[The Critter Captain's Tesla FAQ]


Blog

Ahoy, Critterfolk!
New entry May 06

Critter Notices

Critters is 25!

This November, Critters is 25 years old! Wow! Thanks so much to all of you, who've made it such a resounding success!

Books from Critters!

Check out Books by Critters for books by your fellow Critterfolk, as well as my list of recommended books for writers.

New Book from a Critter Member

**NOW IN PRINT EDITION TOO!** Awesome new book, HOW TO IMPROVE YOUR SPECULATIVE FICTION OPENINGS, from a Critter member whose unearthed a shard of The Secret to becoming a pro writer. Really good piece of work. "...if you're at all concerned about story openings, you'd be nuts not to read what Qualkinbush has to say." —Wil McCarthy, author of BLOOM and THE COLLAPSIUM

Space Travel for SF Writers

Hot off the presses from ReAnimus Press! Space Travel - A Science Fiction Writer's Guide— An indispensible tool for all SF writers that explains the science you need to help you make your fiction plausible. (Also via Amazon)

Interviewed!

I was interviewed live on public radio for Critters' birthday, for those who want to listen.

Free Web Sites

Free web sites for authors (and others) are available at www.nyx.net.

ReAnimus Acquires Advent!

ReAnimus Press is pleased to announce the acquisition of the legendary Advent Publishers! Advent is now a subsidiary of ReAnimus Press, and we will continue to publish Advent's titles under the Advent name. Advent was founded in 1956 by Earl Kemp and others, and has published the likes of James Blish, Hal Clement, Robert Heinlein, Damon Knight, E.E. "Doc" Smith, and many others. Advent's high quality titles have won and been finalists for several Hugo Awards, such as The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy and Heinlein's Children. Watch this space for ebook and print editions of all of Advent's current titles!

Book Recommendation

THE SIGIL TRILOGY: The universe is dying from within... "Great stuff... Really enjoyed it." — SFWA Grandmaster Michael Moorcock

Announcing ReAnimus Press

If you're looking for great stuff to read from bestselling and award-winning authors—look no further! ReAnimus Press was founded by your very own Critter Captain. (And with a 12% Affiliate program.) [More]

~~~

MORE NEWS & NOTICES >>

CRITTERS STORE >>

 

FEATURED BOOK

~~~

CRITTERS STORE >>

Preditors & Editors Poll results

Preditors & Editors Poll results

2008 Official Results

[Category list]


Standings for category: Horror Short Stories

1. Sweet Spot, Elizabeth Black, Whiskey Creek Press Torris, http://www.whiskeycreekpress.com/torrid/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=344&zenid=ac30681f0976911f5dc9f7425a3a21c8
2. Blood and Mint Chocolates, Adrianne Brennan, Freya's Bower, http://www.freyasbower.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=17&products_id=142
3. The Old Gatehouse, P.S. Gifford, Virtual Tales, http://www.virtualtales.com
4. Hell's Reach, Chris Morrow, Aspen Mountain Press, http://www.aspenmountainpress.com/paranormal/horror/hell-39-s-reach/prod_176.html
4. Unwitting Sacrifice, Sapphire Phelan, Under the Moon, http://www.genreconnections.com/shop/index.php?p=product&id=200&parent=11
5. Channeling Morpheus: Manikin, Jordan Castillo Price, Changeling Press, http://www.changelingpress.com/product.php?&upt=book&ubid=958
5. To Know How to See, Michael West, APEX, http://www.apexbookcompany.com/apex-online/2008/06/short-fiction-to-know-how-to-see/
6. Mintas and Frankie, Gregory L Hall, Screaming Dreams, http://screamingdreams.com
7. Puppeteer, Andrew Wolter, The Ashen Eye, http://www.Ashen-Eye.com
8. The Woodshed, AJ Brown, Scotopia Press, http://www.scotopiapress.com
8. Soon You Will Be Gone and Possibly Eaten, Nick Antosca, GUD Magazine, http://www.gudmagazine.com/vault/3/Soon+You+Will+Be+Gone+And+Possibly+Eaten
8. At the Zombie Trailer Park, Kenneth James Crist, Yellow Mama, http://blackpetalsks.tripod.com/yellowmamaarchives/id10.html
9. Sleep Paralysis, Scott M. Sandridge, Everyday Fiction, http://www.everydayfiction.com/sleep-paralysis-by-scott-m-sandridge
9. Comfort Food, Brenna Lyons, Under The Moon, http://www.underthemoon.org/undeadembrace.html
9. Day of the Dead, Marilyn Peake, Double Dragon Publishing, http://www.double-dragon-ebooks.com/single.php?ISBN=1-55404-567-3
10. Vampyress, Shannon Leigh, Wild Child Publishing, http://www.wildchildpublishing.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=65&products_id=231
10. Luminari, Kim McDougall, Eternal Press, http://eternalpress.ca




