Blog

Ahoy, Critterfolk!
New entry Dec 07

Critter Notices

Critters is 22!

Yes, 21 years ago Critters was born. Wow! Thanks so much to all of you, who've made it such a resounding success!

Books from Critters!

Check out Books by Critters for books by your fellow Critterfolk, as well as my list of recommended books for writers.

The Sigil Trilogy

If you're looking for an amazing, WOW! science fiction story, check out THE SIGIL TRILOGY. This is — literally — one of the best science fiction novels I've ever read.

How to Write SF

The Craft of Writing Science Fiction that Sells by Ben Bova, best-selling author and six-time Hugo Award winner for Best Editor. (This is one of the books your ol' Critter Captain learned from himself, and I highly recommend it.) (Also via Amazon)

P&E Seeks New Caretaker

Unfortunately, much of the data on the P&E site has become stale and outdated, and needs a new caretaker with the time required to update the site. The listings are being removed until they can be updated by a new caretaker.

Note that the P&E/Critters Annual Readers Poll will run as usual in January.

If you are interested in taking the reins of P&E, and possess what's needed — at least 20hrs/week to volunteer, excellent investigative skills, in-depth knowledge of the publishing industry, ability to detect scams from not-scams, thick skin, good web site skills, good writing ability — please get in touch. Thanks for your interest!

Interviewed!

I'm being interviewed live on public radio for Critters 20th birthday. For those who want to listen, it's on the 10am (Mountain time) show on Thursday, 11/19/16, on Colorado Public Radio - www.cpr.org has streaming on the site or it's 90.1 FM in the Denver area. [Interview is done, you can listen on the site]

Free Web Sites

Free web sites for authors (and others) are available at www.nyx.net.

ReAnimus Acquires Advent!

ReAnimus Press is pleased to announce the acquisition of the legendary Advent Publishers! Advent is now a subsidiary of ReAnimus Press, and we will continue to publish Advent's titles under the Advent name. Advent was founded in 1956 by Earl Kemp and others, and has published the likes of James Blish, Hal Clement, Robert Heinlein, Damon Knight, E.E. "Doc" Smith, and many others. Advent's high quality titles have won and been finalists for several Hugo Awards, such as The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy and Heinlein's Children. Watch this space for ebook and print editions of all of Advent's current titles!

Network speeding up

I'm switching the connection over to a new, shiny 10X faster network because of all the load. There might be bits of downtime as your boxes learn new addresses and things. Should be brief. Let me know of any prolonged outages you see.

Preditors & Editors Changeover

With the very sad passing of Dave Kuzminski, who ran P&E, I've taken over the P&E duties. Lots of what I hope are improvements; check it out at pred-ed.com.

Critters Server is Dying has been Replaced

See important details here in my blog. Let me know if you find anything that isn't working right. (Manuscripts are now available for this week, FYI.)

Book Recommendation

THE SIGIL TRILOGY: The universe is dying from within... "Great stuff... Really enjoyed it." — SFWA Grandmaster Michael Moorcock

Announcing ReAnimus Press

If you need help making ebooks from manuscripts or print copies—or finding great stuff to read—look no further! An ebook publisher started by your very own Critter Captain. (And with a 12% Affiliate program.) [More]

~~~

MORE NEWS & NOTICES >>

CRITTERS STORE >>

 

FEATURED BOOK

~~~

CRITTERS STORE >>

Preditors & Editors Poll results

Preditors & Editors Poll results

2000 Official Results

[Category list]

Standings for category: Authors

1. Ed Williams, http://www.southerncharmpress.com/ed.html
2. Frank Fradella, http://www.cyberageadventures.com/
3. Lori Soard, http://www.lorisoard.com/
4. Pepper Raines, http://members.aol.com/AmazingAuthors/index.html
5. Stephen King, http://www.stephenking.com/
6. Susannah Indigo, http://www.susannahindigo.com/
7. Jim Farris, http://www.fictionforest.com/featured_authors/jfarris/index.html
8. Atk. Butterfly, http://pages.prodigy.net/atkbutterfly
9. Lisa DuMond, http://www.hikeeba.com/
10. Baxley, Jon, http://carolinanavy.com/navy/creativewriting/baxley/redflags.html




