[The Critter Captain's Tesla FAQ]


Blog

Ahoy, Critterfolk!
New entry May 06

Critter Notices

Critters is 25!

This November, Critters is 25 years old! Wow! Thanks so much to all of you, who've made it such a resounding success!

Books from Critters!

Check out Books by Critters for books by your fellow Critterfolk, as well as my list of recommended books for writers.

The Sigil Trilogy

If you're looking for an amazing, WOW! science fiction story, check out THE SIGIL TRILOGY. This is — literally — one of the best science fiction novels I've ever read.

How to Write SF

The Craft of Writing Science Fiction that Sells by Ben Bova, best-selling author and six-time Hugo Award winner for Best Editor. (This is one of the books your ol' Critter Captain learned from himself, and I highly recommend it.) (Also via Amazon)

Interviewed!

I was interviewed live on public radio for Critters' birthday, for those who want to listen.

Free Web Sites

Free web sites for authors (and others) are available at www.nyx.net.

ReAnimus Acquires Advent!

ReAnimus Press is pleased to announce the acquisition of the legendary Advent Publishers! Advent is now a subsidiary of ReAnimus Press, and we will continue to publish Advent's titles under the Advent name. Advent was founded in 1956 by Earl Kemp and others, and has published the likes of James Blish, Hal Clement, Robert Heinlein, Damon Knight, E.E. "Doc" Smith, and many others. Advent's high quality titles have won and been finalists for several Hugo Awards, such as The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy and Heinlein's Children. Watch this space for ebook and print editions of all of Advent's current titles!

Book Recommendation

THE SIGIL TRILOGY: The universe is dying from within... "Great stuff... Really enjoyed it." — SFWA Grandmaster Michael Moorcock

Announcing ReAnimus Press

If you're looking for great stuff to read from bestselling and award-winning authors—look no further! ReAnimus Press was founded by your very own Critter Captain. (And with a 12% Affiliate program.) [More]

~~~

MORE NEWS & NOTICES >>

CRITTERS STORE >>

 

FEATURED BOOK

~~~

CRITTERS STORE >>

Preditors & Editors Poll results

Preditors & Editors Poll results

2008 Official Results

[Category list]


Standings for category: All other Short Stories

1. Nudist Among Us, Revisited, Allen Parker, Authors Ink Books, http://www.authorsinkbooks.com
2. Herman Loves Brooke, Anthony J. Mohr, Word Riot, http://www.wordriot.org
3. Blood Moon, Avis Hickman-Gibb, Bewildering Stories, http://www.bewilderingstories.com/issue296/blood_moon.html
4. Callipa The Stripper, Elizabeth Black, Xcite, http://www.ultimateburlesque.com/
5. Cobwebs, Lorie Lee Steiner, RendezVous Press, http://http://morganmandelbooks.ning.com/profile/LorieLeeSteiner
6. Til Decay do us Part, Myrrym Davies, The Monsters Next Door, http://themonstersnextdoor.com/issuefive.html/
6. Snow Angels, Wendy Dickson, Stories for Children Magazine, http://storiesforchildrenmagazine.org/SnowAngels.aspx
6. Stranger on the Porch, Gay Degani, Every Day Fiction, http://www.everydayfiction.com/stranger-on-the-porch-by-gay-degani/
7. Pleasure After The Pain, Savanna Chase, Red Rose Publishing, http://www.redrosepublishing.com/bookstore/product_info.php?products_id=225
7. All Gone, Cindy Rosmus, Out of the Gutter, http://outoftheguttermagazine.blogspot.com/
8. Ghostly Menage, Alysha Ellis, Eternal Press, http://www.eternalpress.ca/ghostlymenage.html
9. Past Perfect, Alessia Brio, Clean Sheets, http://www.cleansheets.com/fiction/brio_06.04.08.shtml
10. A Quiet Evening, Foster Trecost, Flash Me Magazine, http://www.wingedhalo.com/mag/quiet.html
10. Dani-Girl's Guide to Getting Everything Right, Gay Degani, Flash Fiction Online, http://www.flashfictiononline.com/f20081002-dani-girls-guide-to-getting-everything-right-gay-degani.html




