[The Critter Captain's Tesla FAQ]


Blog

Ahoy, Critterfolk!
New entry Sep 16

Critter Notices

Critters is 25!

This November, Critters is 25 years old! Wow! Thanks so much to all of you, who've made it such a resounding success!

Books from Critters!

Check out Books by Critters for books by your fellow Critterfolk, as well as my list of recommended books for writers.

Space Travel for SF Writers

Hot off the presses from ReAnimus Press! Space Travel - A Science Fiction Writer's Guide— An indispensible tool for all SF writers that explains the science you need to help you make your fiction plausible. (Also via Amazon)

Stayin' Alive

If you want to make a career of SF writing, STAYING ALIVE - A WRITER'S GUIDE by three-time SFWA President Norman Spinrad, published by your Critter Captain's ReAnimus Press, is an indispensable guide to the inside workings of the SF publishing industry by an expert.

Interviewed!

I was interviewed live on public radio for Critters' birthday, for those who want to listen.

Free Web Sites

Free web sites for authors (and others) are available at www.nyx.net.

ReAnimus Acquires Advent!

ReAnimus Press is pleased to announce the acquisition of the legendary Advent Publishers! Advent is now a subsidiary of ReAnimus Press, and we will continue to publish Advent's titles under the Advent name. Advent was founded in 1956 by Earl Kemp and others, and has published the likes of James Blish, Hal Clement, Robert Heinlein, Damon Knight, E.E. "Doc" Smith, and many others. Advent's high quality titles have won and been finalists for several Hugo Awards, such as The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy and Heinlein's Children. Watch this space for ebook and print editions of all of Advent's current titles!

Book Recommendation

THE SIGIL TRILOGY: The universe is dying from within... "Great stuff... Really enjoyed it." — SFWA Grandmaster Michael Moorcock

Announcing ReAnimus Press

If you're looking for great stuff to read from bestselling and award-winning authors—look no further! ReAnimus Press was founded by your very own Critter Captain. (And with a 12% Affiliate program.) [More]

~~~

MORE NEWS & NOTICES >>

CRITTERS STORE >>

 

FEATURED BOOK

~~~

CRITTERS STORE >>

Preditors & Editors Poll results

Preditors & Editors Poll results

2003 Official Results

[Category list]

Standings & #votes for category: Horror Short Stories

1. Acceptable Losses, Simon Wood, Medium Rare Books, http://www.mediumrarebooks.com/
2. Lunchtime at the Justice Cafe, Ken Goldman, Champagne Shivers, http://samsdotpublishing.com/champagne/Lunchtime.html
3. How to Grow a Man-Eating Plant, Michael A. Arnzen, The Eternal Night, http://www.eternalnight.co.uk/fiction/2003f/maneating.html
4. Mr. Greeves, B. A. Booher, Twilight Times, http://www.twilighttimes.com/oct03/b_Booher22.html
5. Moonlight Rendezvous With A Vampire, Marianne LaCroix, Amber Quill Press, http://amberquill.com/
6. Better Watch Out, Ef Deal, Flashshot Daily Genre, http://flashshot.tripod.com/
7. Bewitched, Bothered, and Bewildered, Rie Sheridan, Echelon Press, http://www.echelonpress.com/dollar/Escape/rs-bewitched.htm
7. Nesting, Christopher Fulbright, Hellbound Books, http://www.hellboundbooks.com/
8. 24 Harbinger, Steven L. Shrewsbury, Black Death Books, http://www.khpindustries.com/
9. The Chair Affair, Jade Walker, SmokeLong Quarterly, http://www.smokelong.com/flash.asp?id=72
10. Reign of the Wintergod, Eugie Foster, Prime Books, http://www.primebooks.net/