11. Linda Opdyke, http://www.geocities.com/SoHo/Village/9387
12. Daisy Dexter Dobbs, http://members.home.net/daisydexdobbs/
13. Steve Lazarowitz, http://www.dream-sequence.net/
14. Harry Buschman, http://www.writershood.com/
15. Kammy Bonias, http://theshadowmatrix.com/outlaw/
16. Jean Goldstrom, http://electricpublishing.com/
17. R.A. Cox, http://skinchanger.com/
18. 36 Joan Bramsch, http://joanbramsch.com/
19. J.C. Wilder, http://www.jcwilder.com/
20. Daniel J. Bishop, http://home.inforamp.net/~crowking
21. Patricia Lucas White, http://www.patriciawhite.net/
22. Linda Bleser, http://www.bleser.com/linda
22. Ken Goldman, http://www.ravenelectrick.com/ssraven/fatchance.html
22. 20 Dee Lloyd, http://www.deelloyd.com/
23. Megan Sybil Baker, http://members.home.net/themurderhole/rara_avis_1.htm
24. 18 Bonnie Napoli, http://www.bonnienapoli.com/
24. Edward Stack, http://www.edwardstack.com/
24. Joyce and Jim Lavene, http://joyceandjimlavene.com/
25. Howard Hopkins, http://members.aol.com/Hhopk15447/page1.htm
25. LIDDY MIDNIGHT, http://www.dreams-unlimited.com/authors/liddymidnight.htm
26. Jennifer L. B. Leese, http://www.geocities.com/ladyjiraff
26. Caleb Monroe
26. Brian A. Hopkins, http://bahwolf.com/
26. Angela Giles Klocke, http://www.klockepresents.com/
26. Sharon L Reddy, http://www.talespinner.net/
27. Kate Saundby, http://www.nublis.com/
27. Trace Edward Zaber, http://www.angelfire.com/il/talesblueandgray
28. Jeff Strand, http://members.aol.com/jeffstrand/
28. Karen L. Williams, http://spotlighters.com/williams.html
28. A.J. Russo, http://www.hypertechmedia.com/
28. Jonathan Lyons, http://domhanbooks/burn.htm
29. Denise Gasta, http://www.writers-exchange.com/epublishing/authors/denise-gasta/denise.htm
29. Xina Marie Uhl, http://www.xcpublishing.com/xinamarieuhl.htm
29. Andy J W Davie, http://electric-bookworm.bigstep.com/
29. James Ignizio, http://www.geocties.com/goneawry25
29. Tom Waltz, http://www.cyberageadventures.com/
29. Debra Lee, http://www.debralee.net/
29. Karen Wiesner, http://karenwiesner.hypermart.net/
30. Jonathan Fesmire, http://www.jonathanfesmire.com/
30. Robin Bayne, http://nbayne.com/child.htm
30. Jude Morris, http://www.thewisdomkeeper.com/ebooks.html
31. Dancing Bear, http://www.disquietingmuses.com/nov00/seriously.html
31. 10 Laraine Anne Barker, http://lbarker.orcon.net.nz/
31. Tippi N. Blevins, http://www.sff.net/people/tippi
31. Maureen McMahon, http://moonspinners.homestead.com/
31. L. Joseph Shosty
32. Patrick Welch, http://crossroadspub.com/
32. Brian Freeman, http://www.brianfreeman.com/
32. H. David Blalock, http://www.geocities.com/jarlthran
33. Bill Purcell, http://billpurcell.com/
33. 8 Mary Alice Baumgardner
33. George R. R. Martin, http://www.georgerrmartin.com/
33. James Van Pelt, http://www.sff.net/people/james.van.pelt/
33. Connie Wilkins, http://www.electricwine.com/connie
33. MaryJanice Davidson, http://www.usinternet.com/users/alongi/index.html
34. Ahmed A. Khan
34. Michael Vaughn, http://www.deadendstreet.com/v2.html
34. James Stevens-Arce, http://www.stevens-arce.com/
34. Jason K. Chapman, http://www.jasonkchapman.com/
34. Megan Powell, http://www.m3ip.org/~mhpm
34. Linda Pendleton, http://www.mystic-ink.com/l-pendleton
35. Marilynn Byerly, http://marilynnbyerly.com/
35. Christina Crooks, http://www.christinacrooks.com/
35. Mary E. Tyler, http://www.dejahsprivateice.com/PIshop/OTE_order.php3
35. 6 Dayle A. Dermatis, http://www.eggplantproductions.com/
35. Tabatha Yeatts, http://www.eclectics.com/tabathayeatts/
35. J Hal Forbes, http://www.fictionforest.com/featured_authors/jhalforbes/index.html
35. Sorcha MacMurrough, http://www.sorchamacmurrough.com/
35. Kathy Williams, http://www.southerncharmpress.com/
35. Judith B Glad, http://www.awe-struck.net/
