Mattie Ann's Playground, Mackenzie Drew, Stonehedge Publishing, http://http://www.mobipocket.com/en/eBooks/BookDetails.asp?BookID=71044
19. Doorman's Creek, Lea Schizas, eTreasures Publishing, http://www.etreasurespublishing.com/Lea_Schizas/doormans-creek.htm
20. Mortal Touch, Inanna Arthen, By Light Unseen Media, http://bylightunseenmedia.com
20. Body & Soul: a PsyCop Novel, Jordan Castillo Price, Torquere Press, http://www.torquerepress.com/fiction/bodyandsoul.html
20. Anathema, David E Greske, Whiskey Creek Press, http://www.whiskeycreekpress.com
20. Blood Creek Haunting, Derek Musgrave, Phaze, http://www.king-cart.com/Phaze/product=Blood+Creek+Haunting+by+D.+Musgrave
21. Mr. Hands, Gary Braunbeck, Dorchester Publishing, http://www.dorchesterpub.com/
22. 'Ever Dark', Robert Segarra, Craggy Rock Press, http://www.geocities/craggyrockpress/index.html
23. Applachain Rebels, Kenneth E. Baker, Whiskey Creek Press, http:// Whiskey Creek Press
23. Restless Shadows, Jennifer Cloud, Drollerie Press, http://drolleriepress.com
23. Dark Resurrection, John A. Karr, Samhain Publishing, http://samhainpublishing.com/print/dark-resurrection-print
24. Muse, Adra Steia, Tease, http://www.teasepublishingllc.com/default.aspx
24. Quits Book 2: Devils, M.E Ellis, Wild Child Publishing, http://www.wildchildpublishing.com
24. The Glass Painting, V. J. Banis, Wildside Press, http://www.wildsidepress.com
25. Birdman, Jack Teeter, Aspen Mountain Press, http://www.aspenmountainpress.com/contemporary/thriller/birdman/prod_58.html
25. Shadows in the Heart, A Jewels of the Quill Halloween Anthology, Whiskey Creek Press, http://www.JewelsoftheQuill.com
25. Faces Series, Cia Leah, DiskUs Publishing, http://www.diskuspublishing.com/
25. Ancient Eyes, David Niall Wilson, Bloodletting Books, http://www.bloodlettingbooks.com
26. Never Ceese, Sue Dent, Journey Stone Creations, http://www.neverceese.com
26. Suicide or Murder, Barbara Foster, Dragon Publishing, http://www.dragonpublishing.net
26. While the Wolves Cry, David Conlin McLeod, Trafford, www.trafford.com/4dcgi/view-item?item=19528
26. Dying to Live, Kim Paffenroth, Permuted Press, http://permutedpress.com/
26. Ancestor, Scott Sigler, Dragon Moon Press, http://www.dragonmoonpress.com
27. The Lunacy Machine, Chris M. Kinney, iUniverse, http://iuniverse.com
27. Night Demons, Howard Hopkins, Golden Perils Press, http://www.howardhopkins.com
27. The Aquarius Key, Keith Rowley, iUniverse, http://herodyssey.blogspot.com/2007/08/keith-rowley-aquarius-key.html
27. Eat the Dark, Joe Schreiber, Ballantine, http://scaryparent.blogspot.com

DONATIONS

$
[via ►PayPal or: Square]
Happy minion   Happy minion — last donation was 2 days ago. A big Thank You! to John Berks, Sean Masters, Bret Lynn, and lots of other Critterfolk for their contributions!

Critters is entirely funded by donations from Critterfolk like you, so yours is most appreciated. Click here to make the minions happy. Every dollar helps. Thanks for your support!

COOL BOOK