[The Critter Captain's Tesla FAQ]


Blog

Ahoy, Critterfolk!
New entry May 06

Critter Notices

Critters is 25!

This November, Critters is 25 years old! Wow! Thanks so much to all of you, who've made it such a resounding success!

Books from Critters!

Check out Books by Critters for books by your fellow Critterfolk, as well as my list of recommended books for writers.

The Sigil Trilogy

If you're looking for an amazing, WOW! science fiction story, check out THE SIGIL TRILOGY. This is — literally — one of the best science fiction novels I've ever read.

Space Travel for SF Writers

Hot off the presses from ReAnimus Press! Space Travel - A Science Fiction Writer's Guide— An indispensible tool for all SF writers that explains the science you need to help you make your fiction plausible. (Also via Amazon)

Interviewed!

I was interviewed live on public radio for Critters' birthday, for those who want to listen.

Free Web Sites

Free web sites for authors (and others) are available at www.nyx.net.

ReAnimus Acquires Advent!

ReAnimus Press is pleased to announce the acquisition of the legendary Advent Publishers! Advent is now a subsidiary of ReAnimus Press, and we will continue to publish Advent's titles under the Advent name. Advent was founded in 1956 by Earl Kemp and others, and has published the likes of James Blish, Hal Clement, Robert Heinlein, Damon Knight, E.E. "Doc" Smith, and many others. Advent's high quality titles have won and been finalists for several Hugo Awards, such as The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy and Heinlein's Children. Watch this space for ebook and print editions of all of Advent's current titles!

Book Recommendation

THE SIGIL TRILOGY: The universe is dying from within... "Great stuff... Really enjoyed it." — SFWA Grandmaster Michael Moorcock

Announcing ReAnimus Press

If you're looking for great stuff to read from bestselling and award-winning authors—look no further! ReAnimus Press was founded by your very own Critter Captain. (And with a 12% Affiliate program.) [More]

~~~

MORE NEWS & NOTICES >>

CRITTERS STORE >>

 

FEATURED BOOK

~~~

CRITTERS STORE >>

Preditors & Editors Poll results

Preditors & Editors Poll results

2006 Official Results

[Category list]


Standings for category: Science Fiction & Fantasy Short Stories

1. Homecoming, Bruce Durham, Flashing Swords, http://www.swordandsorcery.org/fs/vol2-iss5-09.asp
2. Party Animal, Laura Hawbaker, Twisted Shift, http://twistedshift.com/twistedshopping/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=5&products_id=8
3. Tethered in Purgatory, Terry W. Ervin II, The Sword Review, http://www.theswordreview.com/item.php?sub_id=598
4. Damage, Jane Lebak, Dragons, Knights and Angels, http://www.dkamagazine.com/item.php?sub_id=227
5. Servant of the Manthycore, Michael Ehart, The Sword Review, http://www.theswordreview.com/item.php?sub_id=431
6. Into the Every, Gregory Bernard Banks, Speculative Fiction Centre, http://www.speculativefictioncentre.com/gregorybanks.htm
6. Bio-ink and Blue Print Whores, Louise Bohmer, Logical Lust ~ XtreXmeX, http://xtr.logical-lust.com/home.html
7. iKlawa, Donald Mead, Fantasy & Science Fiction, http://www.sfsite.com/fsf/
8. Arena Station Champions of Terra 1, Viola Grace, Extasy Books, http://www.extasybooks.com/mm5/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=EB&Product_Code=583&Category_Code=
9. The Smoking Man, S.T. Forstner, Dragons, Knights & Angels, http://dkamagazine.com/item.php?sub_id=167
10. Catari Heat 3: Mate Fever, Kyla Logan, Changeling Press, http://www.changelingpress.com/product.php?&upt=book&ubid=340