35. Janet Evanovich, http://www.evanovich.com/
35. Karen E. Taylor, http://www.sff.net/people/karentaylor/temporary/index.html
36. Danielle Naibert, http://
36. 5 Sean Taylor, http://http://seanhtaylor.net
36. Robert Jordan, http://
36. Michael Laimo, http://www.laimo.com/
36. H.J. Tomlinson, http://www.ratlady.co.uk/
36. Eric Heise, http://www.writersmarch.com/
36. Valerie Hardin, http://www.geocities.com/Paris/LeftBank/4266
36. Vanna Bonta, http:/members.aol.com/airaflight
36. Ariana Overton, http://www.angelfire.com/ms/ariana
36. Lincoln Bruce, http://promartian.com/goatherds.htm
36. Denise Agnew, http://www.hardshell.com/
36. Chuck Kelly, http://www.wordwrangler.com/
36. Judith B. Glad, http://www.book-on-disk.com/
36. Joe Zeff, http://www.gateway-sf-magazine.com/
36. Michael Gallant, http://www.quantummuse.com/
36. Michael Jasper, http://www.michaeljasper.net/
36. Stephen D. Rogers, http://www.stephendrogers.com/
37. Diana Kirk, http://www.eclectics.com/dianakirk
37. Laurance Pearsongreer, http://www.geocities.com/wanageshik/Crossroads_Authors_Page.html
37. 4 Ellen Anthony, http://www.planetsyra.com/
37. Coke Brown Jr., http://www.wordwrangler.com/cokebrownjr.html
37. Shane Mayer, http://www.athinapublishing.com/authors/mayer.htm
37. Sheryl Ellis, http://www.geocities.com/wanageshik/Crossroads_Authors_Page.html
37. Robert Segarra, http://hometown.aol.com/brooklynboy59/index.html
37. Don Edrington, http://www.wordwrangler.com/donedrington.html
38. Matthew J. Pallamary, http://www.mystic-ink.com/m-pallamary/home.html
38. Calley Moore, http://www.geocities.com/calleymooremysteries
38. Terry Campbell, http://www.terrycampbell.com/
38. elizabeth burton, http://www.blueirisjournal.com/
38. Kieran Piacenti, http://www.whenyouwrite.com/
38. Tracy Cooper-Posey, http://www.sashaproductions.com/
38. Deanna Padilla, http://www.starlightwriters.com/
38. Sage Vivant, http://www.customeroticasource.com/
38. Stephen Crane Davidson, http://%20www.condhrui.com/
38. Leta Nolan Childers, http://www.letachilders.com/
38. Joan Hall Hovey, http://www.joanhallhovey.com/
38. Rosa Turner Knapp, http://www.romfort.org/Knapp.html
38. Charlotte 'Charlee' Boyett-Compo, http://www.windlegends.com/
38. Susan C. Yarina, http://www.geocities.com/Paris/Maison/3676/
38. Patricia A. Rasey, http://www13.brinkster.com/Rasey
38. Denise A. Agnew
38. Tony Ruggiero, http://
38. 3 Elsan H. Stafford, http://www.virtualbookworm.com/vbookgd.html
38. Christine Spindler, http://www.christinespindler.com/
38. Justin Stanchfield, http://www.sff.net/people/justinvs/
38. C.E. Chaffin, http://www.melicreview.com/
38. Tracy Jones, http://www.scican.net/~ptjones/bio.html
39. Michael Caron, http://www.charmwrite.com/
39. Jason Hodges, http://members.aol.com/JHodges611/me.html
39. David Niall Wilson, http://www.chateauxshadeaux.com/
39. Michelle Smith, http://http://hometown.aol.com/mosha4/page1.html
39. K.G. McAbee, http://www.geocities.com/SoHo/Bistro/5200/
39. Carolee Joy, http://www.caroleejoy.com/
39. Bonnie Drury, http://www.angelfire.com/ca3/bonnibooks
39. Tom Williams
39. Karen McCullough, http://www.writerspace.com/karenmccullough
39. Maryann Miller, http://members.aol.com/mcm0704/index.html
39. Tod Goldberg, http://www.fakeliarcheat.com/
39. Deanne Devine, http://www.lost-hunters.com/
39. E. Catherine Tobler, http://www.purplepens.com/absolut/
39. Douglas Clegg, http://www.ehaunting.com/
39. Michele R. Bardsley, http://www.michelebardsley.com/
39. Gracie McKeever, http://www.paintedrock.com/authors/mckeever/mckeever.htm
39. D.G. LaGraff, http://www.wordbeams.com/
39. Steve Hallberg, http://www.ogleby.com/
39. Nick Aires
39. Steven E. Wedel, http://www.geocities.com/moon_howler
39. Lisa Shea, http://www.failbetter.com/
39. Beth Bernobich, http://www.mirror.org/people/beth.bernobich
