Blog

Ahoy, Critterfolk!
New entry Dec 07

Critter Notices

Critters no longer accepting European Union members :(

It's with a heavy heart that I have to announce Critters can no longer accept people in the European Union as members. This is a result of the "GDPR" privacy laws going into effect. I'm a big fan of privacy, and applaud the general idea behind the GDPR, but the way it's implemented forces me to close the door to EU writers. [read more why...]

Books from Critters!

Check out Books by Critters for books by your fellow Critterfolk, as well as my list of recommended books for writers.

How to Write SF

The Craft of Writing Science Fiction that Sells by Ben Bova, best-selling author and six-time Hugo Award winner for Best Editor. (This is one of the books your ol' Critter Captain learned from himself, and I highly recommend it.) (Also via Amazon)

The Sigil Trilogy

If you're looking for an amazing, WOW! science fiction story, check out THE SIGIL TRILOGY. This is — literally — one of the best science fiction novels I've ever read.

P&E Has a New Caretaker!

I'm very happy to announce that P&E has been handed off to a new caretaker! Check out the site for news and such. Hurrah!

Interviewed!

I'm being interviewed live on public radio for Critters 20th birthday. For those who want to listen, it's on the 10am (Mountain time) show on Thursday, 11/19/16, on Colorado Public Radio - www.cpr.org has streaming on the site or it's 90.1 FM in the Denver area. [Interview is done, you can listen on the site]

Free Web Sites

Free web sites for authors (and others) are available at www.nyx.net.

ReAnimus Acquires Advent!

ReAnimus Press is pleased to announce the acquisition of the legendary Advent Publishers! Advent is now a subsidiary of ReAnimus Press, and we will continue to publish Advent's titles under the Advent name. Advent was founded in 1956 by Earl Kemp and others, and has published the likes of James Blish, Hal Clement, Robert Heinlein, Damon Knight, E.E. "Doc" Smith, and many others. Advent's high quality titles have won and been finalists for several Hugo Awards, such as The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy and Heinlein's Children. Watch this space for ebook and print editions of all of Advent's current titles!

Network speeding up

I'm switching the connection over to a new, shiny 10X faster network because of all the load. There might be bits of downtime as your boxes learn new addresses and things. Should be brief. Let me know of any prolonged outages you see.

Preditors & Editors Changeover

With the very sad passing of Dave Kuzminski, who ran P&E, I've taken over the P&E duties. Lots of what I hope are improvements; check it out at pred-ed.com.

Critters Server is Dying has been Replaced

See important details here in my blog. Let me know if you find anything that isn't working right. (Manuscripts are now available for this week, FYI.)

Book Recommendation

THE SIGIL TRILOGY: The universe is dying from within... "Great stuff... Really enjoyed it." — SFWA Grandmaster Michael Moorcock

Announcing ReAnimus Press

If you need help making ebooks from manuscripts or print copies—or finding great stuff to read—look no further! An ebook publisher started by your very own Critter Captain. (And with a 12% Affiliate program.) [More]

~~~

MORE NEWS & NOTICES >>

CRITTERS STORE >>

 

FEATURED BOOK

~~~

CRITTERS STORE >>

Preditors & Editors Poll results

Preditors & Editors Poll results

2007 Official Results

[Category list]


Standings for category: Fiction Magazine/e-zines

1. Farrago's Wainscott, http://www.farragoswainscot.com/index.html
2. Oysters & Chocolate, http://www.oystersandchocolate.com
2. Stories for Children Magazine, http://storiesforchildren.tripod.com
3. Apex Science Fiction and Horror Digest, http://www.apexdigest.com
3. The Harrow: Original Works of Fantasy and Horror, http://theharrow.com/journal
4. The Rose & Thorn, http://www.theroseandthornezine.com
5. Every Day Fiction, http://www.everydayfiction.com
6. 13Human Souls, http://geocities.com/thirteenhumansouls/
7. Flashing Swords, http://flashingswords.sfreader.com/titlepage.asp
8. Flash Me Magazine, http://www.flashme.wingedhalo.com
9. Yellow Mama, http://blackpetalsks.tripob.com/yellowmama/index.html
10. Tales of the Talisman, http://www.talesofthetalisman.com
10. The World of Myth, http://http://www.theworldofmyth.com/
10. Flash Fiction Online, http://flashfictiononline.com