11. A Mother Scorned, Michele R. Bardsley, Writer's Digest, http://www.writersdigest.com/store/magdisplay.asp?id=WG0204
11. Gifted Trust, John Paul Allen, Biting Dog
12. A Blood Red Moon, Arthur Sanchez, Alien Skin Magazine, http://www.alienskinmag.com/sshedskins.htm
13. Navajo Days, Kathleen S. Allen, The Rose & Thorn, http://www.theroseandthornezine.com/fic61navajo.html
13. Long Live the Queen, Angeline Hawkes-Craig, Femmes De La Brume/Double Dragon Publishing, http://www.double-dragon-ebooks.com/
14. Kiss of the Wolf, Susan Krinard, silouette
14. Twist of Cain, Steven L. Shrewsbury, Cyber-Pulp/Ghostbreakers
15. Parts, Jacqueline Seewald, EOTU Ezine, http://www.clamcity.com/eotu.html
15. Aliens and Satanic Creatures Wanted: Humans Need Not Apply, Tony Ruggiero, Amber Quill Press, http://www.amberquill.com/AliensWanted.html
16. Vodka Through a Straw, Peter Hagelslag, UnWrecked Press, http://www.sff.net/people/michaeljasper/intracities.htm
17. Wisp, Shawn P. Madison, Whispers Of Wickedness, http://www.ookami.co.uk/
18. Fair Weather Enemies, Stephen D. Rogers, SDO Fantasy, http://sintrigue.org/fantasy/archives/0203/fiction/02.html
18. Daddy's Little Girl, R. Michael Burns, DNA Publications, http://www.dnapublications.com/
18. Favors, Megan Powell, The Blackest Death Vol. 1 (Black Death Books), http://www.khpindustries.com/
18. Taghairm Close, R. Michael Burns, Extremes 5/Lone Wolf Publications, http://www.lonewolfpubs.com/
18. Shadow of a Dog, Steve Redwood, Whispers of Wickedness, http://www.ookami.co.uk/
19. Call Me, Gary McMahon, Whispers Of Wickedness, http://www.ookami.co.uk/
19. Prisoner 392, Jon F. Merz, Borderlands Press, http://www.borderlandspress.com/
19. On the Road to Sorrow Street, Chesya Burke, Horrorfind, http://horrorfind.com/
19. This Isn't A Vampire Story, Spencer Allen, Horrorfind.com, http://www.horrorfind.com/
19. Right to Remain, Megan Hart, AmberQuill Press, http://www.amberquill.com/
20. Gothic Passions, Jordan Summers, Elloras Cave, http://www.ellorascave.com/
20. Malevolence, Steven L. Shrewsbury, House of Pain, http://www.house-of-pain.com/
20. The Aperture of God's Eye, Walt Hicks, Hellbound Books, http://www.hellboundbooks.com/
20. 2 One of Those Weeks, Bev Vincent, Borderlands Press, http://www.borderlandspress.com/
20. The Smell of Leaves Burning in Winter, Weston Ochse, Medium Rare Books, http://www.mediumrarebooks.com/
20. Mr. Jitterbones, A.P. Fuchs, Cyber-Pulp/Free Halloween Anthology 2.0, http://www.apfuchs.com/
20. Cerebral Recycler, Tony Ruggiero in Aliens & Satanic Creatures anthology by Tony Ruggiero, Amber Quill Press, http://www.amberquill.com/
20. 'TRIP' screenplay excerpts, R.J. Cavender, Horror Library Press, http://www.horrorlibrary.net/
20. Flower Girl, Debbie Kuhn, Dark Moon Rising, http://darkmoonrising.com/
21. Gifted Trust , John Paul Allen, Biting Dog , http://
21. The Litter, Chuck Petrie, AlienSkin Magazine, http://www.alienskinmag.com/wwinnersent.htm
21. The Universal Language of Silence, Forrest Aguirre, Infinity Plus, http://www.infinityplus.co.uk/stories/universallanguage.htm
21. The Jerusalem Theatre, Lavie Tidhar, HellBound Books, http://www.hellboundbooks.com/deathgrip_legacy.html
21. Return on the Downward Road, Sonya Taaffe, Wicked Hollow, http://blindside.net/WickedHollow
21. Unhinged, Keith Gouveia, Thirteen Stories, http://www.thirteenstories.com/MAIN.html
21. Bay, David Erik Nelson, Lady Churchill's Rosebud Wristlet, http://
21. The Johnson's House, Jonah Lissner, Lissner Publishing, http://thebestpulpfiction.com/stso/id117.html
21. Excerpts from Fisher of Devils, Steve Redwood, Whispers of Wickedness, http://www.ookami.co.uk/html/fisher_excerpts.html
21. Light Bearer, Steven L. Shrewsbury, Cyber-Pulp, http://
21. Old Virginia, Laird Barron, Fantasy & Science Fiction, http://
21. Eternal Grief, Marcelo Hipolito and Marcelo Machado, Planet Magazine, http://www.planetmag.com/pm39/eternal.html
21. English 101, Roger A. Jurack, Nocturnal Ooze Magazine, http://nocturnalooze.com/
21. Dying Of The Light, CN Pitts, Anotherealm, http://anotherealm.com/flash/2003/light.html
21. Whispers Of Eternity, Brian M Wood, House Of Pain, http://www.house-of-pain.com/fiction34.html
21. Blood Codes, Horns, HellBound Books, http://www.hellboundbooks.com/
21. 1 A Summer's Night Rain, David Bowlin, SDO FANTASY, http://sintrigue.org/fantasy/archives/0203/index.html
21. A Cure For Baldness, M. Louis Dixon, Horror Library, http://www.horrorlibrary.net/
21. Intimate Strangers, Abigail Friedman, Fables, http://www.fables.org/winter03/strangers.html
21. With the Dammed, Richard Lee, Skybre Press, http://scrybepress.com/
21. Caskets, William Bolen, Alien Skin Magazine, http://www.alienskinmag.com/sshedskins.htm
21. 1 Scorned Hearts, Kay Patterson, Terror Tales, http://www.terrortales.org/fiction/scornedhearts.asp
21. Don't Look Behind You, S. J. Hinton, CyberPulp/Ghostbreakers, http://
21. Prisoner, Elizabeth Blue, Nocturnal Ooze, http://www.nocturnalooze.com/
21. The Necklace, Josie A. Okuly, The Harrow, http://www.theharrow.com/


DONATIONS

$
[via ►PayPal or: Square]
Happy minion   Happy minion — last donation was recent. A big Thank You! to Laura Engelhardt, Bill Leonard, Roger Hetchler, and lots of other Critterfolk for their contributions!

Critters is entirely funded by donations from Critterfolk like you, so yours is most appreciated. Click here to make the minions happy. Every dollar helps. Thanks for your support!

COOL BOOK