11. The Expose, Hugh MacDonald, Screaming Dreams, http://www.screamingdreams.com/index1.html
11. Territory, Kit Zheng, Torquere Press, http://www.torquerebooks.com
11. Run, Natalie L. Sin, The Monsters Next Door, http://themonstersnextdoor.com/run.html
12. Sparkles, Jim Kelley, The Monsters Next Door, http://themonstersnextdoor.com
12. The Sad Girl, Wade Rigney, Flash Fiction Online, http://www.flashfictiononline.com/f20080601-sad-girl-wade-rigney.html
12. The Hitchhiker, Brandon Layng, Macabre Cadaver, http://www.macabrecadaver.com/12-2008/id-81/hitchhiker.html
12. Kenny's Guardian Angel, Pam L. Wallace, From the Asylum, http://fromtheasylum.com/interior2.htm
12. Tinsel, Frazer Lee, Bloody Books, http://beautiful-books.co.uk/248.html
12. Mud Hollow Bridge, David Hart, Bards and Sages Publishing, http://www.bardsandsages.com/legends
12. Dreams of Elephants and Ice, Mari Ness, Three Lobed Burning Eye, http://www.owlsoup.com/3LBE/issue18/3lbe18_story4.html
13. Bitter Souls, Scott Harper, Afterburn SF, http://www.afterburnsf.com
13. Dr. Offig's lessons from the darkside, p s gifford
13. Desperation, Kim Smith, MicroHorror, http://www.microhorror.com/microhorror/category/author/kim-smith/
13. House of Coal, Joseph Plaxton, Nanobison, http://www.nanobison.com/s2.shtml
13. Nightmares, J. E. Taylor, Niteblade, www.niteblade.com
13. The Fantasy Jumper, Will McIntosh, TTA Press, http://ttapress.com/336/black-static-3-2/
13. The Gazelle, The Witchboard, and The Boheme Grove, F.R.R. Mallory, Three Crow Press, http://threecrowpress.com
13. Frights & Delights, Melissa Glisan, Aspen Mountain Press, http://www.aspenmountainpress.com
13. Shadows of the Night, Susan M. Sailors, Whiskey Creek Press Torrid, http://www.whiskeycreekpress.com/torrid/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=9&products_id=344
14. You Look A Little Pale, Ralph Gamelli, Wrong World, http://www.wrongworld.com/shop/cart.php?target=book&galley_id=373
14. Cain Twists, Steven Shrewsbury, Woodland Press, http://www.woodlandpress.com
14. Carpathian Intrigue, John Simpson, Dreamspinner Press, http://dreamspinnerpress.com
14. Teethmarks, Heather S. Ingemar, MicroHorror, http://www.microhorror.com/microhorror/author/heather-s-ingemar/teethmarks/
14. Zombie Tears, Ty Johnston, Tales of the Zombie War, http://talesofworldwarz.com/stories/2008/04/11/zombie-tears-by-ty-johnston/
14. The Niagara Vampires, Nigel Bruton, Night to Dawn, http://www.bloodredshadows.com/newntd.htm
14. After School Special, James F. Reilly, Tales of the Zombie War, http://talesofworldwarz.com/stories/2008/02/29/after-school-special-by-james-f-reilly/
14. Fugue Macabre-Ghost Dance , C.J. Parker, LSP Digital , http://Lspdigital.com
14. Pickman's Progeny, Robert Masterson, Arkham Tales, http://www.arkhamtales.com
14. Extra Innings, John Peters, Cutting Block Press, http://www.cuttingblock.net/books.html
14. Orphan Mary, Brandon Layng, Tales of the Zombie War, http://talesofworldwarz.com/stories/2008/11/08/orphan-mary-by-brandon-layng/comment-page-1/#comment-1016
14. Beyond Death, Jinger Jackson, Resplendence Publishing, http://www.resplendencepublishing.com/m8_view_item.html?m8:item=37-200-106-413-2
15. Backstage at the Writers Studio, Barry R Hunter, Whortleberry Press, http://whortleberrypress.com
15. Forgotten, David E. Greske, Sideshow Press, http://www.blackinkhorror.com
15. Stockholm Syndrome, David Tallerman, Night Shade Books, http://www.nightshadebooks.com/2008/08/28/the-living-dead-edited-by-john-joseph-adams/
15. The Wall, R. J. Walker Miller, Fear & Trembling, http://www.fearandtremblingmag.com/item.php?sub_id=4259
15. Cone Zero (version 4), Anonymous, CONE ZERO, http://www.megazanthuspress.co.uk
15. Homo Canis, David Conyers, Melbourne Books, http://www.melbournebooks.com.au
15. Monkey Bottom, John Bushore, Ash-Tree Press, http://www.ash-tree.bc.ca/ashtreecurrent.html
15. Cry of The Red Wolf, Ken Goldman, Wolfsongs/Wolfsinger Publications , http://www.wolfsingerpubs.com/WolfSong1.html
15. The Seventh Day, Patrick Hurley, Niteblade, http://http://www.niteblade.com/
15. Ephesia, Flo Stanton , Darkhart Press, http://www.amazon.com/TRAPS-T-M-Wright/dp/0980100410/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1228708603&sr=8-2
15. He Said Something, Todd Austin Hunt, Morpheus Tales, http://www.morpheustales.com
15. Janitors, T.C. McCarthy, Sonar 4 Ezine, http://www.sonar4ezine.com/mccarthy1.html
15. Beauty-In the Eye of the Beholder, Barry Hunter, Whortleberry Press, http://whortleberrypress.com
15. To Someone Who Needs Prayer, Barbara A. Barnett, Hub, http://www.hubfiction.com/hub/Hub_61.pdf
15. Under the Bridge, Lucas Pederson, Whortleberry Press, http://whortleberrypress.com
15. The Death of Lester Williams, Ty Johnston, Comet Press, http://www.cometpress.us/

DONATIONS

$
[via ►PayPal or: Square]
Happy minion   Happy minion — last donation was recent. A big Thank You! to Laura Engelhardt, Bill Leonard, Roger Hetchler, and lots of other Critterfolk for their contributions!

Critters is entirely funded by donations from Critterfolk like you, so yours is most appreciated. Click here to make the minions happy. Every dollar helps. Thanks for your support!

COOL BOOK