Blog

Ahoy, Critterfolk!
New entry Nov 01

Critter Notices

Critters is 21!

Yes, 21 years ago Critters was born. Wow! Thanks so much to all of you, who've made it such a resounding success!

Books from Critters!

Check out Books by Critters for books by your fellow Critterfolk, as well as my list of recommended books for writers.

Space Travel for SF Writers

Hot off the presses from ReAnimus Press! Space Travel - A Science Fiction Writer's Guide— An indispensible tool for all SF writers that explains the science you need to help you make your fiction plausible. (Also via Amazon)

The Sigil Trilogy

If you're looking for an amazing, WOW! science fiction story, check out THE SIGIL TRILOGY. This is — literally — one of the best science fiction novels I've ever read.

P&E Seeks New Caretaker

Unfortunately, much of the data on the P&E site has become stale and outdated, and needs a new caretaker with the time required to update the site. The listings are being removed until they can be updated by a new caretaker.

Note that the P&E/Critters Annual Readers Poll will run as usual in January.

If you are interested in taking the reins of P&E, and possess what's needed — at least 20hrs/week to volunteer, excellent investigative skills, in-depth knowledge of the publishing industry, ability to detect scams from not-scams, thick skin, good web site skills, good writing ability — please get in touch. Thanks for your interest!

Interviewed!

I'm being interviewed live on public radio for Critters 20th birthday. For those who want to listen, it's on the 10am (Mountain time) show on Thursday, 11/19/16, on Colorado Public Radio - www.cpr.org has streaming on the site or it's 90.1 FM in the Denver area. [Interview is done, you can listen on the site]

Free Web Sites

Free web sites for authors (and others) are available at www.nyx.net.

ReAnimus Acquires Advent!

ReAnimus Press is pleased to announce the acquisition of the legendary Advent Publishers! Advent is now a subsidiary of ReAnimus Press, and we will continue to publish Advent's titles under the Advent name. Advent was founded in 1956 by Earl Kemp and others, and has published the likes of James Blish, Hal Clement, Robert Heinlein, Damon Knight, E.E. "Doc" Smith, and many others. Advent's high quality titles have won and been finalists for several Hugo Awards, such as The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy and Heinlein's Children. Watch this space for ebook and print editions of all of Advent's current titles!

Network speeding up

I'm switching the connection over to a new, shiny 10X faster network because of all the load. There might be bits of downtime as your boxes learn new addresses and things. Should be brief. Let me know of any prolonged outages you see.

Preditors & Editors Changeover

With the very sad passing of Dave Kuzminski, who ran P&E, I've taken over the P&E duties. Lots of what I hope are improvements; check it out at pred-ed.com.

Critters Server is Dying has been Replaced

See important details here in my blog. Let me know if you find anything that isn't working right. (Manuscripts are now available for this week, FYI.)

Book Recommendation

THE SIGIL TRILOGY: The universe is dying from within... "Great stuff... Really enjoyed it." — SFWA Grandmaster Michael Moorcock

Announcing ReAnimus Press

If you need help making ebooks from manuscripts or print copies—or finding great stuff to read—look no further! An ebook publisher started by your very own Critter Captain. (And with a 12% Affiliate program.) [More]

~~~

MORE NEWS & NOTICES >>

CRITTERS STORE >>

 

FEATURED BOOK

~~~

CRITTERS STORE >>

Preditors & Editors Poll results

Preditors & Editors Poll results

2003 Official Results

[Category list]