11. Narian Rebirth: Mia's Discovery, Tianna Xander & Bonnie Rose Leigh, Cobblestone Press, http://www.cobblestone-press.com
11. A Christmas Carol: The Betrayal., Caden Leigh, Lyrical Press, Inc, http://www.lyricalpress.com
11. Lost and Found, Syd McGinley, Torquere Press, http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=1248
12. Dancing in the Dark, Jamie Hill, Phaze, http://www.king-cart.com/Phaze/product=Dancing+in+the+Dark/exact_match=exact
13. Mrs. Kelly's Ghosts, Anna D. Allen, Ruins Metropolis, http://http://www.hadleyrillebooks.com
13. Murder He Wrote, P.S. Gifford, Twisted Tongue, http://www.twistedtongue.co.uk/
14. Two-Minute Silence, Sarah Hilary, Smokelong Quarterly, http://smokelong.com/flash/sarahhillary22.asp
15. The Face In The Mirror, Elizabeth Black, Whiskey Creek Press Torrid, http://www.whiskeycreekpress.com/torrid/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=344&zenid=ac30681f0976911f5dc9f7425a3a21c8
15. Robert's Story, Kissa Starling, Red Rose Publishing, http://http://redrosepublishing.com/bookstore/product_info.php?products_id=353
15. Sugar Paw and the Babysitter, VS Grenier, Stories for Children Magazine, http://storiesforchildrenmagazine.org/SugarPawandtheBabysitter.aspx
16. Love on the Line, Beth Wylde, Torquere Press, www.bethwylde.com
16. Hero, Jessica Freely, Torquere, http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&manufacturers_id=119&products_id=807
16. The Mourning Dove and the Magnolia, Tommie Lyn, Long Story Short, http://www.alongstoryshort.net/THEMOURNINGDOVEANDTHEMAGNOLIA.html
16. The Tie That Binds, Debbie Mumford, Wild Child Publishing, http://www.wildchildpublishing.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=85&products_id=235
16. The gate keeper, peggy le johnson, staticmovement, http://www.staticmovement.com/pljohnson.htm
16. StarCrossed 1: Demon Tailz, Reno MacLeod and Jaye Valentine, Torquere Press, http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=78_91&products_id=1608
16. Someone Else's Slip, Sarah Hilary, Every Day Fiction, http://www.everydayfiction.com/someone-elses-slip-by-sarah-hilary/
16. Flower as Big as the Sky, Matt Dennison, GUD Magazine, http://www.gudmagazine.com/vault/3/Flower+as+Big+as+the+Sky
17. Strawberry Hill, Heather Beck, Red Rose Publishing, http://redrosepublishing.com/bookstore/product_info.php?manufacturers_id=147&products_id=196
17. Alpha, Omega, Cassandra Gold and Beth Wylde, Torquere Press, www.torquerebooks.com
17. Smoke of Yesterdays, Brandon Layng, The Smoking Poet, http://www.thesmokingpoet.net/id3.html
17. Witch Hunts on the Internet, Yvonne Walus, Echelon Press, http://echelonpress.netfirms.com/Echelon/nfoscomm/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=445&osCsid=dda12e13d4dfb931da8112d20306716e
18. Bananaz, Dee Dawning, Excessica, http://excessica.com/index.php/books/bananaz-by-dee-dawning/
18. The Birthday Gift, Giselle Renarde, eXcessica, http://excessica.com/index.php/books/the-birthday-gift-by-giselle-renarde/
18. Blind Date, Lucynda Storey, Aspen Mountain Press, http://www.aspenmountainpress.com/plain-brown-wrapper/plain-brown-wrapper-erotica/plain-brown-wrapper-blind-date/prod_168.html
18. Wedding Crashers, Sage Burnett, Phaze, http://www.phaze.com
18. Sonata's Story, Christie Shary, Whiskey Creek Press, http://www.whiskeycreekpress.com/
18. Beach Bummed, Kim Smith, Mouthfullofbullets.com, http://mouthfullofbullets.com
18. Pocket Change, Wade Rigney, Flash Fiction Online, http://www.flashfictiononline.com/f20081203-pocket-change-wade-rigney.html
18. Latin Lover, Tina Bendoni, Aspen Mountain Press, http://www.aspenmountainpress.com/del-fantasma/erotica/del-fantasma-latin-lover/prod_132.html
19. Souls of the Harvest, Dave Hoing, Flash Fiction Online, http://www.flashfictiononline.com