11. Scorpion King (Planetary Passions), Marianne LaCroix, Ellora's Cave, http://www.ellorascave.com/productpage.asp?ISBN=1-4199-0537-6
12. Godspeed, Inc., Vincent Miskell, , http://www.abyssandapex.com/200610-godspeed.html
13. Pretty Pink Planet, Joy V. Smith, DLSIJ Press, http://dlsijpress.com/womanscapes/
13. Weighing In, Kathe Gogolewski, Amazon Shorts, http://www.amazon.com/Weighing-In/dp/B000HDZAXW/sr=1-2/qid=1168379096/ref=pd_bbs_sr_2/102-3993851-2836959?ie=UTF8&s=books
14. Pockmarked Cement, Kaolin Fire, Strange Horizons, http://www.strangehorizons.com/2006/20061106/cement-f.shtml
14. Voices from the Void, Mirta Ana Schultz, The Sword Review, http://www.theswordreview.com/item.php?sub_id=361
14. Flare Zone/Fangs Anthology, Barbara Karmazin, Loose Id Books, http://www.loose-id.net/detail.aspx?ID=333
15. Shifter's Station: Pilot's Bargain, Silvia Violet, Changeling Press, http://www.changelingpress.com
15. Beyond the Vision of Dreams, Stella and Audra Price, Forbidden Publications, http://www.forbiddenpublications.com/book_pages/beyond_the_vision_of_dreams.html
15. Reflections, HH Self, Midnight Showcase, http://midnightshowcase.com
15. The Birth of Spring, Sheri L. McGathy, Double Dragon Publishing, http://www.double-dragon-ebooks.com/single.php?ISBN=DDP1MCGTHY
16. Off World, Stephanie Vaughan, Torquere Press, http://www.torquerepress.com/cart/cart.php?m=product_list&c=976
16. The Gift, Tyree Campbell, Tales of the Talisman, http://www.zianet.com/hadrosaur
17. Justice, L. S. King, The Sword Review, http://theswordreview.com/item.php?sub_id=747
18. Variance: The Countdown, Cassidy McKay, Silk's VAult, http://www.silksvault.com/booktitles/VarianceTheCountdown.htm
19. The Gray Mother, Steve Goble, Flashing Swords, http://home.comcast.net/~pmcnamee67/fs_pda/fs_v2_iss6.htm
19. 24 Days, Jaden Sinclair, Mardi Gras Publishing, http://www.mardigraspublishing.com
19. Cannon Fodder: Operation Horse Whisperer, Marilyn Peake, Double Dragon Publishing, http://www.double-dragon-ebooks.com/single.php?ISBN=DDP002MAPEAKE
19. Here Comes Peter, CJ England, Silk's Vault, http://www.silksvault.com/booktitles/HereComesPeter.html
19. Happy Days, Jerome Kemp, Future Fire, http://futurefire.net/2006.05/fiction/happydays.html
20. Galaxy Playmates 4, Michelle Pillow, NCP, http://www.newconceptspublishing.com/xena.htm
20. Tigergirl, Daniel Arenson, Spinetingler, http://www.spinetinglermag.com/summer2006story8.htm
20. Impact Vector, Daniel Wilder, Whiskey Creek Press, http://www.whiskeycreekpress.com
20. My True Love Sent to Me, Elizabeth Hopkinson, Virtual Tales, http://www.VirtualTales.com
20. Purr For Me, Skylar Sinclair, Venus Press, http://www.venuspress.com/catalog/books/purrforme.htm
20. Dragon's Egg, Lena Austin, Changeling Press, http://www.changelingpress.com/product.php?&upt=book&ubid=268
21. A Clock and a Carriage, David Alan Jones, Aphelion, http://www.aphelion-webzine.com/ap100v10.htm
21. Shan’tir’ri, Scott M. Sandridge, Ray Gun Revival, http://www.raygunrevival.com/Published/RGR_0004_2006_08_15.pdf
21. Wulf, Kayelle Allen, Liquid Silver Books, http://www.liquidsilverbooks.com/books/wulf.htm
21. Full Moon Madness, Beth Wylde, Silk's Vault, http://www.silksvault.com/booktitles/FullMoonMadness.htm