Standings & #votes for category: All other Novels

1. Rough As A Cob: More Of The Juliette Journals, Ed Williams, River City Publishing, http://www.rivercitypublishing.com/
2. Rose of York: Love and War, Sandra Worth, Metropolis Ink, http://www.metropolisink.com/
3. Jacobs Faith, Lora Leigh, Elloras Cave, http://www.loraleigh.com/
4. Ride to Raton, Marsha Ward, iUniverse, http://iuniverse.com/
5. Management By Running In Circles, M. Ronald Smith, Winterwolf Publishing, http://www.winterwolfpublishing.com/
5. The Plot, Kathleen Lamarche, Echelon Press, http://www.echelonpress.com/
6. Nyx, Tyree Campbell, Sam's Dot Publishing, http://www.samsdotpublishing.com/purchasecenter.htm
7. Murder in Marshall's Bayou, S. H. Baker, Zumaya Publications, http://www.sarahstorme.com/
8. Son of The Storm, Rob McCubbin, NovelBooks Inc, http://www.novelbooksinc.com/
9. blackout, betty sullivan lapierre, synergebooks, www.synergebooks
10. Death Warmed Over--Coming Soon, Cindy Daniel, Quiet Storm Publishing, http://www.quietstormpublishing.com/




11. Life is a Toilet Bowl and I Clean Them, Ginger Simpson, Publish America, http://www.gingersimpson.com/
11. 19 ADRIFT, Susan R. Sweet, Wings ePress, http://www.susanrsweet.com/
12. Black Rosebud: Have No Mercy II, Bobby and Kam Ruble, Global Authors Publications, http://www.globalauthorspublications/
12. Men Get Pregnant, Too, S. L. Carpenter, Whiskey Creek Press, http://whiskeycreekpress.com/MenGetPreg.htm
13. Between Earth and Eternity, Margaret Marr, Treble Heart Books, http://www.trebleheartbooks.com/
14. Dark Dreams (anthology), Dominique Adair, et al, Ellora's Cave, http://www.ellorascave.com/
15. Atrocitas Aqua, David Bowlin, Editor, Double Dragon Publishing, http://www.double-dragon-ebooks.com/
16. Bonds of Passion, Desiree Erotique, eXtasy, http://www.extasybooks.com/
16. Dance With the Devil, Sherrilyn Kenyon, St. Martins Press
17. To Sculpt a Living Statue, Tal Boldo, Books Unbound, http://www.booksunbound.com/bsls.html
17. The Alley of Wishes, Laurel Johnson, Dandelion Books, http://www.dandelionbooks.net/
17. 10 SisterWife, Natalie R Collins, Booklocker, http://www.booklocker.com/
18. Beyond the Lies, Carolyn Russell, Wings-ePress, http://wings-epress.com/
18. The Rose of York: Love & War, Sandra Worth, Metropolis Ink, http://www.metropolisink.com/
18. Cemetery Poets: Grave Offerings, Peggy Jo Shumate (Brutal Dreamer), Editor, Double Dragon Publishing, http://www.double-dragon-ebooks.com/
19. The Very Virile Viking, Sandra Hill, Dorchester Pub, http://www.dorchesterpub.com/
19. So Your Muse Has Gone AWOL?, Johnson & Soard, Echelon Press, http://www.echelonpress.com/
19. Chasing Demons, Christy Tillery French, Mystery and Suspense Press, http://christyfrench.com/
19. The Da Vinci Code, Dan Brown, Doubleday, http://www.danbrown.com/novels/davinci_code/reviews.html
19. Nicolo's Gifts, Neil Ayres, bluechrome, http://www.bluechrome.co.uk/
20. Promise & Honor, Kim Murphy, Coachlight Press, http://coachlightpress.com/
20. The Firebrand, Debra A. Kemp, Amber Quill, http://amberquill.com/
20. Scorch, Master Nage, eXtasy Books, http://www.extasybooks.com/
20. Rose of York, Sandra Worth, End Table Books
20. The Governess, M. S. Valentine, Blue Moon