11. Sybil's Garage, http://www.sensesfive.com/sg4.php
11. Ray Gun Revival, http://www.raygunrevival.com/
11. The Lorelei Signal, http://www.loreleisignal.com
11. GUD, http://www.gudmagazine.com/
11. Apollo's Lyre, http://www.apollos-lyre.com
12. Heavy Glow, http://heavyglow.stacytaylor.net/index.php?option=com_frontpage&Itemid=1
12. Dark Recesses, http://darkrecesses.com/
12. Anotherealm, http://anotherealm.com
12. Bewildering Stories, http://http://www.bewilderingstories.com/
12. Future Fire, The, http://futurefire.net/
13. Crime and Suspense, http://www.crimeandsuspense.com
13. Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine (ASIM), http://www.andromedaspaceways.com
13. SpaceWesterns.com, http://www.spacewesterns.com/
13. Dark Gothic, http://www.bloodtouch.com/darkgothicmagazine.htmtp://
14. Khimairal Ink, http://fictionwriting.wordpress.com/
14. Mysterical-e, http://www.mystericale.com/
14. Bare Back Magazine, http://barebackmag.com/
15. Literary Fever, http://www.literaryfever.com/
15. Twilight Times, http://www.twilighttimes.com
15. Sorcerous Signals, http://www.sorceroussignals.com
15. The Sword Review, http://www.theswordreview.com
15. Estronomicon, http://www.screamingdreams.com
16. Niteblade Fantasy and Horror Magazine, http://www.niteblade.com
16. Dragons, Knights, & Angels, http://dkamagazine.com
16. Clean Sheets, http://www.cleansheets.com
16. Paraphernalia, http://www.paranormalromance.org/Paraphernalia.htm
16. Cobblestone Press Quarterly, http://www.cobblestone-press.com/catalog/cpq.htm
16. Shimmer, http://www.shimmerzine.com
16. theroseandthornezine.com, http://www.theroseandthornezine.com
16. Helix SF, http://www.helixsf.com
17. Underground Voices, http://www.undergroundvoices.com/
17. Hub, http://www.hub-mag.co.uk
17. The Fiction Flyer, http://tri-studio.com/ezine.html
17. The Town Drunk, http://www.thetowndrunk.org
17. Oysters and Chocolate, http://www.oystersandchocolate.com/
17. Steel Moon Publishing, http://www.steelmoonpublishing.us
17. The Fifth Di..., http://samsdotpublishing.com/fifth/cover.htm
18. CPQ Magazine, http://www.cobblestone-quarterly.com
18. The Shine Journal
18. Clarkesworld, http://www.clarkesworldmagazine.com/
18. Electric Spec, http://www.electricspec.com
18. Fantasy Magazine, http://www.darkfantasy.org/fantasy/
18. Gryphonwood, http://gryphonwood.blogspot.com
18. WritingAustralia.com eZine, http://www.WritingAustralia.com
18. Word Riot, http://www.wordriot.org/
18. The 13th Warrior Review, http://www.13thwr.org
18. Fear and Trembling, http://www.fearandtrembling.com
18. The Oasis, http://www.lavenderisis.com/oasisonline
18. Mad Hatters' Review, http://www.madhattersreview.com
18. Theaker's Quarterly Fiction, http://www.silveragebooks.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/mag/tqf/tqf.htm
18. 42opus, http://www.42opus.com/
19. New Myths, http://www.newmyths.com
19. Lucrezia Magazine, http://www.lucreziamagazine.com
19. LOST Magazine, http://lostmag.com
19. Dark Gothic , http://www.bloodtouch.com/darkgothicmagazine.htmtp://
19. Whispers of Wickedness, http://www.ookami.co.uk
19. Static Movement, http://www.staticmovement.com
19. Escape Velocity, http://www.escapevelocitymagazine.com
19. FRiGG, http://www.friggmagazine.com/
19. Hobart, http://hobartpulp.com/website
19. Space and Time Magazine, http://www.spaceandtimemagazine.com
19. Afterburn SF, http://www.afterburnsf.com
19. The First Line, http://www.thefirstline.com/index.htm
19. Mysterical E, http://mystericale.com/
19. Jim Baen's Universe, http://www.baensuniverse.com/landing.html
19. Jupiter Magazine, http://www.jupitersf.co.uk
19. Lone Star Stories, http://literary.erictmarin.com
19. Dark Wisdom, http://www.darkwisdom.com
19. Residential Aliens, http://residentialaliens.blogspot.com
19. Jupiter, http://www.jupitersf.co.uk
19. The Sun, http://www.thesunmagazine.org/
19. New Works Review, http://www.new-works.org
19. Aberrant Dreams, http://http://www.hd-image.com/main.htm
19. Digitalis Obscura, http://digitalisobscura.com

DONATIONS

$
[via ►PayPal or: Square]
Very Happy minion   Very Happy minion — last donation was yesterday. A big Thank You! to Bill Leonard, Fran Eisemann, Ed Kratz, and lots of other Critterfolk for their contributions!

Critters is entirely funded by donations from Critterfolk like you, so yours is most appreciated. Click here to make the minions happy. Every dollar helps. Thanks for your support!

COOL BOOK