19. The Interview, Kira Chase, eXtasy Books, http://www.extasybooks.net/ebjmsite/index.php?page=shop.product_details&category_id=55&flypage=ebook_flypage&product_id=3189&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=44&vmcchk=1&Itemid=44
19. Confessions of a Vampire's Lover, Kelli A.Wilkins, Amber Quill Press/Amber Heat, http://www.amberquill.com/AmberHeat/ConfessionsVampiresLover.html
19. Naughty is Nice, Kayelle Allen & Sultry Summers, Shadowfire Press, http://shadowfirestore.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=26&zenid=d8dbcfc559eea5397171ea5abfed4cfe
19. You Are the Bad Smell, Kathy Anderson, Apple Valley Review, http://www.leahbrowning.net/Apple/Spring_2008/Kathy_Anderson.html
19. Scavenger, F.R.R. Mallory, Lucrezia Magazine, http://www.lucreziamagazine.com/
20. The Seeker, Nigel Bruton, Static Movement, http://www.staticmovement.com/
20. The Bait Shack, Harry Hughes, BeWrite, http://www.hughesauthor.net
20. Tempted and Torched, Drea Riley, Red Rose Publishing, http://redrosepublishing.com/bookstore/product_info.php?manufacturers_id=103&products_id=207
20. The Overwhelming Urge, Anderson Prunty, Eraserhead Press, http://
20. Lilly's Reward, Cameo Brown, Ravenous Romance, http://www.ravenousromance.com/ravenous-rendezvous/lilly-s-reward.php
20. Love on the Rocks, Tyler Moore, The Rose and Thorn, http://www.theroseandthornezine.com/Spring08/Loverocks.html
20. Tease, Emelia Bell, eXcessica Publishing, http://excessica.com/index.php/books/tease-by-emelia-bell/
20. To See Her In Sunlight (Was To See Marxism Die), Jeanpaul Ferro, Bartleby Snopes, http://www.bartlebysnopes.com/toseeherinsunlight.htm
20. El Farto vs. The Chupabubbas, Bill D. Allen, Ben Bella, http://benbellabooks.com
20. Becoming Cottontail, Deven D Atkinson, Every Day Fiction, http://www.everydayfiction.com/becoming-cottontail-by-deven-d-atkinson/
20. Steven Spielberg and the Magic Box, Ty Johnston, The Ranfurly Review, http://www.ranfurly-review.co.uk/
20. The Hours Happened, Jeanpaul Ferro, Wilderness House Literary Review, http://www.whlreview.com/no-3.4/fiction/JeanpaulFerro.pdf
20. In The Darkness, Billy O'Callaghan, Underground Voices, http://www.undergroundvoices.com/UVOCallaghanBilly.htm
20. Lent, Cindy Rosmus, 13th Warrior Review, http://www.13thwr.org
20. No Place Like Home, Cindy Rosmus, Zygote in My Coffee, http://www.zygoteinmycoffee.com
20. Strange Alphabets, Craig Laurance Gidney, Lethe Press, http://www.lethepressbooks.com
20. 'Always a Tomorrow', Shirley Cheng, Dance with Your Heart! Publishing, http://www.shirleycheng.com
20. 101 Ways To Leave Paris, Simon Avery, TTA Press, http://ttapress.com/category/crimewave/
20. Angel in the Barn, Shabbu, eXcessica, http://www.excessica.com/index.php/books/angel-in-the-barn-by-shabbu
20. A Winter's Night in Georgia, Barry Hunter, Anotherealm, http://anotherealm.com
20. With Love Forever Yours, Alex Moisi, Every Day Fiction, http://www.everydayfiction.com/with-love-forever-yours-by-alex-moisi/
20. Out There, Mikael Covey, Bill Ectric, http://billectric.wordpress.com/2008/08/05/out-there-by-mikael-covey/
20. Out Of Control, Kira Chase, eXtasy Books, http://www.extasybooks.net/ebjmsite/index.php?page=shop.product_details&category_id=8&flypage=ebook_flypage&product_id=4834&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=44
20. Fáinne Geal an Lae, Nexis Pas, http://www.forbiddenfruitzine.com/fiction.htm
20. Your Vasectomy Journal, Timothy Gager, Twelve Stories, http://www.readtwelvestories.com/gager.htm
20. Miles to Go Before I Sleep, Tee Morris, J.C. Hutchins, http://jchutchins.net

DONATIONS

$
[via ►PayPal or: Square]
Happy minion   Happy minion — last donation was recent. A big Thank You! to Laura Engelhardt, Bill Leonard, Roger Hetchler, and lots of other Critterfolk for their contributions!

Critters is entirely funded by donations from Critterfolk like you, so yours is most appreciated. Click here to make the minions happy. Every dollar helps. Thanks for your support!

COOL BOOK