21. Murder in Metropolis, Lonnie Cruse, Quiet Storm Publishing, http://quietstormpublishing.com/
21. Dark Lullaby, Staci Layne Wilson, Amber Quill Press, http://amberquill.com/
21. Wives and Lovers, Lynne den Hartog, Amatory Ink, http://www.amatory-ink.co.u/shop/system/index.html
21. Remy O'Shea, Tricia McGill, Jacobyte Books, http://www.jacobytebooks.com/
21. Lighthearted Lust, Davidson, Bardsley, and Tanglen, Ellora's Cave, http://www.ellorascave.com/
22. Saints Preserve Us, Kathryn Lively, Wings Press, http://www.wings-press.com/
22. The Cracking of Deacon's Bench, Tamara Lea Hoyt, Twilight Times Books, http://www.twilighttimesbooks.com/
22. Mating Season: Moon Lust III, Sherri L. King, elloras cave, http://www.ellorascave.com/
22. LEGACY 2006: INTEGRITY, Yocheved Golani, BookLocker, http://www.booklocker.com/books/1357.html
22. The Dragons of Manhattan, John Grant, Blue Ear, http://www.blueear.com/
22. Sometimes There's A Dove, Cynthia Ward, Twilight Times Books, http://twilighttimesbooks.com/Dove_ch1.html
22. The Little Mornings, C.M. Albrecht, Zumaya Publications, http://www.zumaya.com/
22. Write, Create & Promote a Best Seller, Lee Masterson, Desert Star Publishing, http://www.fictionfactor.com/order.html
22. Imitation in deatk, J. D. Robb, putnam
23. Polka Dots And Moonbeams, Kay LeGrand, Wings ePress
23. The Star Princess, Susan Grant, Dorchester Love Spell, http://http://www.dorchesterpub.com/
23. Fatal Fortune, Elizabeth Delisi, NovelBooks, Inc., http://www.novelbooksinc.com/
23. Cashing In, Larry Sager, Winterwolf Publishing, http://www.winterwolfpublishing.com/
23. LogOut, J. L. Hansen, Hard Shell Word Factory, http://www.hardshell.com/
23. Jivaro Kill, Robert L. Hecker, Double Dragon Publishing, http://double-dragon-ebooks.com/
24. Legacy of Prator: Cursed, Annie Windsor, Ellora's Cave, http://www.ellorascave.com/
24. The Four Bubbas of the Apocalypse, Anthology, Yard Dog Press, http://www.yarddogpress.com/
24. Covenants, Barbara T. Karmazin, Atlantic Bridge, http://www.atlanticbridge.net/
24. 3 Heroes in the Dust, Jennifer Macaire, Jacobyte Books, http://www.jacobytebooks.com/
24. Whi;psaw, Robert L. Hecker, Hard Shell Word Factory, http://hardshell.com/
24. Liar's Trail, C. K. Crigger, Amberquill Press
24. Deceitful Hags, Celia A. Leaman, Twilight Times Books, http://www.twilighttimesbooks.com/
24. Redemption, Morgan J. Blake, Novel Books, Inc., http://www.novelbooksinc.com/
25. Rising From The Ashes, Michael LaRocca, Novel Books, Inc., http://www.novelbooksinc.com/
25. Deadly Duos #1, Edna Curry, Hard Shell Word Factory, http://www.hardshell.com/
25. Blind-Sided, Monette Michaels and Janet Ferran, Mundania Press LLC, http://www.mundania.com/
25. Listen to the Ghost, Beverly Stowe McClure, Twilight Times Books, http://www.twilighttimesbooks.com/Ghost_ch1.html
25. Ocean Fairies, Wendy Maree Peterson, Twilight Times Books, http://www.twilighttimesbooks.com/OceanFairies.html
25. Blue Water Adventure, Rick Magers, Grizzly Bookz Publishing
25. The Hell Screen, I.J. Parker, St. Martins Press
25. Two Minutes To Midnight, M. Ray Lott, Winterwolf Publishing, http://www.winterwolfpublishing.com/
25. THE JOURNALIST, G.L.ROCKEY, ZUMAYA, http://www.zumayapublications.com/
25. 'Aftermath 1', James Graves, Jr., Crystal Dreams, http://www.crystaldreamspub.com/bios/authors/F-J/graves_j.htm