39. Lad Moore, http://
39. Pam Thibodeaux, http://www.writers-exchange.com/epublishing/authors/pam/pam.htm
39. Liz Burton, http://
39. 2 Harry Gersteneker, http://www.ebooksonthe.net/
39. Jackie Kramer, http://westwood.fortunecity.com/ghost/644
40. Michael Kelly, http://www.pathcom.com/~mikelly
40. Cindy Vallar, http://www.cindyvallar.com/
40. Louise Klement, http://louiseklement.homestead.com/
40. Andy Duncan, http://
40. Ima Potter, http://www.indypublish.com/
40. Katriena Knights, http://
40. 1 Rickey R. Mallory, http://personal.lig.bellsouth.net/lig/m/a/mallory3/serious.html
40. Chrisi Darrington, http://www.netwoozy.com/
40. Kim Guilbeau, http://www.redrival.com/kim
40. Jay R. Kohut, http://members.gcnet.net/lkohut/crete.htm
40. Alexander Wilson, http://www.kartania.com/
40. Lois Carroll, http://folksites.com/Lois-Carroll
40. N.C. Anderson, http://nancanderson.romance-central.com/
40. Sean Russell, http://
40. Martine Jardin, http://www.clocktowerbooks.com/
40. Joan Mullally, http://
40. Mary Adair, http://www.awe-struck.net/
40. Charlotte 'Charlee' Boyett-Compo, http://www.windlegends.com/
40. K. Bird Lincoln, http://
40. 1 Jamon Walker, http://www.mystic-ink.com/publishing/j-walker
40. Lyn McConchie, http://dragonlaugh.freeyellow.com/08001.htm
40. Christopher E. Meadows, http://www.themestream.com/articles/151255.html/
40. Jay Arr Henderson, http://
40. Sean Brown, http://members.fortunecity.com/regentbooks/RPindex.html
40. Mel Savoie, http://www.melsavoie.com/
40. Natalie J. Damschroder, http://www.nataliedamschroder.com/
40. Julie H. Ferguson, http://www.crossroadspub.com/
40. Ari McKee, http://arimckee.iwarp.com/
40. N. D. Hansen-Hill, http://www.clocktowerbooks.com/
40. douglas lain, http://douglain.tripod.com/whoishe.html
40. Michelle T. Carroll, http://http://www.crossroadspub.com/InvisTrn.htm
40. Beth Austin, http://www.themestream.com/gspd_browse/author/view_author_info.gsp?auth_id=510939
40. Judy Bagshaw, http://homepage.altavista.com/romancewriter/homepage.html
40. T. Suzanne Eller, http://www.intellex.com/~eller/tseller.html
40. Marion Marshall, http://www.eclectics.com/marionmarshall
40. Eric Paul Shaffer, http://www.leapingdogpress.com/
40. Cherie Singer, http://www.hardshell.com/
40. Shari Gerson, http://www.athinapublishing.com/gerson.htm
40. Jenna Glatzer, http://www.absolutewrite.com/
40. A S Byatt, http://
40. Jon Guenther, http://www.mystic-ink.com/j-guenther
40. Leronia Rawls, http://hometown.aol.com/emaxximan/myhomepage/business.html
40. ellshoff, http://www.ellishoff.com/
40. Janssen, Christine, http://members.aol.com/christinejanssen
40. Leah Marie Brown, http://www.leahmariebrown.com/
40. Lee Eide, http://www.galaxymall.com/retail/eternity/darkness.html
40. Stephen Almekinder, http://
40. Fiona Avery, http://www.sff.net/people/fiona-avery/
40. Tricia McGill, http://www.angelfire.com/pa3/triciamc
40. Lissa Michaels, http://lissamichaels.com/
40. William Sanders, http://www.sff.net/people/sanders/
40. Bonnie Hamre, http://www.bonniehamre.com/
40. D. Paul MacIntsoain, http://book-on-disc.com/liberty.htm
40. Kyle Looby, http://http://www.allthewritemoves.com
40. Kieran Piacenit, http://www.whenyouwrite.com/
40. Pauline Baird Jones, http://www.paulinebjones.com/
40. T.L. Schaffer, http://www.geocities.com/terrischaffer
40. T.M. Gray, http://www.horrorseek.com/horror/tmgray/


DONATIONS

$
[via ►PayPal or: Square]
Happy minion   Happy minion — last donation was 4 days ago. About $600 to go. A big Thank You! to John Carr-Shanahan, john griffin, Roy Booth, and lots of other Critterfolk for their contributions!

Critters is entirely funded by donations from Critterfolk like you, so yours is most appreciated. Click here to make the minions happy. Every dollar helps. Thanks for your support!

COOL BOOK