21. Shifting Lust 2: The Warlord's Vengeance, Lexxie Couper, Changeling Press, http://www.changelingpress.com/product.php?&upt=book&ubid=317
21. A Touch of Magic, Cassandra Kane, Samhain Publishing, http://www.samhainpublishing.com
22. Lapp Dancing, Tracie McBride, Pulp.net, http://www.pulp.net/fiction/stories/44/lapp-dancing.html
22. The Tooth Fairy, Lauran Strait, Bewildering Stories, http://www.bewilderingstories.com/issue212/tooth_fairy.html
23. The Siege of Harnlow, Michael Merriam, Gryphonwood, http://gryphonwood.blogspot.com/2006/10/siege-of-harnlow-episode-1-by-michael.html
23. '. . .in the waste howling wildenness...', John M. Whalen, Ray Gun Revival, http://raygunrevival.com/Published/RGR_0009_2006_11_01.pdf
23. Without Understanding, Lewayne L. White, Bewildering Stories, http://www.bewilderingstories.com/issue204/without_understanding.html
23. A Dark Performance, Kay Derwydd, Lady Aibell, http://ladyaibell.com
23. Captive Girl, Jennifer Pelland, Helix, http://www.helixsf.com/archives/Oct06/fiction/Q2_pelland_captivegirl.htm
24. FE959, Michael Barnette, Midnight Showcase, http://www.midnightshowcase.com/
24. One Man's Heaven, Amanda M. Hayes, Peridot Books
24. Born Again, Ricky Ginsburg, Static Movement, http://www.staticmovementonline.com/bornagain.htm
24. Relative Dreams, Emery LaRue, Forbidden Publications, http://www.forbiddenpublications.com
24. The Ancient Ones, J Alan Erwine, Tales of the Talisman, http://zianet.com/hadrosaur
24. Chariots, Matt Mikalatos, The Sword Review, http://www.theswordreview.com/item.php?sub_id=629
24. Ducks, Katherine Eliska Kimbriel, Yard Dog Press, http://www.yarddogpress.com
24. The Gift of All, Carol Hightshoe, Amazon Shorts, http://www.amazon.com/The-Gift-of-All/dp/B000ECX5BK/sr=8-2/qid=1168397726/ref=sr_1_2/104-7843378-7251903?ie=UTF8&s=books
24. Forbidden 4: New Beginnings, Marteeka, Karland, http://www.changelingpress.com
24. The Short Bus, Marsheila Rockwell, The Sword Review, http://www.theswordreview.com/item.php?sub_id=480
24. The Apple Orchard Is Called Eternity, Apryl Fox, Surprising Stories, http://www.surprisingstories.dcwi.com/apple.htm
25. Purgatory, Danielle Ackley-McPhail, Spyre Books, none
25. Day of Iniquity, Steven L. Shrewsbury, Hardboiled Cthulhu, http://www.eldersignspress.com
25. C-A-I-N and A-B-E-L, Bridget Midway, Phaze, http://www.Phaze.com/
25. Memoir, Elizabeth Donald, New Babel Books
25. Mayfly, Heather Lindsley, Strange Horizons, http://www.strangehorizons.com/2006/20060925/mayfly-f.shtml
25. Penumbra, Sunny Frazier, Seven Sisters Press, http://www.sevensisterspress.com
25. Georgie and her Dragon, Sahara Kelly, Ellora's Cave, http://www.ellorascave.com
25. The Next Champion, Lawrence R. Dagstine, Atomjack Magazine, http://www.atomjack.com
25. For so Long, Bridghid Parkinson, Midnight Showcase, http://www.midnightshowcase.com
25. The Ruby Dice, Catherine Asaro, Jim Baen's Universe, http://www.baens-universe.com/
25. Analogically Yours, Count Cifre, Super Cyber Science Stories, http://www.scstories.ru
25. The Reunion, Karen L. Newman, Afterburn SF, http://afterburnsf.com/reunion.htm
25. Winter Wind, Charlotte Boyett-Compo, New Concepts Publishing, http://www,windlegends.org/winterwind.htm
25. love is blindness, sean michael, torquere press, http://www.torquerepress.com