25. Christian On Top, J. Crispin-Ripley, Double Dragon Publishing, http://www.double-dragon-ebooks.com/
25. Die Like A Dog, Fran Keighley, Wings ePress, http://
25. Summer's Child, Sherry Derr-Wille, Whiskey Creek Press, http://www/,creekpress.com
25. The Mayan Glyph, Larry Baxter, Amber Quill Press, http://www.amberquill.com/
25. From Dust and Ashes, Tricia Goyer, Moody Publishers, http://www.moodypress.org/catalog.php?action=view_product&id=1069
26. Angelica, Jude Berman, Books Unbound, http://www.booksunbound.com/bsang.html
26. In The Crossfire, L. R. Bliss, Awe-Struck E Publishing, http://www.awe-struck.net/
26. The Best Defense, Todd Stone, NovelBooks, Inc., http://novelbooksinc.com/
26. Death on Delivery, Anne K. Edwards, Twilight Times Books, http://www.twilighttimesbooks.com/DeathonDelivery_ch1.html
26. Never Let Me Go, Joan M. Fox, Wings E Press, http://www.wings_press.com/
26. The Gore Experiment, H Jay Scheuermann, Twenty-First Century Publishers, http://www.twentyfirstcenturypublishers.com/index.asp?PageID=407
26. Counselor at Large , Lee Emory, Treble Heart Books, http://www.trebleheartbooks.com/
26. May the Best Man Die, Deborah Donnelly, Bantam Dell, http://www.deborahdonnelly.org/
26. To Capture an Eagle, W. J. Calabrese, Wings ePress, http://www.wingsepress.com/
26. Blood Is the Sky, Steve Hamilton, Minotaur Books, http://www.minotaurbooks.com/
26. M.P., John R. Schembra, Writers Exchange Epublishing, http://writers-exchange.com/
26. rough as a cop, juliet journals, http://
26. Delicate Hearts, E. L. Kingsley, ArtemisPress, http://www.artemispress.com/
26. Gargoyle Tears, JV Harlee, Tarbutton Press, http://www.tarbuttonpress.com/
26. 1 Mary's Child, Celia A. Leaman, Twilight Times Books, http://twilighttimesbooks.com/MarysChild_ch1.html
26. True Blue Forever, Joyce Scarbrough, Publish America, http://www.publishamerica.com/
26. 1 Author's Personal Introduction - Night of the Double Moon, Sarah Jane Singer, Computer Classics (R), http://computer-classics.com/
26. The Bodies Out Back, Joseph E. Wright, Books Unbound, http://www.metropolisink.com/wright/wrecktory/index.htm
26. Delicate Fears, E. L. Kingsley, ArtemisPress, http://www.artemispress.com/
26. The Dynamiter, Fanny Stevenson, Dungan Books, http://www.fdungan.com/publish.htm
26. Settling In Nazareth, Sandy DeLuca, December Girl Press/Delirum, http://decembergirlpress.com/
26. Triple Threat, Elizabeth Dearl, NBI, http://novelbooksinc.com/
26. Immoral Authority, Robert W Smith, Echelon Press, http://echelonpress.com/
26. Skul dance , Gerd Balke, Novel Books, http://
26. Faith In Love, Liann Snow, ArtemisPress, http://www.artemispress.com/
26. Privacy, Gini Wilson, Wings Press, http://wingspress.com/
26. The Glass Rose, Pamela Waller, Oak Tree Publishing, http://www.oaktreebooks.com/


DONATIONS

$
[via ►PayPal or: Square]
Happy minion   Happy minion — last donation was 4 days ago. About $600 to go. A big Thank You! to John Carr-Shanahan, john griffin, Roy Booth, and lots of other Critterfolk for their contributions!

Critters is entirely funded by donations from Critterfolk like you, so yours is most appreciated. Click here to make the minions happy. Every dollar helps. Thanks for your support!

COOL BOOK