25. Redneck & Rock Candy, Judy Mays, Changeling Press
25. Sons of Amber: Ezekiel, Bianca D'Arc, Phaze, http://biancadarc.com
25. Tonino and the Incubus, Peg Robinson, Helix, http://www.helixsf.com/fiction/Q2_robinson_tonino.htm
26. Bard of Pain, Dusk Peterson, duskpeterson.com, http://duskpeterson.com/threelands/index.htm#bardofpain
26. Redneck Riviera, E. Don Harpe, Amazon, http://www.amazon.com/Redneck-Riviera/dp/B000FILNG2/sr=1-5/qid=1168543467/ref=sr_1_5/103-8282000-5340654?ie=UTF8&s=books
26. Heaven, Mur Lafferty, Podiobooks.com, http://www.podiobooks.com/podiobooks/book.php?ID=97
26. Wild Copper, Samantha Henderson, Lone Star Stories, http://literary.erictmarin.com/archives/Issue%2015/wild.htm
26. In the Space of a Heartbeat, Keelia Greer, Highland Press, http://www.highlandpress.org
26. Funny Money, Paula R. Stiles, Neometropolis, http://www.neometropolis.com/neometropolis-0x08.pdf
26. All things being equal, Sean Williams and Simon Brown, Andromeda Spaceways Publishing Co-operative, http://www.andromedaspaceways.com
26. The Mirror Crack'd, Rob Astor, TwistedShift.com, http://twistedshift.com/twistedshopping/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=13
26. Union Dues: Cleanup in Aisle Five, Jeffrey R. DeRego, Escape Pod, http://www.escapepod.org/2006/11/16/ep080-union-dues-cleanup-in-aisle-five/
26. Eyes of a Child, C.S. Fuqua, Uncial Press, http://www.uncialpress.com
26. Covering Cinde Rella, Belita Renn, Whiskeycreek Press, http://www.whiskeycreekpresstorrid.com
26. Laodameia, Yvonne Sarah Lewis, Venus Press, http://www.venuspress.com
26. Waking God, Brian Doe and Philip F. Harris, Star Publish , http://starpublish.com
26. The Better Mousetrap, Brian Rosenberger, Twisted Cat Tales, http://www.coscomentertainment.com
26. Escape from Evil, Shirley Cheng, Shirley Cheng, http://www.shirleycheng.com
26. Planet of Veils, Sultry Summer, Venus Press, http://www.venuspress.com/catalog/books/planetofveils.htm
26. Tonino and the Incubus , Peg Robinson, Helix, http://www.helixsf.com/fiction/Q2_robinson_tonino.htm
26. The Second-Hand Bookshop of Al Hazred, Chuck McKenzie, Andromeda Spaceways Publishing Co-operative, http://www.andromedaspaceways.com
26. Curse of the Dancing Queen, Chris Bartholomew, Razar Magazine, http://razarmagazine.com
26. Lipstick Ladies and Doodling Divas, Cara Preston, Mardi Gras Publishing, http://www.mardigraspublishing.com
26. The Dragon's Choice, April Reid, Amber Quill Press, LLC, http://amberquill.com/AmberHeat/DragonsChoice.html
26. A Song of the Aelves, David R. Downing, The Sword Review, http://www.theswordreview.com/item.php?sub_id=787
26. Far From Home, Lee Clark Zumpe, The Shantytown Anomaly, http://
26. One Million Years B.F.E.: Diary of an Anthropologist in Exile, Merrie Haskell, Escape Pod, http://www.escapepod.org/2006/02/14/ep-flash-one-million-years-bfe/

DONATIONS

$
[via ►PayPal or: Square]
Happy minion   Happy minion — last donation was recent. A big Thank You! to Laura Engelhardt, Bill Leonard, Roger Hetchler, and lots of other Critterfolk for their contributions!

Critters is entirely funded by donations from Critterfolk like you, so yours is most appreciated. Click here to make the minions happy. Every dollar helps. Thanks for your support!

COOL BOOK